Star Tales Benchmark - version updated

Discussion in 'Benchmark Mayhem' started by ricardonuno1980, Jun 18, 2011.

  1. ricardonuno1980

    ricardonuno1980 Banned

    Messages:
    4,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780Ti Classified :D
    did you overclock on cpu and/or gpu? what's your temp on cpu/gpu?
    if your videocard got too hot (hotter than 75ºC) then do NOT overclock due to un-safe OC!

    I do never overclock for GTX 480 for no problems due to between 85 and 90ºC full-load! :p
     
    Last edited: Jun 21, 2011
  2. Arctucas

    Arctucas Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,099
    Likes Received:
    25
    GPU:
    eVGA RTX2080 FTW3
    Stock Superclock clocks and voltages; 763/1900, .950 Volts.

    It appears the benchmark cannot be run in windowed mode, so I was not watching the temperatures, although these cards usually run at around 99° at full load, 100% fan speed.

    Again, no overclock or overvolt on the cards, good chassis airflow.

    I take it, then, you believe the cards overheated and shutdown?
     
  3. ricardonuno1980

    ricardonuno1980 Banned

    Messages:
    4,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780Ti Classified :D
    yes, you overheated to shutdown.

    You must clean dust in your tower per each month because eVGA adviced me. ;)
     
  4. Arctucas

    Arctucas Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,099
    Likes Received:
    25
    GPU:
    eVGA RTX2080 FTW3
    Definitely an overheating issue.

    I ran another benchmark (TessMark) and had the same thing occur.

    It appears that although both cards get too hot (~99°) it is the RMA card eVGA sent me last December that is causing the problem.

    I checked the heatsink fins, and they are really clean, there is only a little dust on the fan blades.
     

  5. Xtreme1979

    Xtreme1979 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    26
    GPU:
    ROG Strix RTX 2070
    How do I get 1920x1080 resolution?
     
  6. ricardonuno1980

    ricardonuno1980 Banned

    Messages:
    4,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780Ti Classified :D
    1. you go "C:\Programs\QWD1\StarTalesBenchmark\StarTalesBenchmark\ExampleGame\Config" (XP x86) or "C:\Program Files (x86)\QWD1\StarTalesBenchmark\StarTalesBenchmark\ExampleGame\Config" (Vista x64 or Win7 x64)
    2. open "DefaultEngine.ini" (notepad) and edit in end of text:
    Code:
    ResX=1920
    ResY=1080
    3. close, apply read-only this file and run. thank you! :)

    NOTE: you don't forget uncheck read-only this file before run and change AA, motion blur... in this program config to test.
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2011
  7. Xtreme1979

    Xtreme1979 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    26
    GPU:
    ROG Strix RTX 2070
    Thanks, worked great.

    Youtube video with results at the end.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=lVbETnGOLWI&hd=1
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2011
  8. ricardonuno1980

    ricardonuno1980 Banned

    Messages:
    4,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780Ti Classified :D
    I can't read your result due to low quality video. therefore, you should capture picture for your result only. what's your setting (AA, DOF...)?? not default!?
     
    Last edited: Jun 25, 2011
  9. ricardonuno1980

    ricardonuno1980 Banned

    Messages:
    4,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780Ti Classified :D
    @Xtreme1979
    you got avg 88 fps on Nurien demo!?!?! woww!
    I can't normal performance with only avg 20 fps this demo running XP x86 and new spec. :( but I got avg 36 fps running old 8800GTS640 and CPU C2D E6600 in setember, 17 2008.
     
  10. Redemption80

    Redemption80 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    18,529
    Likes Received:
    264
    GPU:
    GALAX 970/ASUS 970
    On the GF's laptop, might try and run this on the CPU, see how it is on an i3....worried it might break it though, the fecker gets hot enough just on YouTube.

    Anyone know which version of PhysX this is using?
     

  11. rewt

    rewt Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    Yes
    Sorry double post
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2011
  12. rewt

    rewt Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    Yes
    This is true for 99% of games in existence.

    I used this link with Internet Download Manager
    http://nzone.download.nvidia.com/akdlm/dlm/StarTales_0330_PhysX_Updated.msi
     
    Last edited: Jun 26, 2011
  13. Xtreme1979

    Xtreme1979 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    26
    GPU:
    ROG Strix RTX 2070
    Well the video isn't low quality I suggest trying 1080p; although the results window they give is very small at my resolution. If you still can't see it please find the info below.

    Resolution is blank because it's custom 1920x1080

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
  14. ricardonuno1980

    ricardonuno1980 Banned

    Messages:
    4,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780Ti Classified :D
    I have geforce 275.33 driver. therefore, we already know what's version physx sw. and dont need which.
     
  15. ricardonuno1980

    ricardonuno1980 Banned

    Messages:
    4,407
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780Ti Classified :D
    low quality =/= low resolution but yes (much) blur/focus. ;)
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2011

  16. JEskandari

    JEskandari Master Guru

    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 660M
    Interestingly I use a GTX460 that overclocked to 790 - 2000 and I use the same setting as you my maximum frame-rate is 850 and my minimum is 23.3 but the average i get is as your average frame rate .
    I wonder when my min and max FPS is far less why my average FPS is the same

    ps. at last I managed to get a screen shot
    [​IMG]

    and by the way I wished my games also had this 96% of GPU Usage
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2011
  17. Arctucas

    Arctucas Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,099
    Likes Received:
    25
    GPU:
    eVGA RTX2080 FTW3
    With only one of my GTX460 (I had to RMA the other) @ stock SC clocks, 1920x1080, 16x AF, 4x AA, HDR, Motion Blur and DOF on:

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jun 27, 2011
  18. Xtreme1979

    Xtreme1979 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,328
    Likes Received:
    26
    GPU:
    ROG Strix RTX 2070
    You sure you have 4x AA turned on?

    Your full resolution image is pretty aliased:
    [​IMG]

    Mine @ 4x AA:
    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page