1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Shadow of the Tomb raider

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by WhiteLightning, Apr 27, 2018.

  1. doktor1

    doktor1 Master Guru

    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    67
    GPU:
    Sapphire RX 5700
    How big is game in GB?
    Preload is 25GB?
     
  2. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,253
    Likes Received:
    590
    GPU:
    1080 Gaming X SLI
  3. Martigen

    Martigen Master Guru

    Messages:
    317
    Likes Received:
    83
    GPU:
    GTX 1080Ti SLI
    Nice.

    Can anyone who has the game and SLI please test this versus the DX12 implementation (with TXAA enabled, going by this thread)?

    Maybe do: DX12 + TXAA; DX11 + TXAA; DX11 + SMAA (or equivalent).

    Very curious :)
     
  4. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,253
    Likes Received:
    590
    GPU:
    1080 Gaming X SLI
    I will once i get home :)
     

  5. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,253
    Likes Received:
    590
    GPU:
    1080 Gaming X SLI
    Okay, i've done some comparison shots now... and it seems to be working the bits he came up with !

    Dx11 + smaa

    [​IMG]

    Dx12 + smaa

    [​IMG]

    Dx11 + Taa

    [​IMG]

    Dx12 + Taa

    [​IMG]

    So the performance with smaa is a bit better gpu wise with dx12, and alot better cpu wise, but using Taa, it is MUCH better with dx11 and these custom bits - just look at the completely flat frametime line, compared to the dx12 one that is super thick in addition to the much lower fps.

    So if you got enough gpu power to get 4k locked at a constant 60 fps (and you do if you have 1080 ti sli - unfortunately i do not), then just use dx11 with the custom bits along with taa and normal vsync.

    But if you are dipping below a constant locked 60 fps, then you are probably gonna want to use g-sync

    Dx11 + Taa + g-sync

    [​IMG]

    Frametimes are still stabile, but it takes a big fps hit, and there comes some noticable input lag. For me this is the lesser evil though, so i am going to stick with this :)
     
    AsiJu and BangTail like this.
  6. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,778
    Likes Received:
    1,245
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Armor
    Out of curiosity is there an RT enable option in the settings yet?

    Lols.
     
  7. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,253
    Likes Received:
    590
    GPU:
    1080 Gaming X SLI
    Nope... but who in their right mind would use it anyways...
     
    AsiJu likes this.
  8. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,253
    Likes Received:
    590
    GPU:
    1080 Gaming X SLI
    Okay lol, custom sli bits with dx11 + txaa + g-sync had worked fine until now... then i arrived in the town, and things went to crap... 29 fps -_-'

    [​IMG]

    Bottleneck on the primary core on the cpu... my cpu isn't by any means brand spanking new, but it isn't a slouch either, when OC'ed to 4,5 ghz - a 8700k at 5 ghz probably has something like 50-60% higher single thread performance, but that would still have it below 60 fps :S
     
  9. boogieman

    boogieman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,935
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080X
    OK, what am I missing here? Can't run 1440 using DSR. Highest setting showing is 1920 x 1080. Any ideas?

    6700K + GTX1080 Driver 391.35

    Edit: After unchecking the DX12 box and checking it allowed the higher res to show.
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2018
  10. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,253
    Likes Received:
    590
    GPU:
    1080 Gaming X SLI
    You ought to update your driver for this game...
     

  11. Grimbarian

    Grimbarian Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,492
    Likes Received:
    205
    GPU:
    AMD RX580 8gb
    Exclusive fullscreen = CTD for me, does anyone know a solution please? :)
     
  12. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,253
    Likes Received:
    590
    GPU:
    1080 Gaming X SLI
    Yes, disable fullscreen optimizations in competility settings on the games exe file.
     
  13. slick3

    slick3 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    153
    GPU:
    ROG STRIX GTX 1070
    Playing the game game maxed out, no AA at 1440p at over 45fps. I will take that! :D
     
  14. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,253
    Likes Received:
    590
    GPU:
    1080 Gaming X SLI
    Why not use smaa or taa ? Performance hit is minimal :)
     
  15. LuckyNumber8

    LuckyNumber8 Master Guru

    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    72
    GPU:
    0
    I hope Nv DLSS will provide much better AA quality. TAA looks like upscaled picture :(.
     

  16. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,762
    Likes Received:
    324
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    With everything maxed (the Highest preset, by the way, is *not* the highest settings the game can use) at 2560x1440 with the SMSAAx2 or whatever it's called, the benchmark averaged 54 fps, although thanks to G-SYNC it ran smoothly. With SMAA T2x, the average is 76 fps and that is very representative of the game which I played tonight to the first open-ish area in Peru.

    So far, the game is very enjoyable but also very familiar if you've played the previous two games. The Peruvian area for example is very much like the snowy area in Rise or the forest area from Tomb Raider 2013. There's the usual array of collectibles, resources and artifacts to find as well as animals to hunt and hidden challenge tombs. So far, there very little that is new but that's not to say it isn't fun. The graphics, particularly the lighting, seems to be much better than previous game and overall it looks noticeably better than Rise. Anti-aliasing is much better too, although the highest setting does cause my framerate to dip below 60 fps at 2560x1440.

    It's a solid game so far and one that you will enjoy if you liked the previous entries in the rebooted series. So far (about three hours in), there has been very little combat and what there was could be bypassed using stealth if you want to play it that way. That is a good thing because, while the combat in the previous games was mostly entertaining, by the end of the game it became tiresome as there was simply too much of it. Hopefully this game will balance out the platforming, puzzling and combat much better.

    There is definitely room for improvement though; animations continue to be a bit ropey at times with Lara magically sliding into position when you ask her to pull a lever or turn a handle. The blending between animations isn't always smooth and it lacks the smoothness of, say, Uncharted 4 on PS4.
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2018
    AsiJu and eGGroLLiO like this.
  17. Darren Hodgson

    Darren Hodgson Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,762
    Likes Received:
    324
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 Ti SC2
    Install size is 32.3 GB on my system.
     
  18. eGGroLLiO

    eGGroLLiO Member Guru

    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    57
    GPU:
    EVGA 2080ti FTW3 UG
    Darren,
    Thanks for your mini-review. I always enjoy your impressions of new games. Thanks for the info!
     
    Darren Hodgson and AsiJu like this.
  19. slick3

    slick3 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,747
    Likes Received:
    153
    GPU:
    ROG STRIX GTX 1070
    Don't those make games blurrier?

    I don't have much experience with AA :p
     
  20. RealNC

    RealNC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,989
    Likes Received:
    1,256
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
    AFAIK, DLSS is for making games sharper, not blurrier. We'll see when it comes out, I guess.
     

Share This Page