Sikkmod v1.2 Released

Discussion in 'Game Tweaks and Modifications' started by EL1TE, Sep 4, 2011.

  1. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,984
    Likes Received:
    1,843
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Wow nice Job!! :thumbup:



    Btw i think i had some issues with your earlier rls, if i changed parameters they kinda defaulted to your custom cfg setting?

    Is this some custom cfg fault? Or maybe it was because I coped over and not used vanilla doom3? Thanks :)
     
  2. NiukNiuk

    NiukNiuk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,057
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R6950 twin frozr II
    Well the game settings are stored in:
    Autoexec.cfg which, as its names implies, is loaded automatically everytime, and has high priority, and in Doom3config.cfg, the standard one.

    So if you had problems with config files, edit autoexec.cfg (open it with notepad) and remove the faulty setting, or easier: simply delete them, Doom3config.cfg will be recreated the next time you'll launch the game.
    But you'll have to remap your keys and modify your video settings again.

    BTW I've completely changed the way my modpack works now:
    Before it was simply unpacked folders (textures/models etc) that you had to put in your Base and Sikkmod folders

    Now I've changed that and reverted to good old .pk4 files

    That's why I advised everyone who wants to download my modpack and has already a previous version of it, to uninstall everything (or for the more experimented: clean manually the sikkmod and texturemod folders), and then install my modpack on a clean, vanilla Doom3 install.

    EDIT: yay, 2000 posts :)
     
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2012
  3. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,984
    Likes Received:
    1,843
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Great, yes I think it was autoexec fault. I was testing some HDR/bloom/blur parameters and every time i changed them ingame it defaulted to your values.

    anyway thanks and thanks for this handy pack, also congrats lol :D
     
  4. NiukNiuk

    NiukNiuk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,057
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R6950 twin frozr II

  5. gridiron whirlw

    gridiron whirlw Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,875
    Likes Received:
    42
    GPU:
    GTX 570 SLI
    :gape: Holy Mother of God!
     
  6. ALien8ed

    ALien8ed Master Guru

    Messages:
    273
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 780 Ti SLI
    Fantastic work as always NiukNiuk, much appreciated... ;)
     
  7. Valken

    Valken Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    126
    GPU:
    Forsa 1060 3GB Temp GPU
    Thanks NiukNiuk! Time to upgrade! :D
     
  8. NiukNiuk

    NiukNiuk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,057
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R6950 twin frozr II
    You're welcome guys :)

    I just hope that I didn't mess anything in my mod pack :nerd:


    Oh and the texture fix posted earlier goes in the same folder ("Base") as where is wulfen's texturemod .pk4
    It fixes a bug between the parallax shader and some lights on some doors and some floor textures.

    UPDATE:

    Something I've been trying to put together:
    I've edited RangerMcFriendly (Phrozo) Particles Mod (Link) to work with Sikkmod without interfering with its settings.

    Give it a try (keep in mind that it's "experimental" ^^):
    http://www.mediafire.com/?gjnztgv86xq83

    Copy the .pk4 file in your SIKKMOD folder
    (there's a Resurrection of Evil version of this mod, but I didn't modify it yet).
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2012
  9. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,984
    Likes Received:
    1,843
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    I just found out something, seta image_roundDown "1" is crucial to keep the game around lowest 60fps in benchmark mode, if i disable it i see 43fps drops by imps fireballs - all mods and fixes + POM.

    (1600x1200 noaa, in nvcpl fxaa, TrAA - 2xSS; Hdr on, bloom on, blur on, dof manual, fx explosions on, sun and lensflare off - both are buggy and take a fps hit in ingame)

    seta image_downSizeLimit "2048"
    seta image_ignoreHighQuality "0"
    seta image_downSizeBumpLimit "2048"
    seta image_downSizeSpecularLimit "2048"
    seta image_downSizeBump "0"
    seta image_downSizeSpecular "0"
    seta image_usePrecompressedTextures "0"
    seta image_useNormalCompression "0"
    seta image_useAllFormats "1"
    seta image_useCompression "0"
    seta image_preload "1"
    seta image_roundDown "1"
    seta image_forceDownSize "0"
    seta image_downSize "0"



    OC 860mhz/2260mhz;
    seta image_roundDown "0" >>avg 81.2fps, lowest 43fps
    seta image_roundDown "1" >>avg 94.9fps, lowest 62fps
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2012
  10. NiukNiuk

    NiukNiuk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,057
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R6950 twin frozr II
    POM is a huge performance hit (and causes graphical anomalies with some textures), personally I don't use it anymore (using the default parallax method).

    But from what I'm reading on http://doom3.fre3.com/tweaks/page-7.php:

     

  11. Valken

    Valken Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,571
    Likes Received:
    126
    GPU:
    Forsa 1060 3GB Temp GPU
    Can you modify the RoE version too?! :D
     
  12. NiukNiuk

    NiukNiuk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,057
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R6950 twin frozr II
    I'll see what I can do when I'll have some free time :)
     
  13. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,984
    Likes Received:
    1,843
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Yes i knew it was something like that :)

    The thing is it was fine with older versions, i think its because of HQ polygon monsters mod. When i started a new game it ran ok (in the hangar) no weird 40fps drops.

    And i double checked if there is any lower Quality and i didnt saw any, level detail isn't affected (object lod, culling), looks like only model detail and its so minor it doesn't matter, i rather have it enabled then have 40fps drops, but hey that's just me :)


    About POM glitch, hm i didnt see anything unusual yet,.. Although when i checked comparison screens I was torn between POM and Relief, then i went with pom - i saw your rocks screen and pom 30fps vs 22fps? with relief.



    Im still testing it though, my goal is to be near 60fps all the time :smile:

    [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG] [​IMG]
    DOF and Motion blur is kinda tricky, with both off i can keep 60fps, but i want both lol



    Anyway great Doom3 Mod pack guide, it was very simple and fast, thanks again! :D
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2012
  14. NiukNiuk

    NiukNiuk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,057
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R6950 twin frozr II
    My computer is a bit weak when using these parallax shaders :)
    And add to this the fact that, as an ATI owner, I have to disable catalyst AI for sikkmod to work correctly.
     
  15. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,984
    Likes Received:
    1,843
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    I said it a bit wrong, hehe im not dissing those low fps screens :)

    What I was trying to say is POM is more demanding and yet it had higher fps, or is relief even more demanding? Its kinda strange because it has lower 3d effect to it.
     

  16. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,578
    Likes Received:
    600
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
    Does it work on Win 7, as ive got Doom 3 somewhere, cracking game, will give this sikkmod a go :)
     
  17. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,984
    Likes Received:
    1,843
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    But of course :D


    Just make sure to install 1.3.1 patch.
     
  18. NiukNiuk

    NiukNiuk Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,057
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI R6950 twin frozr II
    I've updated my "experimental sikkmod compatible mods" folder:
    http://www.mediafire.com/?gjnztgv86xq83 to add to my mod pack (if you want to try)

    - RangerMcFriendly (Phrozo) Particles Mod 1.3S for Doom 3
    - RangerMcFriendly (Phrozo) Particles Mod 1.3S for Resurrection of Evil (gives a lot of warnings in the console, tell me if it crashes the game...I only quickly tested it)
    - Also contains Doom 3 high poly weapon LWO (by rockmong)

    For those who already downloaded the previous version of this particles mod, redownload it : I forgot to put sikkmod values for tracers (for the machine gun and the pistol), now it should work and you should see tracers from time to time when firing :)
     
  19. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,578
    Likes Received:
    600
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
    Will do, thanks :)
     
  20. UNREAL_2004

    UNREAL_2004 Master Guru

    Messages:
    976
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 & G12+H55
    Gameplay

    [​IMG]
     

Share This Page