[Solved]What is wrong with NV drivers? DPC Latency

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce Drivers Section' started by X7007, Jan 11, 2020.

  1. X7007

    X7007 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,495
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    Inno3D 1080GTX
    [​IMG]

    since some of the 44x ver.
    Also using Prefer Maximum Performance.
    Almost every single power saving is disabled. it's only NV driver.
     
  2. S3r1ous

    S3r1ous Active Member

    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    Palit 1070Ti JS
    Interesting, seems fine for me
    then again i am using "clean" version of the drivers and pixel clock patcher
    maybe something unique to your setup
    [​IMG]
     
  3. ShadowDuke

    ShadowDuke Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,850
    Likes Received:
    402
    GPU:
    MSI Gaming 970
    Its your setup not the driver persé, cause thats fine!
     
  4. Cyberdyne

    Cyberdyne Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,400
    Likes Received:
    189
    GPU:
    2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra
    441.87 latest version. Full install, no cleaning, even with GFE. Windows 10 1903, if that helps. I normally don't run this software anymore, so no effort was put into getting a 'good' result. Mostly because I think it's pointless. As I press "Post Reply" for this thread latencymon is at 9 minutes and the highest reported DPC is at 492 now.

    [​IMG]

    Maybe try version 6.71 of the software? You're using 6.70. Not sure that will make a difference.
     

  5. Smough

    Smough Master Guru

    Messages:
    376
    Likes Received:
    57
    GPU:
    GTX 1060 3GB
    Are you aware that you must open the program with anything you have opened at that moment, then just leave it alone to get a correct latency measure, right?
     
  6. Cyberdyne

    Cyberdyne Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,400
    Likes Received:
    189
    GPU:
    2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra
    How do you think people here are using the program?
     
    insp1re2600 likes this.
  7. SyntaX

    SyntaX Member Guru

    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    Gainward GTX 1080
    Running Win10 19041 with 445.23, looks good here.
    [​IMG]
     
  8. Nastya

    Nastya Member Guru

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    Strix 2080 Ti OC
    [​IMG]

    No such anomaly here, either. 441.87, 1809 LTSC.
    CPU and GPU run with all usual power saving features.

    Looks like your tweaking went awry.
     
  9. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    1,590
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    playing games and browsing the web, and thats not a thought, i know thats how people are misusing LatencyMon
     
    Smough likes this.
  10. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    1,590
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    This is something physical/hardware.

    Pull the card from the machine, clean the slot and card connector with air and an eraser respectively.

    Remount and retest.

    The only time i've seen dpc that high is when the slot/card were failing power state commands and staying stuck at gen 1.1
     

  11. Cyberdyne

    Cyberdyne Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,400
    Likes Received:
    189
    GPU:
    2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra
    That would give artificially worse results, right? Other than OP, everyone's results are fine. That's why I said 'people here'.
     
  12. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,666
    Likes Received:
    1,641
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    No gpu latency issue either, but I have lan issues.. ?

    I tweaked with speedguide.net tool, also enabled large lan cache.. can that be it?

    [​IMG]

    it's still in the green zone though, will try newer driver now.
     
  13. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    1,590
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    usually thats due to interrupt moderation doing interrupts in batches.

    your cpu should b e strong enough to just turn that off.
     
  14. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,666
    Likes Received:
    1,641
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Do you mean in LAN config? although I always had adaptive, its default intel recommended.

    [​IMG]


    or here? I have it like so atm,
    [​IMG]


    this is opt. default
    [​IMG]


    EDIT: ok i installed new driver and reset to optimized default there in speedguide.net and I cut it in half.. Guess this is ok now? :)

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2020
  15. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,354
    Likes Received:
    1,590
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    yeah, much
     
    -Tj- likes this.

  16. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,666
    Likes Received:
    1,641
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Turned off interrupt and this is it. lol thanks

    [​IMG]
     
  17. X7007

    X7007 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,495
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    Inno3D 1080GTX
    You can use Interrupt, just don't use Adaptive. it causes high DPC with Intel cards.

    Depends on your connection speed you might not be able to reach your maximum download speed. An interrupt Moderation is a must if you have high download speed and low upload speed. if you have enough upload speed or low download speed then you don't have to use it at all and have best latency without delay packets and ACK.

    I have Mallenox card and have way more settings and mixing of defeating the DPC on Network drivers and OS. all the Data goes through the CPU on the Network card.

    Also, see if you have RSC option. it should reduce the DPC a lot.

    https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/previous-versions/windows/it-pro/windows-server-2012-r2-and-2012/hh997024(v=ws.11)


    hmm.. after more testing. Do not enable that from TcpOptimizer

    Network Memory allocation
    Large System Cache


    LAN large file transfers to allow the cache to expand beyond 8MB. However, some ATI videocards may have a driver issue with corrupt cache and degraded application performance with this enabled, so, for gaming, we recommend to leave it at zero/off.

    Size: 1 minimizes used memory, 2 balances used memory, 3 is the optimal setting for file sharing and network applications


    I put it on Enabled and Optimized

    Now it's Disabled and I get better Low and average DPC

    Also, I still have the Nvidia driver jumps, but it only happened when I opened Chrome with like 100 tabs. so it's understanding.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Jan 11, 2020
    -Tj- likes this.
  18. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,666
    Likes Received:
    1,641
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Thanks, What would be optimal then, medium?
    Because yeah i have down 200 up 6 ..

    I've also disabled that lan, saw issues with it one time by one game.
     
  19. X7007

    X7007 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,495
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    Inno3D 1080GTX
    It usually also depends on your modem. Try medium or Extreme. only options.
     
  20. TheDeeGee

    TheDeeGee Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,412
    Likes Received:
    778
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070
    I find these programs so pointless if your gaming experience is smooth.
     
    Smough likes this.

Share This Page