SweetFX Shader Suite release and discussion thread #3

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by CeeJay.dk, Mar 18, 2013.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. 00marshall00

    00marshall00 New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    I5 3570k
    Sweetfx farcry.3

    Can someone help pls.

    Im trying to use sweetfx with farcry3. Im in dx9 mode. It seems that when I add the two .dll files into the bin folder it prevents the game from loading. But having followed several tutorials etc these files should be in this folder.

    I have tried removing the dx11.dll file and dx11 application start file into another folder to seperate the dx9/dx11 files from conflicting.

    Just scratcing my head now as to whats stopping it from loading. I have followed motages and mores utube tutotial.....

    Thanks
     
  2. Boulotaur2024

    Boulotaur2024 Member Guru

    Messages:
    143
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD HD7950
    Works fine here, using the new injector, with or without ENB. Make sure you dont use any overlays ?

    Yeah that got me interested at the time, but afaik Durante never released any source-code, for a reason I guess... maybe I could ask him, he's often on Neogaf

    I don't post a lot because I'm drowning... I mean working on DX11... I got SMAA working in DX10, but not in DX11... Well, actually it "works"... but only on the first frame it's applied and then I get a black screen after that... Frustrating as hell... I'm tired as hell too... we'll see this week-end.

    Congrats for the 1.4 release, curves applied on full rgb spectrum is the best addition to the package imo, Tomb raider -and any other dull-looking games- should look much better with strong curves like CineStyle applied to both luma and chroma, try it.
     
  3. Gramps

    Gramps Active Member

    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PNY GTX 770 4GB OC
    Will try again tonight, maybe I missed something.
    I don't use any overlays like RadeonPro (although I want to; will test the BETA with SweetFX as CeeJay said @ some point)

    I would've expected the game to crash if I had overlay's running?
    Every other effect/shader works fine except for SMAA, but the log says its running.
     
    Last edited: Mar 20, 2013
  4. conan2k

    conan2k Member

    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 780GTX
    There is no reason to be upset. Your progress is simply astonishing! Sometimes you just need to sleep over a problem... ;)

    As for TPXAA/PXAA, the game is not worth the candle. These AA techniques are way too slow for anything beyond 720p according to Durante.

    IMO it would be more practical to work on SMAA S2x for DX10/11 (which should be doable) once injectors are ready. BTW, would it be possible to implement an option to force Triple Buffering in your injectors?
     

  5. somebody2978

    somebody2978 Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GTX 650 Ti 2GB AMP!
    OK, I hope to have more luck in the future . SMAA I found it even better than the variants MSAA because it smooths quite well, practically no damage textures and has good performance.
    The truth is that FXAA I find unsatisfactory in any of its versions:

    FXAA of the driver (nvidia): has very good performance, but blurs the image a lot.

    FXAA Injector: it looks a little better, but performance usually drops a little more.

    FXAA from game: performs well and blurs not much, but the smoothing is more irregular.

    SMAA in v1.3 was perfect... :(
     
  6. QuadReaktor

    QuadReaktor Member Guru

    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward GTX680 2GB
    Push...
     
  7. Gramps

    Gramps Active Member

    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PNY GTX 770 4GB OC
    How do I know if using SweetFX is going to get me banned or not? I've heard that using graphics enhancing injectors can you get you banned from some games .. ?
     
  8. Gramps

    Gramps Active Member

    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PNY GTX 770 4GB OC
    I'm not using any overlays at all. Have even closed down STEAM.
    SweetFX and all shaders are working fine, just not SMAA.
    In-Game AA is turned off as well, and I'm running it @ 1400*1050.

    I opened up a Command Prompt as Administrator, and used the in-built 'tasklist' command, to output the below file
    Image Name PID Session Name Session# Mem Usage
    ========================= ======== ================ =========== ============
    System Idle Process 0 Services 0 24 K
    System 4 Services 0 740 K
    smss.exe 268 Services 0 80 K
    csrss.exe 372 Services 0 2,292 K
    wininit.exe 456 Services 0 156 K
    csrss.exe 492 Console 1 7,584 K
    services.exe 516 Services 0 5,644 K
    lsass.exe 532 Services 0 7,544 K
    lsm.exe 540 Services 0 1,936 K
    winlogon.exe 608 Console 1 2,112 K
    svchost.exe 688 Services 0 4,676 K
    svchost.exe 776 Services 0 5,420 K
    MsMpEng.exe 840 Services 0 47,820 K
    atiesrxx.exe 952 Services 0 1,048 K
    svchost.exe 984 Services 0 13,008 K
    svchost.exe 128 Services 0 7,900 K
    svchost.exe 288 Services 0 15,264 K
    svchost.exe 392 Services 0 29,860 K
    svchost.exe 328 Services 0 3,116 K
    atieclxx.exe 1104 Console 1 2,948 K
    svchost.exe 1180 Services 0 29,676 K
    spoolsv.exe 1396 Services 0 3,568 K
    svchost.exe 1424 Services 0 12,876 K
    Fuel.Service.exe 1544 Services 0 2,144 K
    svchost.exe 1716 Services 0 12,164 K
    PnkBstrA.exe 1788 Services 0 308 K
    PnkBstrB.exe 1944 Services 0 452 K
    svchost.exe 1164 Services 0 3,140 K
    svchost.exe 1264 Services 0 130,120 K
    TeamViewer_Service.exe 1668 Services 0 2,872 K
    WLIDSVC.EXE 1832 Services 0 2,688 K
    WLIDSVCM.EXE 2072 Services 0 136 K
    dwm.exe 2352 Console 1 35,384 K
    explorer.exe 2376 Console 1 72,820 K
    taskhost.exe 2428 Console 1 4,744 K
    SearchIndexer.exe 2768 Services 0 23,604 K
    NisSrv.exe 2816 Services 0 5,672 K
    XBoxStat.exe 2968 Console 1 3,884 K
    msseces.exe 3040 Console 1 2,128 K
    HydraDM.exe 2988 Console 1 2,248 K
    razerhid.exe 2120 Console 1 4,264 K
    HydraDM64.exe 2172 Console 1 1,824 K
    razertra.exe 3148 Console 1 1,572 K
    ServiceLayer.exe 3452 Services 0 3,280 K
    wmpnetwk.exe 3860 Services 0 13,536 K
    svchost.exe 1276 Services 0 3,400 K
    NclUSBSrv64.exe 4744 Services 0 4,300 K
    taskhost.exe 2924 Console 1 8,164 K
    audiodg.exe 4440 Services 0 15,904 K
    WmiPrvSE.exe 5452 Services 0 7,308 K
    cmd.exe 5048 Console 1 3,092 K
    conhost.exe 5624 Console 1 6,084 K
    SearchProtocolHost.exe 5256 Services 0 8,560 K
    SearchFilterHost.exe 4748 Services 0 6,840 K
    tasklist.exe 3236 Console 1 5,756 K
    Is there anything running that shouldn't be?
     
  9. Halfmead

    Halfmead Member Guru

    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    KFA2 GTX980 SOC @1.5/7600
    Seeing alot of good pics here..not a lot from MMO's..here is a couple from RIFT by Trion:

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  10. PirateNeilsouth

    PirateNeilsouth Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,773
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    980 OC
    Does anyone know when sweetfx configurator will be updated for the latest SweetFX shader?
     

  11. ninjafada

    ninjafada Master Guru

    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    pny 670
    R G B > red green blue

    you know to learn how the shaders work you have to experiment yourself
     
  12. QuadReaktor

    QuadReaktor Member Guru

    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward GTX680 2GB
    I Know what RGB means. I want to know the codes for the reds, greens and blues, does there exist a table ore something !?
     
  13. ninjafada

    ninjafada Master Guru

    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    pny 670
    it's not a hexa code if it that you mean
    more like a ratio
    it was explain when it was released

    #define RGB_Lift float3(1.000, 1.000, 1.000) //[0.000 to 2.000] Adjust shadows for Red, Green and Blue
    #define RGB_Gamma float3(1.000, 1.000, 1.000) //[0.000 to 2.000] Adjust midtones for Red, Green and Blue
    #define RGB_Gain float3(1.000, 1.000, 1.000) //[0.000 to 2.000] Adjust highlights for Red, Green and Blue

    so if you want to remove green in midtones without altering the contrast
    you do a #define RGB_Gamma float3(1.020, 0.960, 1.020)

    you want warmer light
    #define RGB_Gain float3(1.040, 1.020, 0.940)

    if you want darker shadow without correcting colors
    #define RGB_Lift float3(0.940, 0.940, 0.940)

    again it takes 15min to test values and see what happens
     
  14. ironail

    ironail New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GT540m
    dota 2

    new to sweetfx. tried it on dota2. i can notice a slight difference but to be sure i tried enabling the split screen comparison. tried setting the #define USE_SPLITSCREEN to 1 but still nothing.
    also... after installing this, when i alt-tab, dota 2 crashes.
    anyone esle have experienced this?:bang:
     
  15. xvt

    xvt Member

    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 Z
    This is a neat idea, tho I'm not sure jpeg is the best source to use for sweetfx calibration. If you could allow other less compromising formats like bmp or png that would be excellent!
    Maybe even add an option to load images through a menu down the road, just a thought.
     

  16. CeeJay.dk

    CeeJay.dk Master Guru

    Messages:
    686
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Radeon 6870
    Great! - also you should not scale the image, but rather let the user pan around in it if the window is larger than the screen.
    Fx. I see the image scaled because I have a 1680 x 1050 monitor.

    And as xvt points out, JPG is not very practical - especially because the injectSMAA injector creates BMPs and the InjectFXAA injector creates PNGs
     
  17. LesserHellspawn

    LesserHellspawn Master Guru

    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    3x Gigabyte GTX980ti
    That cartoon shader got me wondering if a shader is possible that makes those blasted celshaded games *less* cartoonish ? I hate that style with a passion, to the point of not buying a game solely because it uses that.
     
  18. ninjafada

    ninjafada Master Guru

    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    pny 670
    if you rename your screenshot.bmp or .png as testImage.jpg it will open
    the direct texture loading doesn't use the extension but the header in the file
    i still working on it to use the drag n drop on the exe to open the image

    i'm learning on the fly :p i used to code asm for robots lol
    but at least you have a working exe XD

    the size of the windows is resizable and scale auto but the size of the directx texture is 1920x1080(or1200)

    i can do a quick exe for lower resolution until i understand more XD
    i updated the DX9IV.7z with DX9IV-1680x1050.exe
     
    Last edited: Mar 21, 2013
  19. Dr.Puschkin

    Dr.Puschkin Member Guru

    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 980Ti SLi 1600/8000
    Is there a way to circumvent current "I don't want to be friends with fraps" issue?
     
  20. IAmGhostDog

    IAmGhostDog Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX R9 390
    SweetFX doesn't work with FRAPS anymore with Black Ops 2?
    Either won't initialize (Scroll Lock doesn't toggle effect) or crashes my game.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page