STALKER Lost Alpha thread

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by Labyrinth, Apr 4, 2014.

  1. GPU

    GPU Guest

    I found him in the dark using the light from the helo , er letting my flash light go dead ,[thinking CS] ,couldn't see any bodies to loot lol
     
  2. OutlawTuNeR

    OutlawTuNeR Member Guru

    Messages:
    150
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus STRIX GTX980TI-6GD5
    Full dynamic Lighting dx9 mode.
    In Dx10 only Sweetfx is working.
     
  3. harkinsteven

    harkinsteven Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,942
    Likes Received:
    119
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
  4. cerebus23

    cerebus23 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,489
    Likes Received:
    615
    GPU:
    evga 8800gts
    Community fixes are almost as big as the whole game sofar lol.

    keeping my 1.3 install too many fixes and mods to keep track of everything, just reinstall if the patch comes out and fixes the sutff that fixed and breaks new stuff.

    Been using the fort pistol form the bridge and the weapons mods crashes the game fyi shell error when you try to wield it and ctd.

    removed it can wield it normally wo crashing only one i have found sofar. ak 47 seems bugged also looking for a model shell that is missing when you try to fire it.


    One last go missed a file for particles in the mod and boom caused all the problems hopefully all back to normal.
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2014

  5. Pav4o

    Pav4o Member Guru

    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 7970@1025MHz
    Many thanks for the info!
     
  6. (.)(.)

    (.)(.) Banned

    Messages:
    9,094
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    Seems to be useless as the sky is far too bright. any ideas.

    Cheers man.
     
  7. harkinsteven

    harkinsteven Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,942
    Likes Received:
    119
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    Use the console ingame and type this : r2_tonemap_middlegray 0.5

    You can also tweak these values to lower the suns brightness.

    These are Lost Alphas default settings. Lowering the first value drops the overall brightness of the sun.

    r2_sun_lumscale 1.2
    r2_sun_lumscale_amb 0.25
    r2_sun_lumscale_hemi 0.75
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2014
  8. Pvfc-Epic

    Pvfc-Epic Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX560Ti DirectCU II
    can i install the v5 fixes into a vanilla LA install?

    or do i need the others first?

    thanks
     
  9. harkinsteven

    harkinsteven Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,942
    Likes Received:
    119
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    V5 contains all the fixes. Install it over a clean install.
     
  10. Lost Stalker

    Lost Stalker New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX680
    Long-time STALKER fan here...

    Great to finally be playing this game! The graphics look very impressive, too bad grass shadows are still botched in both HBAO (drawn right in front of player) and HDAO (missing), as in Call of Pripyat.

    Still, the lack of a working vsync is a big deal for me. I can force vsync on externally, and the framerate is capped at 60fps, but the tearing is still there.
    Has anyone found a fix for getting vsync to work properly in LA?
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2014

  11. Pvfc-Epic

    Pvfc-Epic Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,188
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX560Ti DirectCU II
    thanks alot fellow stalker :)
     
  12. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,143
    Likes Received:
    1,411
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    Grass shadows do have limited range, but thats not something glaring obvious, at least not to me + I have it off :nerd:

    Vsync has always been royal pain with STALKER series. Even more so with AMD than NV. Imagine my surprise now that Vsync (triple buffered) is working out-of-the-box in Lost Alpha on my R9 290.
    (BTW so does supersampling - ingame 2xMSAA(DX10.1) + CCC enhance Supersampling is very usable)
    I did not even mess with vsync, just left it at default LA settings (vsync unchecked, 60 Hz checked)

    90% of time I've spent messing with color brightness, contrast etc.
    :bang: :bang:

    r2_sun_luminance_*
    r2_tonemap_*
    (r2_ls_bloom_*)
     
  13. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,143
    Likes Received:
    1,411
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    that's not forcing vsync. thats vsync not working (let alone triple buff), and just having framecap
    tried D3Doverrider yet, nvinspector?
     
  14. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,251
    Likes Received:
    6,038
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    When can we expect first patch? I though someone said it's supposed to be today...?
     
  15. Lost Stalker

    Lost Stalker New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX680
    Poor choice of words there, but that's what I ment. :)
    Yep, I always use D3DOverrider for triple buffered vsync, and it works in all my other games, including previous STALKER games. I've also tried forcing vsync on with Nvidia Control Panel, but no go. Argh, tearing is so immersion breaking. I was hoping there was some obscure setting that could enable vsync for me in LA, since it works for some people - and not for others...
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2014

  16. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,143
    Likes Received:
    1,411
    GPU:
    2070 Super

    try removing any overlays if you have them, AB, steam, fraps, and any custom dlls (injection).
    you don't have anything custom going on in the background (Windows Desktop Manager is working?)

    STALKER vsync has always been weird for me, it either just works, or sometimes works, or I have to force it with D3Doverrider, or I can force it just sometimes... royal pain.
    you're not alone, i've heard people with Geforce cards complaining about LA vsync.
     
  17. Lost Stalker

    Lost Stalker New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia GTX680
    Ehrm, finally figured it out. Was getting a bit nervous there... :) I had enabled "Disable desktop composition" for the exe-file, and that was causing vsync to not work in Lost Alpha. I've done this in other games without affecting vsync, so didn't think of it at first. Oh well.. Now I can really start enjoying Lost Alpha. :)
    Thanks for the help.
     
    Last edited: May 1, 2014
  18. demon326

    demon326 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    4
    Hi all,

    i'm a bigtime stalker fan, got all of there games and also got the lost alpha one. Works pretty nice if it does not crash. However, i seem to have encounterd a game breaking bug: I need to steal a jacket from a drunken bandit, when i kill him, he does not have the jacket on him, if i speak to him, he says 'my mommy told me not to speak to strangers..' so anybody an idea howto solve this? :)
     
  19. harkinsteven

    harkinsteven Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,942
    Likes Received:
    119
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    You are not supposed to kill him. You have to search east of the bandit area for a bandit jacket and put it on to speak to the drunken bandit.
     
  20. demon326

    demon326 New Member

    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    4
    Aha, thank you!
     

Share This Page