Socket 939 single to dual core?

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by Diamond15, Oct 29, 2007.

  1. Diamond15

    Diamond15 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI Radeon 1900XT 512mb
    Hello,

    I still got a socket 939 motherboard with an athlon 64 3700+. My local pc shop gets the x2 4800+ for socket 939 this week or next week. Because amd stopped producing these s939 cpu's i assume that the price will be very low.

    My question is: Will i get a decend performance boost in games as well as in windows xp? Would you guys advice me to buy it?

    I can play crysis at high but it slows down sometimes when a house explodes because of the physics. I hope the x2 4800+ gives a nice boost because it would be a very cheap upgrade.

    Thx in advance.
     
  2. scatman839

    scatman839 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,131
    Likes Received:
    533
    GPU:
    1080, KD55XD800
    Don't exect the pice to be low because AMD stopped producing, it's a shop, and the chips will be rare.

    However, it does speed things up a bit, I went from a similar CPU to an Opteron 180.
     
  3. alphaphotek

    alphaphotek Master Guru

    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x MSI GTX 260 SLI
    I am wondering the same thing, cause the cpu's are cheap but would it be worth it? or should I just save that money for a quad core?
     
  4. Mad Cow

    Mad Cow Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire+HIS X1950 PRO Crossfire+OC
    From my tests, Crysis physics are incredibly CPU heavy. The framerate practically halved from low to medium physics on the built-in CPU benchmark with my 3500+. You should see a pretty big difference with a 4800+.
     

  5. scoutingwraith

    scoutingwraith Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,457
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    eVGA 1080
    The Crysis Demo is Single-Threaded so no he will not see the difference.

    Though on the retail game it will be Multi-threaded.
     
  6. Mad Cow

    Mad Cow Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,097
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire+HIS X1950 PRO Crossfire+OC
    Not true, I've seen many CPU usage graphs with the demo and all cores were being used, even with quad core. Not completely used, but still used.
     
  7. scoutingwraith

    scoutingwraith Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,457
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    eVGA 1080
    Hmm....then do this.

    Go into your BIOS and disable one of the cores (and no i am not talking about the affinity in the task manager since that is a completely different thing) and then play the demo. It is the same thing.
     
  8. jiu-jitsuGOD

    jiu-jitsuGOD Banned

    Messages:
    1,556
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    quad sli8800GTX @826/2900 :) (H2o)
    the demo is single threaded... or crytek flat out lied to use bottom line.. its suppose to scale with multi core cpu dynamically.. disable 3 of my cores and my FPS stay the same.. its single threaded or crytek are complete liars.. I say its single threaded..
     
  9. Diamond15

    Diamond15 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI Radeon 1900XT 512mb
    As long as it's multi threaded in the full game it's fine by me.

    Thanks for the info.
     
  10. alphaphotek

    alphaphotek Master Guru

    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x MSI GTX 260 SLI
    so would a quad core intel be much faster than a dual core amd (socket 939)? I just don't want to switch to intel, or get a new mobo and ram for socket am2.
     

  11. Diamond15

    Diamond15 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,040
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI Radeon 1900XT 512mb
  12. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    According to RT both my cores were at around 75% in Crysis.

    Overall I don't think you'll notice much difference in games unless you're playing games that are tailored towards multi core cpu's.

    But if you like to play games and run other apps such as WinAmp at the same time, you'll definitely notice the difference.

    If you want to save money, buy a 3800 and oc it to 2400mhz. Easy OC.
     
    Last edited: Nov 1, 2007
  13. king_dilly

    king_dilly Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG 7800 GTX 256mb
    the 3800 is stock 2400..i got mine stable to 2.8 with a ventmod and 2 volcano 12 fans. i have the a pcpitstop link to show it as well..an excellent cpu as far as single cored go.
     
  14. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    I was referring to the X2 3800
     
  15. king_dilly

    king_dilly Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG 7800 GTX 256mb
    ahh that makes sense
     

  16. Classic Satch

    Classic Satch Banned

    Messages:
    4,777
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2xEVGA GTX 260 216 SC
    If you can grab one for a very low price, I say do it. Almost all of today's games are still GPU-limited and you can use it until the Nehalems come out next year. Just my two cents.....
     
  17. Maj.Havok

    Maj.Havok Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI x1950 xt 256mb
    Clocked mine to 2300(first OC :nerd:) you say 2400 can be done no problems, what about 2.5?

    BTW my +3800 has been able to run all the resent demos and games with out much of a hitch, so I would also say if you have a 939 mobo get the +3800($60) or even the +4200 ($70),they will last you awhile...IMO :)

    Wow, pricegrabber shows the +4800@$230 :eek3: Is that right?
     
  18. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    To be completely honest, I don't even really consider 2400Mhz to be overclocked it's that easy. It's been at that speed since I bought it around6-8 mths ago. I don't even run it a stock voltage - I'm only giving it 1.325 volts. Stock on my board is 1.35v. I have two friends with the same CPU and they also have theirs clocked to 2400mhz

    I've seen a few at 2.7Ghz. I don't know what the limit is.

    If you're talking about PriceSpy in NZ, the 4200's are $220.
     
    Last edited: Nov 2, 2007
  19. stormy

    stormy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,655
    Likes Received:
    46
    GPU:
    Pulse RX5600XT
  20. Maj.Havok

    Maj.Havok Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATI x1950 xt 256mb

Share This Page