Settle a bottlenecking argument

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Brian the King, Sep 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. VadymS

    VadymS Member Guru

    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire X1900XT 256mb

    Oh so you took the video card that's in your signature on the left, and clocked it down to 450/1320 speeds and ran the 3DMark06 and got the 2000/2000/1900 scores?


    Also you're camparing your 7900GT which is 24pp 8vertext to his 7800GT which is 20pp 7vertex, where is this comparison going? I'd say he's doing pretty good considering he's fighting you with lower clock speeds and 4 less pipes, unless I'm missing something here
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2006
  2. Spectacle

    Spectacle Banned

    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    X1950XTX Crossfired 780/2280
    I apologize for the delay, but I just lost power over here (thunder storm) and had to re install windows :(

    I'm re installing FEAR now......
     
  3. icywind32

    icywind32 Master Guru

    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ati 6970 2gb
    haha.... ima start ocing when i get my water cooler >< on my cpu >< ererrerererr......... must get it to 2.8
     
  4. Spectacle

    Spectacle Banned

    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    X1950XTX Crossfired 780/2280
    2.8 is a walk in the park for me :D I can actually run this thing up to 3066Mhz, but at that speed it won't even be close. But it's not like @ 2.8Ghz it's going to be close anyway......FEAR just finished reinstalling so, I'll be right back......
     

  5. Spectacle

    Spectacle Banned

    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    X1950XTX Crossfired 780/2280
    OK, here you go....
    [​IMG]
    1280x1024 with the settings you requested..

    And yes, that is with only 1 card @ 500/1500 with my Opty @ 2.8Ghz......

    I'll run SLI now so you can get a comparison idea....


    And with SLI @ 500/1500
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2006
  6. UnclePappi

    UnclePappi Banned

    Messages:
    5,086
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Asus 680 2gb 1250mhz
    Show screenies of an underclocked cpu and an overclocked cpu with those same single and sli settings...

    Although I must say that part of the game is not cpu intensive like say...in the middle of a firefight with multiple enemies bearing down on you.
     
  7. WR3CK

    WR3CK Master Guru

    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS 4890
    u should post a screenie. without vsynk so we can get a better comparison.
     
  8. Spectacle

    Spectacle Banned

    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    X1950XTX Crossfired 780/2280
    I agree with his choice of benchmarking, as it is a very accurate way of insuring that we are doing the exact same thing at the same time. Wether or not it's all that intensive, it will still give you a very accurate comparision at the same point at the same time, with the same amount of action going on.

    Oh, and WR3CK, unless his monitors refresh rate it 30Hz (no monitor has a refresh rate of 30Hz) it's not limiting his performance there at all.


    lol...I just noticed he is running his @ 1280x960 (the games highest default setting) I actually edited the FEAR cfg file so I could run it at full 1280x1024. I bet if I left it alone my fps would even be more.....
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2006
  9. GODzillaSDM

    GODzillaSDM Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 FTW
    brian, do you have a friend with 7800GT? Just pop it in, run the bench again, and see what kind of improvements if any, you will get. that will answer your debate with roko. (and spectacle)
     
  10. Spectacle

    Spectacle Banned

    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    X1950XTX Crossfired 780/2280
    I'm not doubting that he'll get an improvement. But he will be (and already is) severely CPU handicapped. As I just demonstrated by comparing an AMD X2 CPU with a Pentium Dual Core. Even though his CPU is @ 4Ghz he cannot keep up with me at only 2.8Ghz. In fact, it wasn't even close.

    Will they see a benefit of going SLI? Sure, but it will be crippled by their CPUs
     

  11. VadymS

    VadymS Member Guru

    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire X1900XT 256mb
    I figured this thread needs a laughing stock so here @ stock card clocks 400/982

    [​IMG]

    And having the bejesus overclocked out of my card at 452/1201

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2006
  12. icywind32

    icywind32 Master Guru

    Messages:
    687
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ati 6970 2gb
    u wanna help me overclock? cuz i suck at it >< i have amd 4200 dual core running at 2.4 ghz rite now....... i have ocz performance.... i have a lot of power so no worries and ima get the zalman 9500 soon for my cpu ^^.... help me oc >< tell me the step by step ><
     
  13. Spectacle

    Spectacle Banned

    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    X1950XTX Crossfired 780/2280
    It's not just as simple as that, there are many factors you must consider, such as your CPUs stepping, ram, mobo, cooling, voltage, and such. First you need to know what stepping your CPU is and compare it to others of the same model. (you can only find this info on the top of the CPU itself by taking of the HSF and looking at the the top of the CPU itself)
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2006
  14. r0k0

    r0k0 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 780 H20
    lol nice... is that with vSync on...?

    and my eVGA 7900GT Stock clocks are 500Core/1500Mem
     
  15. aircool

    aircool Don Aircooleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    13,754
    Likes Received:
    17
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 560 Ti 448 Core
    P4s were aimed at 3D work with quadros thats why their awful games but great for rendering mass amount due to the through put

    the cpu atm is not bottleneck

    another 7800gt would bottle neck it

    get a core2duo cpu
     

  16. VadymS

    VadymS Member Guru

    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire X1900XT 256mb
    If you're asking me r0k0 no I don't think it has vsync as I only used in game max settings I didn't touch my control panel so I'm pretty sure the vsync is off.

    And when I was talking about stock settings for your card I was talking about acdual stock settings for a 7900GT, the one you got is superclocked by eVGA so to you it's stock, to the video card world it's overclocked, cuz stock cloccks on a 7900GT from Nvidia is 450/1320.

    I'm actually planning on buying a video card like yours :p
     
  17. JPennStar

    JPennStar Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,215
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    AMD 7970M
    You've got to be kidding, that POS P4 is totally slowing down your 7800 card much less SLI or a 7900GT!!!!

    I have a X2 3800 @ 2.8GHz and I know its bottlenecking my 7900GT vmod 650/1700.

    Seriously, in FEAR I tested it. I left the CPU at stock 2.0GHz and found I was getting 35-45FPS outside in FEAR Combat. Then I overclocked to 2.8GHz and outside framerates jumped 10,15+ frames per second which means 60+ outside. It makes a huge difference. And even the conroes are being choked up by HIGH end SLI and Crossfire setups.

    And anything other than the Conroe is lame! If you're going for SLI you're going to need not only a new mobo but a CPU.
     
  18. LedHed

    LedHed Banned

    Messages:
    6,827
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    BenQ FP241W
    Jpenn I hate to tell you but an X2 @ 2.8ghz is not slowing down your 7900GT @(650/1700) Anything in the 2.5-2.7ghz range is going to be plenty for our cards.
     
  19. QuadCannons

    QuadCannons Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,536
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GeForce 210
    To the OP:
    I think that you should sell your current CPU and motherboard (should go for around $200-250), then take the money you've saved for that 7800GT ($200 I assume), and buy a Core 2 Duo E6400 and an Asus P5 motherboard.

    Overclocked with that setup, you should get framerates similar to Spectacle's setup.

    And whoever said the Source stress test is not CPU intensive has obviously not paid attention to the Half Life 2 portions of graphics card reviews here at Guru3D.
     
  20. WR3CK

    WR3CK Master Guru

    Messages:
    654
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS 4890
    wgere can i find the fear bench?
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page