SweetFX Shader Suite release and discussion thread #4

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by CeeJay.dk, Sep 30, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Crosire

    Crosire Member Guru

    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    -
    Please be a bit more specific. "It does not work" is not very helpful. Logs, a description of what you did, post these please (but use the eFX bug report thread on this forums).
     
  2. Ashton187

    Ashton187 New Member

    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI 3gb 7970
    Hey,

    Does 1.5 work with 64bit .exe's? Or do I still have to use Radeon Pro?

    Also will settings from 1.4 work with 1.5 without having to change anything? Or will I need to manually change the values?

    Also has anyone managed to get Radeon Pro to load Sweetfx with World of Warcraft's 64bit exe?

    Thanks.
     
  3. boxariel

    boxariel Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia gtx680 2Gb
    Call of duty black ops 2 / windows 8.1
    efx32.dll raname to dxgi.dll

    2013-11-08 12:43:04 | INFO | GENERAL | Initializing Crosires "eFX" Version 2.0.0.0 ...
    2013-11-08 12:43:04 | INFO | HOOK | Installing "dxgi" hooks from file "C:\WINDOWS\system32\dxgi.dll" ...
    2013-11-08 12:43:04 | DEBUG | HOOK | Ready to install 3 hooks
    2013-11-08 12:43:04 | INFO | PROXY | Redirecting "CreateDXGIFactory1"
    2013-11-08 12:43:04 | DEBUG | PROXY | Redirecting "IDXGIFactory->Release"
    2013-11-08 12:43:04 | DEBUG | PROXY | 0 (0) remaining reference(s)
    2013-11-08 12:43:04 | INFO | PROXY | Redirecting "CreateDXGIFactory1"
    2013-11-08 12:43:04 | DEBUG | PROXY | Redirecting "IDXGIFactory->Release"
    2013-11-08 12:43:04 | DEBUG | PROXY | 1 (0) remaining reference(s)
    2013-11-08 12:43:04 | INFO | PROXY | Redirecting "CreateDXGIFactory1"
    2013-11-08 12:43:04 | DEBUG | PROXY | Redirecting "IDXGIFactory->Release"
    2013-11-08 12:43:04 | DEBUG | PROXY | 1 (0) remaining reference(s)
    2013-11-08 12:43:04 | INFO | PROXY | Redirecting "CreateDXGIFactory2"
    2013-11-08 12:43:04 | WARN | PROXY | "CreateDXGIFactory2" was not called with "IID_IDXGIFactory2" but with "IID_IDXGIFactory"
    2013-11-08 12:43:04 | DEBUG | PROXY | Redirecting "IDXGIFactory->Release"
    2013-11-08 12:43:04 | DEBUG | PROXY | 1 (0) remaining reference(s)
    2013-11-08 12:43:34 | INFO | GENERAL | Terminating ...
    2013-11-08 12:43:34 | DEBUG | HOOK | Ready to uninstall 3 hooks
     
  4. xBlackCrack

    xBlackCrack Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI NGTX670 Power Edition
    Is SMAA superior to TXAA? And how is your progress with x64 applications?
     

  5. Crosire

    Crosire Member Guru

    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    -
    Would you at least read the (eFX) readme (especially the troubleshooting section)? Again, I said this should go into the eFX injector thread. Please :)
     
    Last edited: Nov 8, 2013
  6. styckx

    styckx Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,542
    Likes Received:
    164
    GPU:
    2080 Ti XC Ultra
    Yes.. SMAA is leaps and bounds better.

    TXAA = Rubbing Vaseline all over your screen and saying it smoothed out jagged edges.
     
  7. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,495
    Likes Received:
    266
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    Nah, TXAA is technically leaps and bounds better than SMAA but it is substantially softer.

    It does work better with eliminating shimmering though, I can't stand aliasing in any format so for some games SMAA is useless for me.
     
  8. wellison

    wellison Active Member

    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970 ASUS Strix 4gb
    in the package inside sweetfx folder rename eFX32.dll to dxgi.dll and move to the root of the game togheter with the .exe of the game.
    Working here
     
  9. Psychor

    Psychor Member

    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    pc.thedigitalfoundry.com
    Crosire, in the future will eFX be able to detect whether a game being run is 32/64 bit and what version of DX/OpenGL is needed so that the necessary files can be loaded automically without having to manually rename DLLs for each game? Thanks.
     
  10. Crosire

    Crosire Member Guru

    Messages:
    164
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    -
    There is a configurator in work by somebody else which does the installation process for you, so, yes. I can't provide any details right now though.
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2013

  11. K-putt

    K-putt Master Guru

    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080Ti
    All pictures i have seen were pretty bad. FXAA in "vaseline-mode" had better results than TXAA.

    FXAA+Lumasharpen is still my way to go.
     
  12. Wicked_Sick

    Wicked_Sick Active Member

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 480
    K-putt, would you be kind enough to post here a good configuration mixng FXAA (or SMAA) and the Luma Sharpen, please?
     
  13. K-putt

    K-putt Master Guru

    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080Ti
    It depends on the game how much Lumasharpen you can use.
    You also need Boulotaur's injector. His Injector adds FXAA after lumasharpen. Maybe CeeJay did the same thing with 1.5.
    But that's my standard FXAA setting right now.

    Code:
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                  FXAA Anti-aliasing settings                /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    #define FXAA_QUALITY__PRESET 39      //[1 to 39] Choose the quality preset. 39 is the highest quality.
    #define fxaa_Subpix 0.5            //[0.000 to 1.000] Choose the amount of sub-pixel aliasing removal.
    #define fxaa_EdgeThreshold 0.001    //[0.000 to 1.000] Edge detection threshold. The minimum amount of local contrast required to apply algorithm.
    #define fxaa_EdgeThresholdMin 0.01  //[0.000 to 1.000] Darkness threshold. Trims the algorithm from processing darks.
    Really fine aliased edges (grass,leafs ...) get blurred with this setting though. Change #define fxaa_Subpix to 0.1 if it's to much blur.

    I set Lumsharpen between 0.4 - 0.9 . Like i said... it really depends on the game.

    Code:
       /*-----------------------------------------------------------.
      /                  SMAA Anti-aliasing settings                /
      '-----------------------------------------------------------*/
    
    #define SMAA_THRESHOLD 0.05           //[0.05 to 0.20] Edge detection threshold. If SMAA misses some edges try lowering this slightly. I prefer between 0.08 and 0.12.
    #define SMAA_MAX_SEARCH_STEPS 32     //[0 to 98] Determines the radius SMAA will search for aliased edges
    #define SMAA_MAX_SEARCH_STEPS_DIAG 16  //[0 to 16] Determines the radius SMAA will search for diagonal aliased edges
    #define SMAA_CORNER_ROUNDING 50       //[0 to 100] Determines the percent of antialiasing to apply to corners. 0 seems to affect fine text the least so it's the default.
    
    // -- Advanced SMAA settings --
    #define COLOR_EDGE_DETECTION 1        //[0 or 1] 1 Enables color edge detection (slower but slightly more acurate) - 0 uses luma edge detection (faster)
    #define SMAA_DIRECTX9_LINEAR_BLEND 0  //[0 or 1] Using DX9 HARDWARE? (software version doesn't matter) if so this needs to be 1 - If not, leave it at 0.
                                          //Enable this only if you use a Geforce 7xxx series or older card, or a Radeon X1xxx series or older card.
    SMAA doesn't really need Lumasharpen. But i have it enabled anyway with 0.2-0.5 .
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2013
  14. JPulowski

    JPulowski Active Member

    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    NVIDIA GeForce GTX 690
    I don't quite understand what "SMAA_CORNER_ROUNDING" setting does. Does it apply AA to corners of the display or something like that?
     
  15. xvt

    xvt Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 Z
    I'll take this opportunity to ask again: how do you get FXAA plus the other shaders working on SweetFX 1.5.1?
    If I use the FXAA d3d9.dll I only get FXAA, no other effects whatsoever.
     
    Last edited: Nov 9, 2013

  16. K-putt

    K-putt Master Guru

    Messages:
    472
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080Ti
    You're doing something wrong then. I'm using Boulotaur's injector though. This one only has 1 .dll file.

    It should still work if you're using CeeJay's injector. Must be something on your end.
     
  17. Wanny

    Wanny Guest

    I just can't understand how to make eFX and SweetFX work together under 8.1... this is getting annoying. Can't we get official support?

    Hell even better, a complete zip for Directx 11 32 bit :bang:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 10, 2013
  18. (.)(.)

    (.)(.) Banned

    Messages:
    9,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    *Config Request post*

    Graw 2 if some one would be so kind. Something a little more realistic and not so vanilla camp.

    I got frustrated not being able to dull the reds without the entire screen going darker (SweetFX v1.4), not swtfx's problem, i just cant figure it out.

    Thanks.
     
  19. Wicked_Sick

    Wicked_Sick Active Member

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 480
    Thank you, K-putt
     
  20. leilei

    leilei New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    3dfx Voodoo3 3000 16MB
    Thank you Crosire and CeeJay.dk for eFX and SweetFX!

    I'd like to share a rough shader i've been working on.

    It's more of a nostalgic thing than anything to seriously improve the picture.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page