1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Techland Announce Dying Light (PS3/360/PC/PS4/XBOXONE)

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by Stone Gargoyle, May 23, 2013.

  1. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,729
    Likes Received:
    315
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    May be Steam > Dying Light properties > Beta tab at a guess?
     
  2. nhlkoho

    nhlkoho Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,640
    Likes Received:
    283
    GPU:
    RTX 2080ti FE
    That option has been enabled since it was available. The OSD works in every other 64bit game I have. I'll mess around with it some more when I get home from work.
     
  3. Grimbarian

    Grimbarian Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,493
    Likes Received:
    205
    GPU:
    AMD RX580 8gb
    The tab that requires an access code to unlock the beta? ;)
     
  4. K-putt

    K-putt Master Guru

    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080Ti
    Exactly. I know a guy from Techland. He gave me that code to give it a try.
    Anyway, the update is released now.

    1.2.1 patch notes (Windows & Linux)
    • numerous performance optimizations, both general and configuration-specific, that resolve many performance problems
    • compatibility fixes – related to language and regional system settings
    • fixes a number of crashes in various situations
    • blocked cheating by changing game’s data files
    • new issue tracking mechanisms (-safemode switch, additional logs, minidumps always, full dumps on request)
    • numerous audio compatibility fixes

    • Bug fixing:
    o resolved disappearing inventory in a save game in specific circumstances
    o resolved blocked using of items after breaking reloading of shooting weapon
    o removed weapon duplication glitch of throwable weapons
    o limited camera field of view on cutscenes when in-game FOV set to other than default
    o lowered frequency of docket availability information

    KNOWN ISSUES WE ARE WORKING ON:
    • performance issues of systems based on the AMD processor
    • freezes when using Nvidia DoF
    • unsatisfactory performance on multi-GPU systems

    1.2.1 Linux specific patch notes:


    • added keyboard support for unicode characters
    • fixed crashes (when unplugging game PAD controller, on landing movie)
    • fixed primary weapon HUD selection via mouse controller
    • fixed input system performance (along with mouse wheel)
    • fixed v-sync in windowed mode
    • fixed fullscreen support
    • fixed game process priority
    • fixed water reflection
    • fixed in-game menu map background
    • fixed characters faces morphing (chatters)
    • fixed missing (yellow) materials, i.e. sense mode, bushes, rocks

    KNOWN LINUX ISSUES WE ARE WORKING ON:
    • the game does not launch on some systems (i.e. Linux Mint)
    • the game does not work with Radeon cards
    • some rendering/OpenGL performance issues
    • too intense blur effect
     

  5. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,257
    Likes Received:
    1,312
    GPU:
    Sapphire Vega Pulse
    Looks like the game was updated. :)

    EDIT: Seems I also completely missed that part of K-Putt's reply.


    EDIT:
    There goes the current mod support I guess, depends on what was changed.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2015
  6. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,729
    Likes Received:
    315
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    Ah right...well maybe the person who mentioned the beta patch can share the access code? Pretty please! :D
     
  7. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,035
    Likes Received:
    967
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Nice, good thing i didnt rush into game before fix's.
     
  8. darrensimmons

    darrensimmons Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,544
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 TI DUKE OC
    YYYEEESSS!
    View distance 100% no framerate drop :) Good job!
     
  9. sephking

    sephking Master Guru

    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    2x EVGA 980ti Classified
    [/QUOTE]

    In case anyone else is having this issue with freezing and cut scenes being broken, it turned out to be Nvidia DOF that was causing the issue. Turned it off and now there's very little stuttering.
     
  10. DarkKnightDude

    DarkKnightDude Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,089
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX770 4 GB OC
    New patch made the game way smoother. The second area feels so much better.
     

  11. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,729
    Likes Received:
    315
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    So is this 13 MB patch now officially released then?

    How much of a difference does it make to performance? Anyone else with a single GTX 980?
     
  12. StrikeQ

    StrikeQ Master Guru

    Messages:
    955
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080 Waterforce 2139/5500
    Saw someone post that 100% View Distance is now = 25% pre patch. Or something like that.
     
  13. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,257
    Likes Received:
    1,312
    GPU:
    Sapphire Vega Pulse
    Might be possible to solve that since you can set view distance manually in the video.scr config file, 100% in game corresponds to a value of 8.60 if I remember correctly.
    (I just set the value to 10.00 to round it off.)
     
  14. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,257
    Likes Received:
    1,312
    GPU:
    Sapphire Vega Pulse
    Yep sure did, game no longer reads extracted files besides the two config files for video and audio.
     
  15. doktor1

    doktor1 Master Guru

    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    49
    GPU:
    XFX RX480 8GB GTR
    With this settings my FPS dont drop bellow 30...

    [​IMG]

    Here is some gameplay...

    I would love to lower textures to medium and shadows to medium BUT I have problem! With medium textures game looks fine but what is this on some places?!

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Also medium textures, no problem:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     

  16. StrikeQ

    StrikeQ Master Guru

    Messages:
    955
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080 Waterforce 2139/5500
    Yea, 100% = 2.6 now
     
  17. dsbig

    dsbig Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,982
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 2070
    no patch downloaded for me :(

    and I had steam running all morning. and even restarted steam.


    verifying files........


    edit: after verifying files. it updated.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2015
  18. scatman839

    scatman839 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,923
    Likes Received:
    382
    GPU:
    1080, KD55XD800
    There's also a new very high shadow setting, though I wouldn't put it past it just being the old high and the rest now being lower.

    Since they fiddled with the view distance slider.

    But, cpu usage is more even now.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2015
  19. Major Melchett

    Major Melchett Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,456
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9 280X @ 1100/1500
    Before the patch 2.60 = 55% (1 notch up from default), so the new patch 100% would be 55% pre-patch.

    So the new patch 50% is a heck of a lot lower than the pre-patch 50%, not good at all.
     
    Last edited: Jan 30, 2015
  20. StrikeQ

    StrikeQ Master Guru

    Messages:
    955
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1080 Waterforce 2139/5500
    Not sure what else changed but VRAM usage with everything maxed is down to 2.6GB whereas before I was always around 3.6GB
     

Share This Page