Standby memory reclaim service (game stuttering fix)

Discussion in 'Operating Systems' started by uKER, May 16, 2019.

  1. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,330
    Likes Received:
    189
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    The idea behind it is unused memory is a waste, so the idea is to cache as many apps that are used. The problem is it is not freeing up the memory fast enough, there should be a low limit on free memory and just clear the standby when needed.
     
  2. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,675
    Likes Received:
    987
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    standby memory isn't "Freed", it is loose mapped and can be directly overwritten when required.
     
  3. uKER

    uKER Member Guru

    Messages:
    158
    Likes Received:
    154
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX 2070
    The bug is that it's neither freed, nor is it reasiggned when other apps ask for memory, at least not before causing major stuttering.
     
    Jackalito likes this.
  4. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,675
    Likes Received:
    987
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    the stuttering has nothing to do with the application reuse of memory.

    the only mapping related issue in standbylist was already fixed, and that was that it would Zero before use, you don't "Zero" the standby cache because its available for immediate overwriting.

    the stuttering is an IO issue where standbylist doesn't go into dormancy and the kernel keeps allocating standby list as the application overwrites it.

    on 7 and 8, when memory pressure is a factor, the standby cache goes to sleep


    on another note, i've never experienced any standby list stuters, but i do keep an appropriate amount of memory and page file based on the memory loads i've seen.
     
    Last edited: Aug 8, 2019

  5. EDK-Rise

    EDK-Rise Member

    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    1080 GamingX
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2019
  6. Smough

    Smough Member Guru

    Messages:
    161
    Likes Received:
    21
    GPU:
    GTX 1060 3GB
    Is it not possible that someone from Guru3D could edit that service themselves and then provice a cmd command to change it or a registry edit?
     
  7. tsunami231

    tsunami231 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,717
    Likes Received:
    372
    GPU:
    EVGA 1070Ti Black
    im sure there people here that "could" would they want to? probably not seeing how easily windows 10 breaks then people would complain about that breaking something
     
    Smough likes this.
  8. Johnny Gibson

    Johnny Gibson New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX 1060 6GB EX OC
    In the real world there is a saying "Give em an inch they will take a mile" but in Windows world it is "Give em a MB and it will take a GB" 32 GB of ram will be no different than 16 GB as it might take a little longer but it will happen.
     
    Koniakki likes this.
  9. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,675
    Likes Received:
    987
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    I'm seeing posts pop up that this issue is fixed in the latest 1903 updates, anyone tested themselves?
     
  10. Koniakki

    Koniakki Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,843
    Likes Received:
    443
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GTX 1080Ti FE
    Remember any specific update packages mentioned so I can test if fixed?

    I honestly appreciate the guys who made those Standby mem cache/list cleaners but its has because a real hassle I would rather have not.
     
    Last edited: Oct 16, 2019

Share This Page