The AMD Ryzen All In One Tread /Overclocking/Memory Speeds & Timings/Tweaking/Cooling Part 2

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by vbetts, Sep 24, 2018.

  1. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,308
    Likes Received:
    736
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    Also if you watch the video ,the way he is overclocking ,he has the memory controller running at half speed.video was made July 11 2019 so I think he knows better now.He's Canadian and goofy got love it.
     
    AsiJu likes this.
  2. Webhiker

    Webhiker Master Guru

    Messages:
    637
    Likes Received:
    177
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC2
    So boys ... anyone can beat this ?

     
  3. Kool64

    Kool64 Master Guru

    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    242
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX2070S
    Did a little bit of testing with PBO. Wit on(auto or manual with tuning) I get about 100 points less in Geekbench 4 and slightly worse memory scores in AIDA. PBO off is definitely the way to go right now.
     
  4. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,308
    Likes Received:
    736
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    I am testing last couple days on 3600X using AMD overclocking and I get the same results in gaming 4250Mhz thru to 4500Mhz,I think I will stay at 4250Mhz for a bit.
    Full load CPU drops to 1.25v ,set to 1.3v in BIOS
    DDR4 CL16 3733Mhz @ 1.35v

    Highest temperature recorded while encoding H265 12bit video 72.9c and CPU Fan RPM hit 1721 ,not bad at all I would say.
    https://i.**********/fTDgDjg7/4250-1-3v.png

    COMPUTER USED
    ♦ CPU - AMD 3600X With MasterLiquid Lite ML240L RGB AIO
    ♦ GPU - Nvidia RTX 2080
    ♦ RAM - G.Skill Trident Z 16gb DDR4 (F4-4000C18D-16GTZ) (2x8GB)
    ♦ Mobo - MSI X470 - Gaming Plus-BIOS AMD ComboPI1.0.0.3AB
    ♦ SSD - M.2 2280 WD Blue 3D NAND 500GB
    ♦ DSP - LG 27" 4K UHD FreeSync Gaming Monitor (27UD59P-B.AUS) ♦ PSU - Antec High Current Pro 1200W
     
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2019

  5. Clouseau

    Clouseau Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,524
    Likes Received:
    314
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX GTX 1080
    Sorry had to post this:

     
    CyberSparky likes this.
  6. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,197
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080Ti
    Anyone running iCUE that have noticed that the CPU idles correctly when iCUE is disabled and that performance is slightly better too?
     
  7. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,197
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080Ti
    Managed an 4,4GHz all-core OC but got really choppy gameplay in SotTR (lower FPS than usual and large frame spikes) though very smooth in WoW. All I did was increase the frequency to 4400 and lower CPU voltage to 1,35v.
    Any idea why Tomb raider game play is so choppy and uneven? Can say that when I got back to PBO & AutoOC, things got very smooth again in Tomb Raider.

    [​IMG]
     
  8. MaestroBayten

    MaestroBayten Member Guru

    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    RX Vega 64 LC 8GB
    Need to check that,my 3900x just on desk mostly at 4.2-4.4Ghz with high voltage like 1.48v or less.


    Edit: I tried it, lowest voltage result on idle.
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 20, 2019
  9. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,197
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080Ti
    Thanks! Last question, what is your CPU Vcore if you look in BIOS?
     
  10. Amaze

    Amaze Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,605
    Likes Received:
    869
    GPU:
    1070ti 2126/4350
     
    vestibule likes this.

  11. MaestroBayten

    MaestroBayten Member Guru

    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    RX Vega 64 LC 8GB
    On Bios the voltage is pretty high aswell. It is at 1.485V

    EDIT: Here is a Bench without ICue and Razer Synapse 3

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2019
  12. vestibule

    vestibule Master Guru

    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    64
    GPU:
    GTX1070 Zotac mini
    @Amaze
    Thanks for your informative video post. I can chillax now.
    Think I will try some different bios for my machine and see if there is any movement in what I see to a plus or negative.
    TY Nice find. :)

    EDIT 19.31pm.
    I found today by chance that when I disabled SMT rebooted and then enabled SMT and rebooted that My processor 3600 was now working properly with dynamic clocks and not locked @4.1Ghz.

    EDIT: Well for 15 mins. Its gone back as it was to 4.1Ghz on all cores. Looks like MSI really need to sort out there B450 Bios.
     
    Last edited: Aug 21, 2019
  13. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,197
    Likes Received:
    1,230
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2080Ti
    Thanks!

    Btw, I got the tip to enable C-state in BIOS (instead of Auto) which can fix idle problems with programs like iCUE, Steam and others.

    Got the same CB (Single Core) score as you. Max boost at that time was 4500MHz if I remember correctly.

    You haven't thought about doing a manual OC until a better BIOS is released?
     
  14. MaestroBayten

    MaestroBayten Member Guru

    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    RX Vega 64 LC 8GB
    Need to check that on bios and see how it goes.
     
  15. Evildead666

    Evildead666 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,285
    Likes Received:
    268
    GPU:
    Vega64/EKWB/Noctua
    I also get 209 single core CPU, with stock settings, and just the IF and Mem clock at 3800/1900. :)
    3800X. 3 runs, all 209 cb
     

  16. Evildead666

    Evildead666 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,285
    Likes Received:
    268
    GPU:
    Vega64/EKWB/Noctua
    I'm idling at 3.8GHz though.
    All cores at 3.8, 0.6% CPU usage.
    any one else getting high idle speeds on all cores ?

    Ryzen balanced power thing.
     
  17. MaestroBayten

    MaestroBayten Member Guru

    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    RX Vega 64 LC 8GB
    Im using 3200/1600 RAM.
    Idle is almost permanent at 4.2-4.3Ghz.

    EDIT: Just rechecked the Chipset and noticed i still had the old ones.
    Idle clocks now frequently goes down.
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2019
  18. MaestroBayten

    MaestroBayten Member Guru

    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    RX Vega 64 LC 8GB
    Thanks for that information.
    I can confirm that my cpu clocks down to ~2.0GHz.

    EDIT: But only without Icue and Razer Synapse activated.
     
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2019
  19. Evildead666

    Evildead666 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,285
    Likes Received:
    268
    GPU:
    Vega64/EKWB/Noctua
    Yeah, but isn't the Ryzen power plan there for a reason ? Like the Core affinity and stuff ?
     
  20. vestibule

    vestibule Master Guru

    Messages:
    318
    Likes Received:
    64
    GPU:
    GTX1070 Zotac mini
    The theory is, if you have a 3600 like me. Then to lower your memory at down 3000Mhz and tighten your timings. This can give 3800Mhz performance in most cases.
    But if you have a 3600 like me then it is advisable not to use ram faster than 3400MHz as the infinity fabric on this chip will struggle to support it.
     

Share This Page