SweetFX Shader Suite release and discussion thread #4

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by CeeJay.dk, Sep 30, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Zemial

    Zemial Member Guru

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire Radeon 7970 @ CF
    Thx! Your 64bit files actually works under Windows 8.1 x64+Battlefield x64 mode! No more blurry mushy colours! You saved my day! :banana:

    Offtopic: Next in the wishlist would be Rivatuner Statistic server x64 support!
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2013
  2. 6yton

    6yton Guest

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gt 540m 1gb
    I have a performance loss by 30 fps in Skyrim. (from 50 to 20) I have a Geforce GT 540M on my laptop. Is it normal? Is there a way to fix it?

    Code:
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                      Choose effects                         /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    
    // Set to 1 for ON or 0 for OFF
    #define USE_SMAA_ANTIALIASING 0 //[0 or 1] SMAA Anti-aliasing : Smoothens jagged lines using the SMAA technique.
    #define USE_FXAA_ANTIALIASING 0 //[0 or 1] FXAA Anti-aliasing : Smoothens jagged lines using the FXAA technique
    #define USE_CARTOON           0 //[0 or 1] Cartoon : "Toon"s the image.(Interferes with SMAA, CRT, Bloom, HDR and Lumasharpen)
    #define USE_TVLEVELS          0 //[0 or 1] TVLevels : Adjusts the brightness/darkness of the scene with a straight line instead of a curve.
    #define USE_ADVANCED_CRT      0 //[0 or 1] Advanced CRT : Simulates an old CRT TV display. Set gaussian blur along with it to get a halation effect
    #define USE_BLOOM             0 //[0 or 1] Bloom : Makes bright lights bleed their light into their surroundings (relatively high performance cost)
    #define USE_HDR               0 //[0 or 1] HDR : Not actual HDR - It just tries to mimic an HDR look (relatively high performance cost)
    #define USE_LUMASHARPEN       0 //[0 or 1] LumaSharpen : Also sharpens the antialiased edges which makes them less smooth - I'm working on fixing that.
    #define USE_GAUSSIAN          0 //[0 or 1] Gaussian Blur : can be used to... blur, but also bloom/hazy/glowy look, also unsharp masking
    #define USE_FILMGRAIN         0 //[0 or 1] Filmgrain effect
    #define USE_TECHNICOLOR       0 //[0 or 1] TECHNICOLOR : Attempts to mimic the look of an old movie using the Technicolor three-strip color process (Techicolor Process 4)
    #define USE_DPX               1 //[0 or 1] Cineon DPX : Should make the image look like it's been converted to DXP Cineon - basically it's another movie-like look similar to technicolor.
    #define USE_MONOCHROME        0 //[0 or 1] Monochrome : Monochrome makes the colors disappear.
    #define USE_LIFTGAMMAGAIN     1 //[0 or 1] Lift Gamma Gain : Adjust brightness and color of shadows, midtones and highlights (avoids clipping)
    #define USE_TONEMAP           0 //[0 or 1] Tonemap : Adjust gamma, exposure, saturation, bleach and defog. (may cause clipping)
    #define USE_VIBRANCE          1 //[0 or 1] Vibrance : Intelligently saturates (or desaturates if you use negative values) the pixels depending on their original saturation.
    #define USE_CURVES            1 //[0 or 1] Curves : Contrast adjustments using S-curves.
    #define USE_SEPIA             0 //[0 or 1] Sepia : Sepia tones the image.
    #define USE_VIGNETTE          0 //[0 or 1] Vignette : Darkens the edges of the image to make it look more like it was shot with a camera lens. May cause banding artifacts.
    #define USE_DITHER            1 //[0 or 1] Dither : Applies dithering to simulate more colors than your monitor can display. This lessens banding artifacts (mostly caused by Vignette)
    #define USE_BORDER            0 //[0 or 1] Border : Makes the screenedge black as a workaround for the bright edge that forcing some AA modes sometimes causes.
    #define USE_SPLITSCREEN       0 //[0 or 1] Splitscreen : Enables the before-and-after splitscreen comparison mode.
    
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                  Cineon DPX settings                        /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define Red   8.0  //[1.0 to 15.0]
    #define Green 8.0  //[1.0 to 15.0]
    #define Blue  8.0  //[1.0 to 15.0]
    
    #define ColorGamma    2.5  //[0.1 to 2.5] Adjusts the colorfulness of the effect in a manner similar to Vibrance. 1.0 is neutral.
    #define DPXSaturation 5.5  //[0.0 to 8.0] Adjust saturation of the effect. 1.0 is neutral.
    
    #define RedC   0.36  //[0.60 to 0.20]
    #define GreenC 0.36  //[0.60 to 0.20]
    #define BlueC  0.34  //[0.60 to 0.20]
    
    #define Blend 0.45    //[0.00 to 1.00] How strong the effect should be.
    
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                  Lift Gamma Gain settings                   /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define RGB_Lift  float3(1.000, 1.000, 1.000)  //[0.000 to 2.000] Adjust shadows for Red, Green and Blue
    #define RGB_Gamma float3(1.000, 1.000, 1.000)  //[0.000 to 2.000] Adjust midtones for Red, Green and Blue
    #define RGB_Gain  float3(1.000, 1.000, 1.000)  //[0.000 to 2.000] Adjust highlights for Red, Green and Blue
    
    
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                  Vibrance settings                          /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define Vibrance 0.1 //[-1.00 to 1.00] Intelligently saturates (or desaturates if you use negative values) the pixels depending on their original saturation.
    
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                  Curves settings                            /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define Curves_mode 2        //[0|1|2] Choose what to apply contrast to. 0 = Luma, 1 = Chroma, 2 = both Luma and Chroma. Default is 0 (Luma)
    #define Curves_contrast 0.50 //[-1.00 to 1.00] The amount of contrast you want
    
    // -- Advanced curve settings --
    #define Curves_formula 3     //[1|2|3|4|5|6|7|8|9] The contrast s-curve you want to use.
                                 //1 = Sine, 2 = Abs split, 3 = Smoothstep, 4 = Exp formula, 5 = Simplified Catmull-Rom (0,0,1,1), 6 = Perlins Smootherstep
                                 //7 = Abs add, 8 = Techicolor Cinestyle, 9 = Parabola.
                                 //Note that Technicolor Cinestyle is practically identical to Sine, but runs slower. In fact I think the difference might only be due to rounding errors.
                                 //I prefer 2 myself, but 3 is a nice alternative with a little more effect (but harsher on the highlight and shadows) and it's the fastest formula.
    
    
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                  Dither settings                            /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define dither_method 1  //[1 or 2] 1 = Ordering dithering (good and very fast), 2 = Random dithering (even better dithering but not as fast)
    
    //Note that the patterns used by Dither, makes an image harder to compress.
    //This can make your screenshots and video recordings take up more space.
     
  3. BenYeeHua

    BenYeeHua Guest

    Messages:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 650M D3
    If you going to MSI AB thread, you will know that it is supported with the beta version. ;)
     
  4. 6yton

    6yton Guest

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gt 540m 1gb
    Can anyone help me?
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2013

  5. kurtferro

    kurtferro Guest

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    SAPPHIRE NiTRO R9 390 WB

    Try disable all effect and enable one at once and you will find the problem, 540m is not so potent for add more effect, try use only lumasharper and vibrance, disable antialiasing in game if is on and use smaa.
     
  6. Zemial

    Zemial Member Guru

    Messages:
    120
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire Radeon 7970 @ CF
    Thanks for the tip! Sweetfx 64bit+Rivatuner static server 64bit, it's early christmas I think! :banana:
     
  7. kurtferro

    kurtferro Guest

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    SAPPHIRE NiTRO R9 390 WB
    I'd like to use the SMAA in BF4, FXAA in the game really work bad and MSAA x4 is very heavy, probably still has not been optimized.

    Probably CeeJay is too busy, but i hope that in January he's able to complete the full support to the SMAA

    meanwhile I hope for a game and drivers optimization.
     
  8. BenYeeHua

    BenYeeHua Guest

    Messages:
    1,515
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 650M D3
    For BF4, did you set as 100% resolution?
     
  9. Whiplashwang

    Whiplashwang Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,460
    Likes Received:
    397
    GPU:
    RTX 4090 PNY
    You sure your game hasn't stop running on the Nvidia GPU? Nvidia's optimus for laptops doesn't support binaries like ENB or sweetfx (unless you use ENB's injector). If you're having a huge performance hit like you say you're probably running on Intel's onboard graphics.

    EDIT: CeeJay talked about this a while back. (Click Here)
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2013
  10. kurtferro

    kurtferro Guest

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    SAPPHIRE NiTRO R9 390 WB
    Yes because with my system i lose to many fps with more than 100%, but lumasharpen fix all with small performance impact.

    I look forward to see how mantle increases performance, unfortunately in this case we have to wait some time before efx becomes compatible with mantle.


    I think you're right
     

  11. Crosire

    Crosire Member Guru

    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    -
    As already suggested, it's your card. NVIDIA Optimus doesn't like most of the Direct3D 9 wrappers out there and switches to your internal graphics card, got a 540M myself.
    There are multiple ways around this issue:
    • Use the workaround by HiAlgo linked above
    • Use the ENB injector and configure it to load SweetFX as the proxy library
    • Use an external application to inject the library once the game started. Onl Supported by Radeon Pro (which does that as far as I know) and eFX.
    • Simply use an injector which doesn't have that issue. I don't know if there is any other than eFX which solved the issue yet, without the need for a workaround (sorry for a bit of selfadvertising)
    Pick what you find easiest.
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2013
  12. 6yton

    6yton Guest

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gt 540m 1gb
    Whiplashwang, Crosire
    HiAlgo works, thanks.
     
  13. xBlackCrack

    xBlackCrack Guest

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI NGTX670 Power Edition
    SGSSAA is a relly good techique but is it possible to combine it with other methods to sth. like SG-SMAA or SG-MSAA?
     
    Last edited: Dec 13, 2013
  14. keyciraptor

    keyciraptor Guest

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 780 sli
    hi guys

    i am trying to bring sweetfx with metro ll to work but it doesnt :-s

    i play assassins 4, crysis and many other games with sweetfx without problems, but when i try the same with metro ll, it starts for 1 sec, blackscreen and goes to desktop without error or something :-s

    someone can help me please?
     
  15. ACMPraetorian

    ACMPraetorian Guest

    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 7950 OC
    Can anyone confirm that redistributing SweetFX is allowed?

    I'm a member of another forum and I've offered to upload the sweetfx package there but a moderator will not allow the upload to go live until It's been confirmed.

    Thanks.

    :edit:
    I also offered to upload since it has a custom preset for a specific game
    ( I say game, It's for a new simulator that's been released )
     

  16. Wicked_Sick

    Wicked_Sick Guest

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 480
    I think it is allowed because I've seen it in bunch of other forums around teh web. But I think you would rather wait for a confirmation from someone more reputable.


    Again, I'd like to ask, can someone make the 1.5.1 have the Chromatic Aberration? I have Boulotaur here, but I'd rather use 1.5.1. PLease? ):

    EDIT: A typo that I found.
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2013
  17. Zomgerd

    Zomgerd Guest

    Messages:
    304
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus R9 280X DC2T
    I believe that it is okay to redistribute SweetFX as long as credit is given where credit is due, take for example TFL on OCN.
     
  18. Adi Bo

    Adi Bo Guest

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Leadtek GF GTX460 1GB
    Is there a way to use SwFX with d3doverrider, or enable triple buffering somehow with it?
     
  19. Gordyne

    Gordyne Guest

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gtx 460 768Mb
    Hi there, can someone help me?
    I downloaded SweeFX configurator 1.3 and I'm trying to aplly it's SMAA in Far Cry 3(dx9 PostFX set to False) and The Witcher 2.

    It just won't apply SMAA, other filters seem to be working fine.

    My GPU is a GTX 460 768 MB
    Using nvidia 327.23 driver

    Edit: Tested again, it's working on The Witcher 2 altough not on Geralt, he is jagged as hell while other objects like tree's look much better
     
    Last edited: Dec 17, 2013
  20. Fihn

    Fihn Guest

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    gtx 670
    Using this on X3 terran conflict and everything works great but when I take a screenshot they are all black. Any ideas?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page