The AMD Ryzen All In One Tread /Overclocking/Memory Speeds & Timings/Tweaking/Cooling Part 2

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by vbetts, Sep 24, 2018.

  1. bobnewels

    bobnewels Member Guru

    Messages:
    175
    Likes Received:
    108
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    You can use a B450 if you want,save cash if your worried about that.
     
  2. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,683
    Likes Received:
    1,547
    GPU:
    MSI 3080 Gaming X
    If you buy a good B550 board like the Asus ROG Strix B550-F or the MSI MAG B550 Tomahawk you'll be set. If you want something even better there is the Gigabyte B550 Aorus Master but that one isn't cheap.-
     
  3. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,080
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 1070
    Will have to be the B550-E, because the F doesn't have USB-C.
     
  4. Horus-Anhur

    Horus-Anhur Master Guru

    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    273
    GPU:
    GTX 1070

  5. Jonny Manc

    Jonny Manc Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,828
    Likes Received:
    23
    GPU:
    Zotac RTX 3070 OC
    I got mine with an Asus ROG Strix B550-F Gaming WIFI...works perfectly so far :)
     
  6. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,683
    Likes Received:
    1,547
    GPU:
    MSI 3080 Gaming X
    Good choice. I'm using a X570 but that's because B550 wasn't out when I got it. Today I'd totally get a good B550. I think X570 is too pricey tbh.
     
  7. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,080
    Likes Received:
    1,294
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 1070
    Is the NH-D15S capable of cooling a 5900X in silent mode during gaming?

    That would mean roughly 750-800 RPM.

    It's what troubles me at the moment.
     
  8. Webhiker

    Webhiker Master Guru

    Messages:
    727
    Likes Received:
    252
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC2
    Beta bios for ROG CH7 with Zen 5000 support
    https://dlcdnets.asus.com/pub/ASUS/...VII-HERO/ROG-CROSSHAIR-VII-HERO-ASUS-4001.ZIP

    [​IMG]

    Curve optimizer isn't enabled for non Ryzen 5000 CPU's

    Edit
    "It’s highly recommended not to update this beta BIOS when using AMD AM4 Socket for AMD Ryzen™ 3000 Series/ 2000 Series/ 1000 Series/ A-Series Desktop Processors. " is the official line from Asus. It does however work fine with a Ryzen 3900X (someone already tested this) and it should allow ANY Ryzen AMA4 CPU to post. Since all relevant micro codes are present in the bios.

    It's also on the official site now
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2020
  9. Webhiker

    Webhiker Master Guru

    Messages:
    727
    Likes Received:
    252
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC2
  10. SplashDown

    SplashDown Master Guru

    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    160
    GPU:
    EVGA 980ti Classy
    Awesome thanks bud, so I just put the 5800 in and then update the Bios? Thrilled that my board is getting the update it will probably be my last upgrade, and it made my board worth the money I paid for it now.
     

  11. Webhiker

    Webhiker Master Guru

    Messages:
    727
    Likes Received:
    252
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC2
    Personally I would power down, flash the BIOS using flashback. Then I would disconnect from power and then replace the CPU.
    But flashback can flash the BIOS without any CPU in the board.
     
  12. SplashDown

    SplashDown Master Guru

    Messages:
    791
    Likes Received:
    160
    GPU:
    EVGA 980ti Classy
    Awesome thanks, I'm still on the original first Bios that came with board 0207 - 1.0.0.0a. It runs fine and I manually enter my ram timings so never had a reason to update I'm on 2700x right now. Thanks again.
     
  13. Morax

    Morax Master Guru

    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    70
    GPU:
    RTX 3080 Suprim X
    Question: I am using a 2x16GB G.Skill F4-3200C14-16GFX kit, an AMD Ryzen optimised (Samsung B-die) one.

    It runs perfect at XMP settings ofcourse on my Ryzen 2700X, and even runs without errors if I set it to the tighter timings according to the terrific DRAM Calculator tool (at 14/13/14/28@3200MHz).

    However, I cannot get it stable at all if I set a higher clock speed then 3200MHz, whatever I try.

    Does this mean the 2700X has issues with higher DRAM speeds, or are the RAMs of 'lesser quality'?

    So if I replace the CPU with an 5950X (when I finally get it), will it give better results with the RAM timings and speed?

    EDIT: X570 mobo (Asus X570 Gaming-F)
     
  14. Kool64

    Kool64 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    415
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX2070S
    you might have better luck at higher speeds/better timings on a 3 or 5k chip however since it's dual rank that still might hold it back.
     
  15. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,473
    Likes Received:
    4,491
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Depends on your 2700x imc but thats basically all it can do becouse mine is also stuck at 3200. Im sure 5950x will do 3400-3600 with the same kit.
     
    Morax likes this.

  16. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,829
    Likes Received:
    3,203
    GPU:
    Vega XTX LiQuiD
    3800MHz CL16 - is doable IMhO on 3xxx/5xxx series.
     
    Last edited: Nov 27, 2020
    Morax likes this.
  17. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,473
    Likes Received:
    4,491
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Not with a dual rank kit and 2700x. Its possible with 5900x though i think.
     
  18. Morax

    Morax Master Guru

    Messages:
    214
    Likes Received:
    70
    GPU:
    RTX 3080 Suprim X
    Thanks guys!
    I asked since I will probably receive my 5950X next week (once again, the more "limited" chip seems to have a way better availability then the "more common" ones, in this case both the 5800 and 5900), so I'm curious what my options will be. And low latency higher speed DDR4 modules of 32GB or more in total aren't really available here for reasonable prices yet.
     
    Undying likes this.
  19. Kool64

    Kool64 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    415
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX2070S
    C16 Bdies tend not to OC as well as C14. It's still a bit of a crap shoot especially for it being dual rank.
     
  20. Clouseau

    Clouseau Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,697
    Likes Received:
    398
    GPU:
    ZOTAC AMP RTX 3070
    Asus shot themselves in the face by over designing the B550-XE. At a price tag of $329.99 US, X570 boards start to look a whole lot better (X570-E Gaming is a decent amount cheaper). Newegg appears to be about the only shop that has the board for sale.
     

Share This Page