Switched from Nvidia, and...

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by zarker99, Jul 25, 2008.

  1. zarker99

    zarker99 Member Guru

    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire hd 7870 Ghz
    Just upgraded from an Nvidia 7950 x2 to a Saphire HD 4870. !st thinng I did after installing drivers was run 3DMark06, and my performance has leapt from 7900 marks on the NV, to a massive 8600 on the Radeon :(.

    SM2 is the same score as the 7950 (3300)
    SM3 went up to 4600 from 3400
    CPU obviously is the same (1980)

    I ran the easy install from the CD, which looked like it installed all the bits, including .Net 2 so I think it ran ok.

    I've just downloaded Catalyst 8.7, and wondering how to install?

    Any ideas please?

    specs
    mobo Nvidia sli590
    cpu AMD AM2 5000 x2
    RAm=2gb
    PSU 650w
    Windows XP pro sp3
     
    Last edited: Jul 25, 2008
  2. RIP_Greave

    RIP_Greave Member Guru

    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7970m
    Hi first of all forget about 3d mark 06 ga for vantuge, your cpu is the problem imo try to overclock it, uninstall the driver you have on restart your pc and install the 8.7 driver many people like to run driver sweep or something like that but i never do and never had a problem. But realy you should oc your cpu.......again imo.

    Why do you use the word net? are you afrikaans? o and welcome to G3D!
     
  3. Quicks

    Quicks Master Guru

    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    Red Devil RX 470 / 4GB
    What I allways when getting a new card and stuff is format drive after backing up the stuff that you need and then reinstall windows just to make sure everything works flawless. your cpu should be able to pull the card better then that so try reinstalling windows.
     
  4. Quicks

    Quicks Master Guru

    Messages:
    557
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    Red Devil RX 470 / 4GB
    Most people use driver cleaner to make sure there is no conflict with old card drivers you can give that a try if you dont want to reinstall windows.
     

  5. RIP_Greave

    RIP_Greave Member Guru

    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    7970m
    To Quicks: Where did you get a 4850 in SA?
     
  6. zarker99

    zarker99 Member Guru

    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire hd 7870 Ghz
    Thanks guys

    RIP - I read earlier to make sure the initial driver installation installed winows .NET framework correcly. WHich it seemed to do.

    I thought Vantage was only for Vista & DX10 users?

    OK - i'll try the new driver. Just wondered if it needed anything extra rather than a straight un-install/re-install.

    I've been thinking about re-installng windows for a while, so may try it soon and see what happens.

    Thanks again :)
     
  7. zarker99

    zarker99 Member Guru

    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire hd 7870 Ghz
    well - i cleaned and re-installed the drivers (8.7) and now i'm getting 9500 on 3dmark06

    SM2- 3700
    SM3- 5500
    CPU- 1980

    so its a bit better

    Still, as its only half the price I paid for the 7950x2 2 years ago I'm quite pleased.

    Thanks all
     
  8. zarker99

    zarker99 Member Guru

    Messages:
    144
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire hd 7870 Ghz
    Well - I've been trying various games,

    UT3 - cranked upto max settings, still more FPs and looks AMAZING!
    UT2004 - flippin awful, with some textures missing. may need reinstalling.
    GTR2 - again cranked to max, more FPs, cars looks 200% better
    FSX - no real improvement here visualwise (not surprising), but it has fixed the problem I had where the game would crash if I tried to access the ALT menu from the cockpit :)

    still experimenting, but results are VERY pleasing :)
     
  9. mikeysg

    mikeysg Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,939
    Likes Received:
    494
    GPU:
    Nitro+ RX 6900 XT
    Good to see another satisfied 4870 user, I can't wait to join the HD48 series club......ATi NEEDS to launch the 4870 X2 asap, I NEED it bad!:wanker: Meanwhile, I'm just chugging along with my present cards....:bang:
     
  10. pint

    pint Active Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    club 3d 4870
    i've been telling this more than once , 3dmark06 is a crappy bench
    it can only serve as a comparison between identical systems
    it doesn't tell you how you're gaming is going to be
    im glad you've found that out and welkome you to the happy hd4800 series guru3d corner

    cheers
     

  11. Markgpl

    Markgpl Master Guru

    Messages:
    666
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    RX 5700 Mech OC
    It's totally related to cpu speed, i got 10k from a 3870, a64x2 5200+ (2mb cache version)
    Be sure that your setup is faster in 99% of new games with higher iq settings
     
  12. dominant1

    dominant1 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,625
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Evga Gtx1070 Superclocked
    the 4870 x2 uses alot of juice and runs hot ...you sure you want 1?
     
  13. mR Yellow

    mR Yellow Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,935
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 Fury
    I'm from SA. If u looking for the new 48** give me a pm and i'll hook u up.

    Die kart is lekka fokken goed. :banana:
     
  14. Valagard

    Valagard Guest

    Message to op, your computer is entirely CPU bottlenecked right now.

    For example, I have two 3870HD's in crossfire, my UT3 FPS went from 25FPS with a Athlon 5600+ to 90+FPS with a Phenom 9850 in DX10, and the 9850 still has bandwidth to spare
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 26, 2008

Share This Page