Sound blaster Z vs normal XFI Titanium which one is better ?

Discussion in 'Soundcards, Speakers HiFI & File formats' started by playst, Jan 2, 2013.

  1. yasamoka

    yasamoka Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,838
    Likes Received:
    237
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC
    If you're upgrading for the audio, sure why not. If you're upgrading for the FPS only, no way. If you're upgrading for both, enjoy the audio :p
     
  2. ati666

    ati666 Master Guru

    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte R9-290x Windforc
    thanks thats much appreciated
     
  3. yasamoka

    yasamoka Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,838
    Likes Received:
    237
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC
    You're welcome dude. Just don't give it too much thought. It's not going to make a practical difference.
     
  4. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    what you just described could be a real life scenario actually. but nobody runs games like that lol
     

  5. yasamoka

    yasamoka Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,838
    Likes Received:
    237
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC
    Dear Mr. clap clap,

    I really HOPE nobody runs games like that anno 2013. ESPECIALLY if he has ANY i7 and a 79xx card. LOL
     
  6. GenClaymore

    GenClaymore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,157
    Likes Received:
    70
    GPU:
    XFX 5700 XT Thic II
    I sure there are people out there running it at 800x600 on a 15 inch CRT.
     
  7. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    yeah... but we've all seen people reviewing cpu performance at 640x480 etc, up until quite recently when everyone was running 1080p etc.
     
  8. yasamoka

    yasamoka Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,838
    Likes Received:
    237
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC
    I get the same FPS until I cross 1280x720 or 1680x1050 at low. Medium loses FPS. Anything running above low will shift the bottleneck to the GPU. Running 800x600 on a low-end rig, I'd upgrade the rig CPU and mobo before anything. A high-end rig, there's no bottleneck even at low (I measured 8% diff, one case at high res was negative difference), and that's a good rig wasted.
     
  9. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,670
    Likes Received:
    400
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    Doesn't matter. Crysis is software audio game like 99% of games these days. Totally irrelevant example.
     
  10. yasamoka

    yasamoka Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,838
    Likes Received:
    237
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC
    Yes, but as you said, 99% of games are like that. I'd say it's a pretty relevant example, and had I had a soundcard in hand to show the difference, it would have shown 0 difference.

    Anyways, you should know the example is just for fun.

    Plus, this example can show how much audio processing can impact a CPU. Had this game supported Hardware Audio acceleration, you'd be seeing similar results to sound off, when using a soundcard that processes in HW. This shows how little benefit there is, and this is a dual threaded game even (obviously, it places its audio processing in one of these two cores too).
     
    Last edited: May 11, 2013

  11. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,670
    Likes Received:
    400
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    I've done test my self with X-Fi Forte, never managed to get any difference anywhere. The drivers and all the crap take processing too. Disabling sound completely will always give better performance than with it, be it hardware accelerated or software processed. Considering the X-Fi drivers now, I wouldn't be surprised if you get negative performance these days in Vista and above.
     
  12. yasamoka

    yasamoka Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,838
    Likes Received:
    237
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC
    100%. Offloading will never be perfect in HW-accelerated cases.
     
  13. ati666

    ati666 Master Guru

    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte R9-290x Windforc
    dude dont forget I am waiting for the numbers...
     
  14. yasamoka

    yasamoka Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,838
    Likes Received:
    237
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC
    I still didn't finish my tests. May 22 I'll be done.
     
  15. ati666

    ati666 Master Guru

    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte R9-290x Windforc
    so, where is it? its May 23rd..
     

  16. yasamoka

    yasamoka Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,838
    Likes Received:
    237
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC
    Give me a break, would you?

    The card isn't mine.

    What games would you like me to bench? I can't bench everything.
     
  17. ati666

    ati666 Master Guru

    Messages:
    465
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte R9-290x Windforc
    1. UT3
    2. Crysis 3
    3. Crysis 1
    4. Unreal 2
    5. Homeworld 2 and Homeworld 1
    6. Starcraft 2
    7. NFS hot pusuit 2010
    8. NFS most wanted 2012
    9. lost planet 2
    10. Mass effect 1, 2 and 3
    11. Doom3
    12. Quake 4
    13. X3 Reunion
    14. halo 1& 2
    15. F E A R
     
    Last edited: May 23, 2013
  18. yasamoka

    yasamoka Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,838
    Likes Received:
    237
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC
    Which of these has a benchmarking tool / option?
    Others might take time / not be possible since I'll have to make a fixed sequence / timedemo.
     
  19. GenClaymore

    GenClaymore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,157
    Likes Received:
    70
    GPU:
    XFX 5700 XT Thic II
    UT3 has a benchmark tool here http://olrac.org/ut3bench ,
    Crysis and lost planet 2 both come with their own benchmarking tool. Doom 3 and Quake 4 might have 3rd party bench but I recall both having a timedemo console command that you type in,Seems like its the same for Unreal 2. You might have to run a time demo manually with the mass effect series.

    Also Make sure you change the sound to OpenAL in the games, rather manually thru the ini if the line is there or in the game.
     
  20. yasamoka

    yasamoka Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,838
    Likes Received:
    237
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC
    Thank you, GenClaymore. I will make sure to run OpenAL.

    I guess the majority of the games listed use software-based audio?
     

Share This Page