Sid Meier's Civilization: Beyond Earth will have AMD Mantle support

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Apr 14, 2014.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    42,465
    Likes Received:
    10,273
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
  2. Cyberdyne

    Cyberdyne Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,582
    Likes Received:
    302
    GPU:
    2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra
    Do people actually have performance issues with Civilization games? I ran Civ 5 maxed out in DX11 on a 470, constant 60 fps. And I think I was hitting the hundred mark without vsync.
     
  3. Gaizokubanou

    Gaizokubanou Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,247
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire HD 7970
    Yes, mostly on Huge/Marathon games on older CPU so Mantle support is actually kinda cool news to hear.
     
  4. scatman839

    scatman839 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,131
    Likes Received:
    533
    GPU:
    1080, KD55XD800
    I did in Civ 5 when I had a 555m.

    Nothing major, turn off a couple settings and it's fine.
     

  5. proFits

    proFits Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,866
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    RTX 2080
    Interested in Mantle Support: Nope
    Interested in another Civ5 exp: Yep
    For 59$: NOOOOOOOOOOOPE Nope nope
     
  6. Denial

    Denial Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,566
    Likes Received:
    3,119
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080
    It makes it playable at higher settings on an APU, which is probably what AMD was going for.
     
  7. evasiondutch

    evasiondutch Banned

    Messages:
    207
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x-MSI gaming 290x 4gb OC
    Mantle no...says Nvidia fan lol got to love them:banana:
     
  8. proFits

    proFits Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,866
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    RTX 2080
    If I had problems with my CPU performance I'd buy a new CPU ;)
    Noobs, got to love them :banana:
     
  9. Denial

    Denial Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,566
    Likes Received:
    3,119
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080
    But some people can't afford new CPUs? or want to play games on lower end hardware? I think it benefits all gamers when we get more people in the industry. If a $500 machine can now play Civ at high settings due to Mantle support, then Mantle just had a significant impact on budget PCs.

    People need to stop thinking only about themselves.
     
  10. scatman839

    scatman839 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,131
    Likes Received:
    533
    GPU:
    1080, KD55XD800
    It's not an expansion, it's a new game.
     

  11. proFits

    proFits Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,866
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    RTX 2080
    But in the scenario that person can afford a 60$ expansion? Crazy

    Looking at the screenshot I'd say it's less than an expansion, maybe just a mod.
     
    Last edited: Apr 14, 2014
  12. Denial

    Denial Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,566
    Likes Received:
    3,119
    GPU:
    EVGA RTX 3080
    This is different then console gamers how? You're still saving money on the upfront cost of buying the device?


    Yep, new units, environments, tech trees, races, etc.. just a mod.

    In a world.
     
  13. LoccOtHaN

    LoccOtHaN Banned

    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATi/AMD XFX 7970 DD GhzED
    More Mantle ;-) just Great... We have to wait for Crysis 3 with Mantle patch, maby they give it to Us -> i Hope :)

    Mod edit: please stop posting the extra signature rubbish. Thanks.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 15, 2014
  14. proFits

    proFits Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,866
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    RTX 2080
    Trolling aside:

    You try to make the point that I only ''care about myself''. Well it's of my opinion that mantle support does not matter to me. I didn't deny the need for AMD for the industry. Hold your horses.

    On the whole expansion/new game/DLC business, sure it's not published by EA, but it doesn't mean that the price can't be outrageous and an attempt at milking a very decent cow.

    I like Civ 5, I have 2 DLCs for it. And this new thing here? It feels a lot like a DLC being priced like a new full game.
     
  15. meth curd

    meth curd Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2080TI FE
    i love civ and I'm excited for this (also as an alpha centauri fan) but I don't really get *why* this game is cpu limited. like I'd assume most of the heavy lifting takes places when you actually end the turn and the ai/your choices need to kick in but those are a few seconds when you generally don't care much for performance
     

  16. Iggyblack

    Iggyblack Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,407
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    PNY GTX 960 1330/1790
    How does it feel like a DLC? it's not 2 new countries etc, it's a whole game in a completely different enviroment than previous games.

    I guess Anno 2070 is also an "expansion" because it went to the future.
     
  17. 0blivious

    0blivious Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,143
    Likes Received:
    639
    GPU:
    5700XT / GTX1070
    It's not the graphics (as far as I know), it's the Huge map setting with tons of players. It takes a ridiculous amount of time to load each turn once you get past year 1850 or so (on std). It plays about the same on my new rig and my 5 year old rig.

    I'm curious if anyone has a rig that loads those (huge) later-game turns quickly. Anyone with 16/32gb+ of ram that plays Civ5? Does that help? Does installing on an SSD do the trick? Both perhaps? :nerd:
     
  18. lucidus

    lucidus Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,836
    Likes Received:
    1,377
    GPU:
    .
    Thank goodness for 337.50 :p
     
  19. JJayzX

    JJayzX Master Guru

    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    15
    GPU:
    Evga RTX2070XCUltra
    That's what a lot of people don't know is the big hit on huge maps with a lot of stuff going on. I don't know if SSD will help but I'll check it later when I get on my main comp.
     
  20. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,110
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    hopefully the next driver will be killer too, dont want a one and done
     

Share This Page