Small hack could improve Cyberpunk 2077 perf for gamers on certain AMD processors

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Dec 14, 2020.

  1. Kool64

    Kool64 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    396
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX2070S
    lol thanks for this. My old age must be catching up to me as I could not for the life of me figure out why I could not find the value.
     
  2. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,574
    Likes Received:
    233
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    8GB VRAM here but this is what I get [2020-12-14 14:00:30.078] [info] Using 4GB of VRAM

    I guess VRAM is overrated.
     
  3. CPC_RedDawn

    CPC_RedDawn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,487
    Likes Received:
    845
    GPU:
    6800XT Nitro+ SE
    My finding with my 3900X

    Without hack - optimised settings 1440p = 41fps - 85fps (90+fps when looking at the sky)

    With hack - optimised settings 1440p = 45fps - 85fps (90+fps when looking at the sky)

    So a very slight uplift in minimums but nothing really changing. I benchmarked this on a run around the most busy part of the city where I did 2 laps around an entire block and then proceeded to get out the car and walk through a dense busy market area.

    I used the digital foundary optimised settings for 1440p but I also use AMD FidelityFX static resolution at 70% in order to maintain above 60fps average. During really intense fights is where it can drop into the 40's. Oh and I also have crowd density on medium. This can be found the game tab in the options menu under performance, this should be relocated to the graphics options menu.
     
  4. suty455

    suty455 Master Guru

    Messages:
    455
    Likes Received:
    172
    GPU:
    Nvidia 3090
    Meh Games garbage have asked for a refund on Steam will repurchase once the bugs are sorted and the price drops, disappointed tbh modern games just dont have the same playability of the older titles like UT2004 its too serious all I want to do is blow crap and people up:)
     

  5. Alessio1989

    Alessio1989 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,926
    Likes Received:
    532
    GPU:
    .
    I tend to not trust about "some users". You can check the CPU model via specific proprietary mask on CPUID. If it has been disabled, they may have good reasons.
     
  6. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,049
    Likes Received:
    3,580
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    jura11, HandR and Alessio1989 like this.
  7. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,049
    Likes Received:
    3,580
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    "They" didn't,

    AMD did it themselves, CDP is only using a GPUOpen library that AMD has failed to update for Ryzen.
     
    Neo Cyrus and HandR like this.
  8. Alessio1989

    Alessio1989 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,926
    Likes Received:
    532
    GPU:
    .
  9. Kool64

    Kool64 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,036
    Likes Received:
    396
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX2070S
    I tried both of the known tweaks (the EXE and memory pool) and got no perceivable change with my 3700X and 2070s
     
  10. jura11

    jura11 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,477
    Likes Received:
    549
    GPU:
    GTX1080 Ti 1080 FE

  11. TalentX

    TalentX Member Guru

    Messages:
    119
    Likes Received:
    55
    GPU:
    MSI RTX3090 SuprimX
    This method worked out for me, and it gave me a plus of about minimum 10-15 fps on my Ryzen 5900X. All threads are being utilized. That's remarkable. Though my CPU is getting hotter in exchange *shrug*
     
  12. Hog54

    Hog54 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,178
    Likes Received:
    34
    GPU:
    Asus Tuf RTX 3070
    Why would anybody want the cpu to run 100% in the game if you dont need it to? My 5600x runs the game just fine at 50%.
     
  13. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,574
    Likes Received:
    233
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    I think you've missed the point here.
     
  14. Wault

    Wault Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    Vega64 LC 1722-1125
    I didn't patch the exe but I use PerformanceOvehaul, and I played only 15mn.

    Like many, I play on Ultra, but disabled grain and occlusion[...]. And the cascadedshadows are at low. I play on FullHD no vsync nor freesync. The native wQHD resolution of my monitor is too taxing for my Vega64 LC. :-(

    I would say that I defenetly saw something.
    - my CPU (3800X) was used at 60% max sometimes. Before, it never spiked above 45% (I played 25 hours before)
    - the system RAM used bumped from 8GB to over 9GB
    - the mouse control seemed very more "fluid". I can't explain, but before, even at 60FPs or more the mouse movements felt "sluggish" (I hope I use the good word) most of the time. After the MOD, 60FPS seemed more like 60FPS !
    - although my FPs are mostly on 55-60FPs, I saw 70FPs poping one time on my AfterBurner interface. It never ever happened before : it was between 45 and 65 max.

    Disclaimer : what I said is not scientific at all. I will play sometimes later and have a better look at the differences (and it will not be more scientific :p ).

    The game is somewhat pretty nonetheless. And I really like playing it.
     
  15. Hog54

    Hog54 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,178
    Likes Received:
    34
    GPU:
    Asus Tuf RTX 3070
    No I didnt miss the point. The game runs perfectly fine on my computer as it is. Why would I want to fuss with it?
     

  16. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,574
    Likes Received:
    233
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    It would most likely run better if it was being better utilized.
     
  17. crashburn162

    crashburn162 Active Member

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    MSI 1080 Ti Wc
    On ryzen 9 5900x with 1080Ti there is no difference in fps at all.
     
  18. theoneofgod

    theoneofgod Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,574
    Likes Received:
    233
    GPU:
    RX 580 8GB
    lows?
     
  19. rl66

    rl66 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,817
    Likes Received:
    334
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 580X SE
    With patch i have it buggy with no gain, with today's update it run fine.
    I keep it original (Ryzen 3900X + X570)
     
  20. cucaulay malkin

    cucaulay malkin Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    577
    GPU:
    107001070
    check digital foundry's new video on optimal settings,you'll be above 60 with little to no IQ degradation
     

Share This Page