Softmod doesn't stick?

Discussion in 'RivaTuner Advanced Discussion forum' started by IceMole, Nov 2, 2004.

  1. mscbuck

    mscbuck Active Member

    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Connect3D ATI Radeon x800XL
    Chalk me up with the same problem with a BFG 6800OC 128MB.

    Shows the 12x1, 5vp --- but under the NVSTrap tab, it's 16x1 6vp
     
  2. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,585
    Likes Received:
    1,688
    mscbuck

    Guys, please stop cloning such postings containing 0% of useful information. It is already clean that new BFG/Dell/Leadteks have some hardware changes and _cannot_ be softmodded (at least now).
    I have no info about changes, which has been made in new 6800, as well as I don't have such board for investigation in my testlab. So prepare yourself to the fact that probably you'll never be able to mod it.
     
    Last edited: Nov 29, 2004
  3. Scape

    Scape Guest

    I could send you my club 3d 6800 le if you want!!!!
     
  4. Lunatixxx

    Lunatixxx Guest

    So it's the new NV41- not the NV40, and the pipes are physical locked, so we're ┬┤never be able to unlock they... :mad:

    greetz from ger
    Chrissi
     

  5. Scape

    Scape Guest

    nv41? why does riva tuner reply :
    RivaTuner.exe /rr101000 /rr10100C
    ============================================
    256-bit NV40

    if this is the NEW NV41?
    i thought that the nv41 is the pci-e edition of the 6800?!
    and 6800 has 12 pixelpipelines...
    the problem is also by the 6800le versions...
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 29, 2004
  6. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,585
    Likes Received:
    1,688
    It is NOT NV41.
     
  7. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,585
    Likes Received:
    1,688
    Unfortutately I cannot pay you anything for it as well as I cannot pay for transporting. If it is not a problem for you - it would be nice.
     
  8. Scape

    Scape Guest

    no problem. send me your adress via mail. i send you the card and a "way home" ticket!
    if you find something out and you could solve the problem, everybody will be happy :)
    if not...we try it at least :)
     
  9. Lunatixxx

    Lunatixxx Guest

    isn't it? :( So then I hope Unwinder will help us :)

    Chrissi
     
  10. whoa

    whoa Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    noooo crap. i just got the BFG from the best buy deal and looks like it doesnt stick either but the PNY i had did.
     

  11. loonee

    loonee New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PCI-E 6800 GTO 16P, 6V!
    Last edited: Dec 2, 2004
  12. arcon

    arcon Member

    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 465 & 8800 GT
    lo

    what about hw-modding?
    Found this link "http://www.pcunleash.com/bbs/zboard.php?id=MyItemReview&no=39"

    doesn't seems so different to cpu-hw-mod ... only need of a scalpel and silver enamel.... I do not know perhaps i will try at weekend.

    cu
     
  13. loonee

    loonee New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    PCI-E 6800 GTO 16P, 6V!
    I did the BIOS flash , then re-installed my 66.81 moddified drivers and worked. 16P, 6V! Also modded to say GTO instead of 6800 Series GPU.
     
  14. Marwel

    Marwel Guest

    Hi,

    i have a Gainward 6800LE which is unsoftmodable and I flash 3 other BIOS on the Card an try the softmod again, but I have only bad results. :(
     
  15. Lunatixxx

    Lunatixxx Guest

    Hey arcon, sag mal bescheid, ob es funktioniert hat ;)

    Chrissi
     

  16. Michigan Golfer

    Michigan Golfer Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG 6800 OC 128MB
    BFG 6800 OC info - just as reference

    Great forum and thread. I have always been an overclocker/tinkerer, and it's nice to see so many getting into the guts of hardware. :) Thanks.

    I did not see anyone post the BFG 6800 OC info yet (I have the nVidia 66.93 drivers installed). So here it is for reference. I will run the same commands as indicated (with arguments) and provide those. Again, if not for anything but having them, for reference.

    $ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
    $ffffffffff NVIDIA specific display adapter information
    $ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
    $0100000000 Graphics core : NV40 revision A1 (12x1,5vp)
    $0100000001 Hardwired ID : 0041 (ROM strapped to 0041)
    $0100000002 Memory bus : 256-bit
    $0100000003 Memory type : DDR (RAM configuration 06)
    $0100000004 Memory amount : 131072KB
    $0100000005 Core clock : 351.000MHz
    $0100000006 Memory clock : 351.000MHz (702.000MHz effective)
    $0100000007 Reference clock : 27.000MHz
    $010000000b HW masked units : pixel 0100b, vertex 001000b
    $ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
    $ffffffffff NVIDIA VGA BIOS information
    $ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
    $1100000000 Title : nv40 p212 sku0 VGA BIOS
    $1100000002 Version : 5.40.02.12.65
    $1100000001 BMP version : 5.28
    $1100000100 BIT version : 1.00
    $1100010000 Perf. level 0 : 350MHz/350MHz/1.20V
    $1100020000 VID bitmask : 00000011b
    $1100020100 Voltage level 0 : 1.10V, VID 00000000b
    $1100020101 Voltage level 1 : 1.20V, VID 00000001b
    $1100020102 Voltage level 2 : 1.40V, VID 00000010b
    $1100000003 SW masked units : none
    $ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
    $ffffffffff NVIDIA graphics processor registers
    $ffffffffff ---------------------------------------------------
    $020100003c CR3C : 00000068
    $0200000000 NV_PMC_BOOT_0 : 440100a1
    $0200001080 NV_PBUS_DEBUG_0 : 00000000
    $0200001084 NV_PBUS_DEBUG_1 : 00205609
    $0200001088 NV_PBUS_DEBUG_2 : 000211f0
    $020000108c NV_PBUS_DEBUG_3 : 00000092
    $02000010b0 NV_PBUS_DEBUG_CTRIM_0 : 00000092
    $02000010b4 NV_PBUS_DEBUG_CTRIM_1 : 00000092
    $02000010b8 NV_PBUS_DEBUG_CTRIM_2 : 00000092
    $02000010bc NV_PBUS_DEBUG_CTRIM_3 : efffffff
    $02000010c4 NV_PBUS_DEBUG_CTRIM_4 : efffffff
    $02000010c8 NV_PBUS_DEBUG_CTRIM_5 : efffffff
    $02000010cc NV_PBUS_DEBUG_CTRIM_6 : efffffff
    $02000010e0 NV_PBUS_DEBUG_PRIV_ASRC : 00000000
    $0200100000 NV_PFB_BOOT_0 : 00000000
    $0200100080 NV_PFB_DEBUG_0 : f1000020
    $0200100200 NV_PFB_CFG : 03003023
    $020010020c NV_PFB_CSTATUS : 08000000
    $0200100220 NV_PFB_TIMING0 : 050a1110
    $0200100224 NV_PFB_TIMING1 : 05010407
    $0200100228 NV_PFB_TIMING2 : 00240305
    $02001002c0 NV_PFB_MRS : 00000042
    $02001002c4 NV_PFB_EMRS : 00100046
    $0200101000 NV_PEXTDEV_BOOT_0 : a0ced09b
    $0200101004 NV_PEXTDEV_BOOT_0_AND : 7e0f403f
    $0200101008 NV_PEXTDEV_BOOT_0_OR : 00c09080
    $020010100c NV_PEXTDEV_BOOT_1 : 80000090
    $0200101010 NV_PEXTDEV_BOOT_1_AND : 7fffffef
    $0200101014 NV_PEXTDEV_BOOT_1_OR : 00000010
    $020060081c NV_PCRTC_GPIO_EXT : 06005604
    $0200680500 NV_PRAMDAC_NVPLL_COEFF : 00041303
    $0200680570 NV_PRAMDAC_NVPLL_COEFF_1 : 80000e03
    $0200680504 NV_PRAMDAC_MPLL_COEFF : 40033c28
    $0200680574 NV_PRAMDAC_MPLL_COEFF_1 : 00000401
    $020068050c NV_PRAMDAC_PLL_COEFF_SELECT : 10004704
    $0200001540 NV40_UNITS_CFG : 0001370b
    $0200004004 NV40_PRAMDAC_NVPLL_COEFF : 0d020401
    $0200004000 NV40_PRAMDAC_NVPLL_COEFF_1 : c001001c
    $0200004024 NV40_PRAMDAC_MPLL_COEFF : 0d020401
    $0200004020 NV40_PRAMDAC_MPLL_COEFF_1 : e000001c
    $020000c010 NV40_UNITS_MASK_DEFAULT : 01080000
    $020000c020 NV40_UNITS_MASK : 00000000
     
  17. Michigan Golfer

    Michigan Golfer Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG 6800 OC 128MB
    I forgot to mention, I have a friend who has the exact same card (BFG 6800 OC) and got it a day before me (at BB).

    His stock settings were 12 pipes and 6 vertex units - which I found interesting, since stock 6800nu's are 12 pipes and 5 vertext units.

    He could not get his pipes to stick at 16 (and I of course could not get either my pipes nor vertex units to stick).

    I have asked him to provide his info (as well as physical card markings) so we can compare.
     
  18. casmino

    casmino Guest


    I just bought an ASUS v9999 6800 Gamers Edition and i got exactly the same problem anyone know how to fix?
     
  19. ddoggma

    ddoggma Member

    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire 3850/512
    First much props to Unwinder, good work man. I used RT15.2 to get my pipes open... it worked. Showed em enabled and in the RT slot as NV40 16x1/6vp etc. Was thrilled. Tested D3 it rocked much mo better. Was all happy thought I'd update my drivers that came with the card "BFG 6800oc"That also went well with improved IQ in 2d,3d etc and better fps. Man I was flying high. Then went to marvel at the sight of my opened pipes in RT..... and there gone. Back to 12/5, and now wont budge. First I had the 61.21s loaded, and they opened. Then I lost em somewheres along the way to loading the 66.93 driver. Rebooted many times trying to get anything open. then went back to the 61.21s and tryed with them to reopen them...nope. So I went back up to the 66.93s I'm to much of a noob to help you out, but I'll keep reading and see what happens with the cards and softmod. Heres a pix of some RT info: http://www.afoclan.com/afoforum/photos/get-photo.asp?photoid=1004
     
  20. Michigan Golfer

    Michigan Golfer Member

    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG 6800 OC 128MB
    ddoggma,

    Did you use DriverCleaner when you re-installed the 61.21's?

    If not, give that a try before installing the 61.21's and see if that helps.
     

Share This Page