SweetFX Shader Suite release and discussion thread

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by CeeJay.dk, Sep 23, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. CeeJay.dk

    CeeJay.dk Master Guru

    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    Radeon 6870
    I found this post about how to get the FXAA injector working with Syndicate. Try the same with SweetFX.

    This is a good general tip for anyone having problems with a particular game.

    Google it's name and either SweetFX , FXAA inject (or injector or injected), InjectSMAA or ENB.

    ENBseries, InjectFXAA , FXAAtool, InjectSMAA and SweetFX all use the same method (a proxy direct3d dll) to apply effects, and so they all install pretty much the same.
    So solutions for problems with one injector, usually works with the others as well.
     
  2. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    28,974
    Likes Received:
    1,835
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    thanks that did the trick. i was not aware that .fx files were the shaders. i copied the stuff inside the sweetfx folder.

    so only d3d9.dll and injector.ini was needed in \Win32_x86_Release\

    "SweetFX\
    d3d9.fx
    SweetFX readme.txt
    SweetFX_preset.txt
    SweetFX_settings.txt"

    i had to put in the Syndicate folder.
     
  3. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    28,974
    Likes Received:
    1,835
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    For farcry 1 , i have just tried the ENB v0.118 Fallout new vegas mod http://enbdev.com/mod_falloutnv_v0118.htm which seems to work fine.
    sweetfx , injectfxaa, injectfxaa all crash somehow. dont have a clue why.


    edit. finally got it to work.

    seemed to work exactly the same as with syndicate.


    so d3d9.dll and injector.ini in d:\Install\Steam\steamapps\common\FarCry\Bin32\

    and the other files below in d:\Install\Steam\steamapps\common\FarCry\

    "SweetFX\
    d3d9.fx
    SweetFX readme.txt
    SweetFX_preset.txt
    SweetFX_settings.txt"

    it now creates a log aswell!

    AA must be set disabled from within the game though, or it wont work.
    its easy to spot, since the colors change.
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2012
  4. lowenz

    lowenz Master Guru

    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 750Ti
    Win7 x64 + Old DVD version patched to 1.4.
     

  5. Wanny

    Wanny Guest

    I didn't know what to think about this FX thing. I'm slow to welcome anything that has FX in it since I hate FXAA very much hehe. I tried TFL's settings in TL2 and I think it's starting to grow in me. I'm not sure yet.

    I do not seem to have the patience with these kind of tweak mods. It's like ENB. I can't bother to put hours into tweaking stuff like colors :|
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 6, 2012
  6. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,495
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    you really don't have to tweak it much. For me, in games like FIFA, WoW and others where I get very high AA I'll use that most of the time because I can afford a performance hit, or even run SweetFX on top of high AA (if supported) for a bit of sharpness. With games that struggle to stay 60fps solid, I'll ditch AA and use SweetFX. It works pretty well with default settings.
     
  7. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    28,974
    Likes Received:
    1,835
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    Farcry1 on and off




    OFF
    [​IMG]
    ON
    [​IMG]

    OFF
    [​IMG]
    ON
    [​IMG]

    OFF
    [​IMG]
    ON
    [​IMG]
     
  8. CeeJay.dk

    CeeJay.dk Master Guru

    Messages:
    689
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    Radeon 6870
    Wow!
    You can really tell the difference.

    That's just the default settings right?

    BTW - Remember that Far Cry has options for different color gradings, that you can set in the settings.
    I can't remember what the option is called though - It's been a long time since I last played Far Cry.
     
  9. WhiteLightning

    WhiteLightning Don Illuminati Staff Member

    Messages:
    28,974
    Likes Received:
    1,835
    GPU:
    GTX1070 iChillx4
    yeah, this is the default color profile though, since it was just a quick test, have to check the other ones aswell. think i used to play with the cold profile before. but ill have to check.

    Settings are at default, though some enabled and disabled.

    Code:
    // Set to 1 for ON or 0 for OFF
    #define USE_SMAA_ANTIALIASING 1
    #define USE_LUMASHARPEN 0
    #define USE_BLOOM 0
    #define USE_HDR 1
    #define USE_TECHNICOLOR 0
    #define USE_TONEMAP 1
    #define USE_VIBRANCE 1
    #define USE_SEPIA 1
    #define USE_VIGNETTE 0
    #define USE_DITHER 0
    #define USE_DPX 0  
    
     
  10. lowenz

    lowenz Master Guru

    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 750Ti
    Good old Far Cry has aged very well :D

    Men, 8.5 years already passed :|
     
    Last edited: Oct 6, 2012

  11. Peakr

    Peakr Member

    Messages:
    28
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 970
    Goes by in a blink, still one of my favorite shooters. Thought we would be playing CG by now. Guess NV was full of S. Pretty cool how SweetFX can pump new life into these old classics.
     
  12. Wanny

    Wanny Guest

    Could SweetFX allow downsampling??
     
  13. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,616
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW
    Damn those Far Cry shots look good. I'm almost tempted to reinstall the game now and give it another play through.
     
  14. PhazeDelta1

    PhazeDelta1 Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    15,616
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 FTW
    Guild Wars 2 looks 100 time better now

    OFF

    [​IMG]

    ON

    [​IMG]




    And here are the settings im using.

    Code:
     /*----------------------------------------------------------------.
    /   Game: Guild Wars 2                                             '
    '   SweetFX version: 1.2                                           '
    '   Author: ninjafada                                              '
    '   Description: "smaa and sharp , hrd, vibrance, sepia" /
    '----------------------------------------------------------------*/ 
    
       /*----------------------------------------------------------- .
      /                      Choose effects                         /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    
    // Set to 1 for ON or 0 for OFF
    #define USE_SMAA_ANTIALIASING 1
    #define USE_LUMASHARPEN 1 //Also sharpens the antialiased edges which makes them less smooth - I'm working on fixing that.
    #define USE_BLOOM 0      // Bloom makes bright lights bleed their light into their surroundings (relatively high performance cost)
    #define USE_HDR 1        // Not actual HDR - It just tries to mimic an HDR look (relatively high performance cost)
    #define USE_TECHNICOLOR 0 // Attempts to mimic the look of an old movie using the Technicolor three-strip color process (Techicolor Process 4)
    #define USE_TONEMAP 0
    #define USE_VIBRANCE 1    //Intelligently saturates (or desaturates if you use negative values) the pixels depending on their original saturation.
    #define USE_SEPIA 1
    #define USE_VIGNETTE 0    //Darkens the edges of the image to make it more look like it was shot with a camera lens. May cause banding artifacts.
    #define USE_DITHER 0      //Applies dithering to simulate more colors than your monitor can display. This lessens banding artifacts (mostly caused by vignette)
    #define USE_DPX 0         //Unfinished - Should make the image look like it's been converted to DXP Cineon - basically it's another movie-like look similar to technicolor
                              //I think the shader itself works, but the default settings need a lot of work. Maybe you can find some good settings?
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                  SMAA Anti-aliasing settings                /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    
    #define SMAA_THRESHOLD 0.12           // (0.08-0.20) Edge detection threshold
    #define SMAA_MAX_SEARCH_STEPS 32      // [0-98] Determines the radius SMAA will search for aliased edges
    #define SMAA_MAX_SEARCH_STEPS_DIAG 16  // [0-16] Determines the radius SMAA will search for diagonal aliased edges
    #define SMAA_CORNER_ROUNDING 10        // [0-100] Determines the percent of antialiasing to apply to corners.
    
    // -- Advanced SMAA settings --
    #define COLOR_EDGE_DETECTION 1        // 1 Enables color edge detection (slower but more acurate) - 0 uses luma edge detection (faster)
    #define SMAA_DIRECTX9_LINEAR_BLEND 0  // Using DX9 HARDWARE? (software version doesn't matter) if so this needs to be 1 - If not, leave it at 0.
    
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                       LumaSharpen settings                  /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    // -- Sharpening --
    #define sharp_strength 0.9 // (0.2-2.0)Strength of the sharpening
    #define sharp_clamp 0.040  // [0.0-1.0]Limits maximum amount of sharpening a pixel recieves - Default is 0.035
    
    // -- Advanced sharpening settings --
    #define pattern 4          // Choose a sample pattern [ 1, 2, 3 or 4 ] - 1 = Fast, 2 = Normal, 3 = Wider, 4 = Pyramid shaped.
    #define offset_bias 1.0    // [0.0-6.0](1.0) Offset bias adjusts the radius of the sampling pattern.
                               // I designed the pattern for offset_bias 1.0, but feel free to experiment.
                               
    // -- Debug settings --
    #define splitscreen 0      // Enables the before-and-after splitscreen comparison mode. Left side is before.
    #define show_sharpen 0     // Visualize the strength of the sharpen (multiplied by 4 to see it better)
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                       Vibrance settings                     /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define Vibrance 0.4  //Intelligently saturates (or desaturates if you use negative values) the pixels depending on their original saturation.
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                       Bloom settings                        /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define BloomThreshold 20.25
    #define BloomPower 1.446
    #define BloomWidth 0.0142
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                        HDR settings                         /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define HDRPower 1.10  //Strangely lowering this makes the image brighter
    #define radius2 0.8   //Raising this seems to make the effect stronger and also brighter
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                      TECHNICOLOR settings                   /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define TechniAmount 0.11
    #define TechniPower 2.8
    #define redNegativeAmount 0.88
    #define greenNegativeAmount 0.88
    #define blueNegativeAmount 0.88
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                        Tonemap settings                     /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define Gamma 1.0
    
    #define Exposure 0.0
    
    #define Saturation 0.0
    
    #define Bleach 0.0
    
    #define Defog 0.010  //How much of the color tint to remove
    #define FogColor float3(0.00, 0.00, 2.55) //what color to remove - default is blue
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                         Sepia settings                      /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define ColorTone float3(1.40, 1.10, 0.90)
    #define SepiaPower 0.22
    #define GreyPower 0.11  
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                       Vignette settings                     /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define VignetteRadius 1.00  // lower values = stronger radial effect from center
    #define VignetteAmount -1.00 // Strength of black. -2.00 = Max Black, 1.00 = Max White.
    #define VignetteSlope 8      // How far away from the center the change should start to really grow strong (odd numbers cause a larger fps drop than even numbers)
    #define VignetteCenter float2(0.500, 0.500) // Center of effect.
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                        Dither settings                      /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    //No settings yet, beyond switching it on or off in the top section.
    
    //Note that checkerboard pattern used by Dither, makes an image harder to compress.
    //This can make your screenshots and videos take up more space.
    
    
    /////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
    ///////////////////////// Work in Progress //////////////////////
    /////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                      Cineon DPX settings                    /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    //I have yet to find good default settings for this .. maybe you can?
    float Red = 8.0;   //[1.0 - 15.0]
    float Green = 8.0; //[1.0 - 15.0]
    float Blue = 8.0;  //[1.0 - 15.0]
    
    float ColorGamma = 2.5f;    //[0.1 - 2.5]
    float DPXSaturation = 2.0f; //[0.0 - 8.0]
    
    float RedC = 0.4f;     //[0.6 - 0.2]
    float GreenC  = 0.36f; //[0.6 - 0.2]
    float BlueC = 0.35f;   //[0.6 - 0.2]
    
    float Blend = 0.7f; //[1.0 - 0.0] How strong the effect should be
     
  15. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,368
    Likes Received:
    306
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    what u mean by that? DOes sweetfx allow downsampling?
    Or do u mean, does sweetfx can make downsampling like the DSFix for dark souls?

    ín case u mean. Does SweetFX work WITH Downsampling, in combination. Yes that works, u can use sweetfx with downsampling..

    For the other.(like DSFix) NO..

    -BetA-
     

  16. Wanny

    Wanny Guest

    Well it uses a bunch of DLLs. Couldn't it do it? Like DSFix of course, but for every game.

    I know it doesn't, but can it?

    I tweaked TFL's settings a bit but I'm not sure if I like or not. I sure do like the dark/grit color scheme.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 7, 2012
  17. BetA

    BetA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,368
    Likes Received:
    306
    GPU:
    G1-GTX980@1400Mhz
    i do not know..But i guess it could work if it gets modified to work with the injector..
    But i dont know that..CeJay.dk can answer that question..
     
  18. Ryman

    Ryman Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Geforce GTX 660 x2 SLI
    I've been using SweetFX for a while now & the few games I've tried work really well for the most part. The only exception really is Crysis 2. The files are definitely in the right place as I notice the colour boost from Vibrance. But the SMAA seems to do very little for the jaggies/aliasing. Guess I need to tweak the settings some more.....

    Has anyone tried the injector with a game that requires Games for Window Live? I'm a little scared of trying it myself as I have the same Live account for GFWL & Xbox, but I'm curious how effective it could be with Batman : Arkham City.
     
  19. ninjafada

    ninjafada Master Guru

    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    pny 670
    i have a bug sometime if i have mumble or teamspeak and the game i'm playing crash or i close it and it crash on exit , when i restart the game it doesn't use the dll
    i have to shutdown mumble or ts to be able to have the dll loaded
    i'm not using the overlay in those softwares
    but its not 100% of the time , i'll try to narrow the conditions
     
  20. alientorni

    alientorni Active Member

    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 5770 (bios6770) Hawk
    reading this, i thought, it might be better to load only shaders that will be use. for example. last version of icenchancer gives the option to do real time changes, and to disable it. when real time is disabled, game goes really faster. maybe if you can put a "searching for sweet spot mode" that we can figure the best config in-game. and other option that loads only shaders that are active. just thinking.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page