So about all this overclocking jazz...

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by guitars69, May 23, 2006.

1. guitars69

guitars69 New Member

GPU:
    MSI Geforce FX 5900 128MB
    hi all, "I'm new here" (seems to be the most used phrase for us newbies) anyways...

I've got a MSI NVIDIA GeForce FX 5900 with 128MB RAM (8xAGP) in my computer. I'm curious what overclocking really does for people. I know benchmarking results will say yes it's better, but in real world performance playing say Counter Strike: Source... What would I gain from overclocking?

Am I just gonna' get some higher FPS? Will I be able to turn up some features and maintain my average FPS? Will not naked ladies pop out of my screen?

Secondly, what does turning my card into a Quadro FX series card with a softmod accomplish? I am a 3D modeler so I do use Max and Maya sometimes (I have a degree but haven't really used it) so i'm not just a gamer. I used to own a Quadro 750XGL but it fried because my fan froze up. (stuck a card right next to it and it ended up getting too dusty... long story short, I replaced it with this 5900 a few years back)

Thanks in advance.

2. Loki91

Loki91 Maha Guru

GPU:
    nVIDIA 8800GTS 512MB @670
    welcome to guru3d.