Sound BlasterX AE-5

Discussion in 'Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats' started by angelgraves13, Jun 12, 2017.

  1. tokamar

    tokamar Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    na
    updated bios , change the sound card pcie slot, cleared the cmos, still does it. Darn it anyway.. Well think thats about it,nothing else I can do. Thanks for the info guys.
     
  2. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,371
    Likes Received:
    587
    GPU:
    Redacted by NDA
    Next stage is to contact Creative support, you may have a faulty card.
    Let them decide.
     
  3. tokamar

    tokamar Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    na
    Wow, Woke up this morning and started the computer and started to make coffee and what did I hear. My computer startup sound, I thought what the %$#@. So it's working again for some reason. Have know idea, maybe the IRQ got it right on the startup. I'm a happy camper anyway.
     
  4. Dragondale13

    Dragondale13 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    130
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 AMP! • H75

  5. LocoDiceGR

    LocoDiceGR Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,971
    Likes Received:
    548
    GPU:
    Gigabyte R9 380 4G
    Probably windows update installed a driver silently...
     
    Dragondale13 likes this.
  6. Dragondale13

    Dragondale13 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,411
    Likes Received:
    130
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 AMP! • H75
    Or this...win10 infamous ninja update.
     
    LocoDiceGR likes this.
  7. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,532
    Likes Received:
    320
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    Creative now lists the BXAE5_PCDRV_L13_3_2_24_0.exe driver on their site.

    It does look like whining about something helps. So happy that they made it so that speaker configuration doesn't reset to 5.1 when using headphones.

    This is the same as the Windows Update driver. Newer Sound Blaster Connect 2 app though.
     
    Last edited: Apr 30, 2018
    AsiJu likes this.
  8. tokamar

    tokamar Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    na
    i have windows update off. I checked and it's the same driver I installed last night. But nothing happened after I cleared the Cmos and took the sound and video card out and put the sound card back in a different pcie slot I rebooted the computer and it did not play any sound so I gave up by then.. So I thought I would just reinstall the newest driver at the time that I had on anyway and then watched tv for awhile and shut down and called it a night.. So it must have been reinstalling the driver after I did all IRQ changes with different pcie slots I guess.
     
  9. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,371
    Likes Received:
    587
    GPU:
    Redacted by NDA
    It being an IRQ issue is as much a guess as anything else, we have almost nothing to work with.
    Its mildly plausible, nothing should be discounted.

    ie
    If it works better in other pci-e slots it might be a problem with that slot.
     
  10. tokamar

    tokamar Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    na
    yes I never thought of that. A new computer as well.
     

  11. noidin

    noidin Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970 4G
    after upgrading windows to 1803, the microphone stopped working in all programs, but in the windows test it works.
    Has anyone had the same problem?
     
  12. harkinsteven

    harkinsteven Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,899
    Likes Received:
    80
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 ti
    Its something to do with app access in privacy for the mic. You need to enable it.
     
    insp1re2600 likes this.
  13. noidin

    noidin Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970 4G
    Dont work =/
    I need back to 1709 windows...

    Someone install windows 1803, and works fine ?
     
    Last edited: May 4, 2018
  14. maikai

    maikai Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,289
    Likes Received:
    44
    GPU:
    NVIDIA 1070 Ti FE
    Just picked up my 2nd AE-5 pure edition, the first ones rgb light on the card itself was non functional. Now the rgb light works on the replacement card and the led strips work but absolutely nothing I do will change the colors or patterns of the leds on the card itself or the led strips. They are all on but on like a default light blue/white color. I had this issue previous to 1803 and now on a 100% clean install on 1803 I am still experiencing the issue. I can't seem to find a single thread or topic of anyone else experiencing this issue. So yea Win 10x64 1803 and also on the previous fall creators update. Card is detected and installs just fine and the sound works, but it's as if nothing I do with the software works correctly. For instance I Can change the different preset EQ modes and it does nothing regardless of which speaker mode I have selected aka headphone 7.1, stereo etc. I am using the latest driver BXAE5_PCDRV_L13_3_2_24_0.exe. Any ideas?
     
  15. noidin

    noidin Member

    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 970 4G
    Here too, some times sound blaster connect dont work, mic dont work and i need back to win 10x64 1709...
     
    maikai likes this.

  16. harkinsteven

    harkinsteven Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,899
    Likes Received:
    80
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 ti
    Have you connected the molex power to the card?
     
  17. maikai

    maikai Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,289
    Likes Received:
    44
    GPU:
    NVIDIA 1070 Ti FE
    yea, I don't think the led strips would even light up if the molex power wasn't connected
     
  18. maikai

    maikai Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,289
    Likes Received:
    44
    GPU:
    NVIDIA 1070 Ti FE
    I had the same issue with 1709 though :(
     
  19. maikai

    maikai Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,289
    Likes Received:
    44
    GPU:
    NVIDIA 1070 Ti FE
    I'm seriously out of ideas here. I now looked and realized that the led lights on the card itself are no longer on, but the lighting strips are still on with a random color on here and there while the rest are still the blue/white hue. I suppose I could try it in another pc, but they are also running windows 10x64 and now also on 1803. I completely uninstalled the drivers and installed the original release driver and that didn't change a thing, so I am now back on the latest driver. Its crazy that i cant seem to find not one single post from someone experiencing the same lighting issue as me.
     
    Last edited: May 6, 2018
  20. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,371
    Likes Received:
    587
    GPU:
    Redacted by NDA
    It may be faulty.
    Contact Creative, its better than pulling your hair out :)
     

Share This Page