Settle a bottlenecking argument

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by Brian the King, Sep 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Spectacle

    Spectacle Banned

    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    X1950XTX Crossfired 780/2280
    Sorry m8, but you are in the same boat as Brian :(

    Pentiums are just not good for gaming, while they are OK they are clearly lacking.
     
  2. Spectacle

    Spectacle Banned

    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    X1950XTX Crossfired 780/2280
  3. r0k0

    r0k0 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 780 H20
    still COD2 MAXED out on 1280x1024 before at 3.4Ghz was imposible to play now its Blazing fast :p Fear Also got lot's of boost... surely all other games too
     
  4. Spectacle

    Spectacle Banned

    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    X1950XTX Crossfired 780/2280
    I'm sure it was a pretty nice boost from your revious GPU, but you are just not getting all the horsepower you card has......
     

  5. r0k0

    r0k0 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 780 H20
    on the same GPU and CPU just i overclocked it from 3.4Ghz to 4.0Ghz and its blazing fast
     
  6. Spectacle

    Spectacle Banned

    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    X1950XTX Crossfired 780/2280
    I guarantee you I'll crush you in every game with my CPU at only 2.8Ghz with one 7900GT :D

    You call the clocks for the card and games you want to compare, I'm game if you are :arnie:

    You up for a little friendly competition?



    ...and this will do a lot to help people understand what I'm saying
     
    Last edited: Sep 5, 2006
  7. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    that aint a fair fight. i just upped my 4200+ dual core to 2.6 and i believe im still cpu bottlenecked
     
  8. Spectacle

    Spectacle Banned

    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    X1950XTX Crossfired 780/2280
    I know, but I'm not trying to "fight" him :) Only maybe to offer a helpful comparison between two CPUs with the same card (7900GT)
     
  9. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    gotcha well i have a p-4 3.0 pressy with a 6800gt agp and that card is seriously bottlenecked. not that a p-4 3.0 is garbage. its not just a different animal:thumbup:
     
  10. r0k0

    r0k0 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 780 H20
    what you mean...?
     

  11. Spectacle

    Spectacle Banned

    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    X1950XTX Crossfired 780/2280
    I was suggestiong that we run a few games and post some pics (showing the FPS) and we compare our results. I will of course dissable SLI and only use one card. You name the clocks you want me to run the card, and you choose the games.....

    I have FEAR, Oblivion, COD2, NFS:MW, Serious Sam 2, Far Cry, Blazing Angels, Half Life 2....just to name a few.

    EDIT: Doom 3, Quake 4, &Prey are usless because they are limited to 60fps anyway
     
  12. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,111
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    hmm somebody knows how to use bit torrent?:thumbup:
     
  13. r0k0

    r0k0 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 780 H20
    humm well FEAR Intro when we see the guy Paxton Fettel on his knees all max ss and shadows 1280x1024 vSync on.... with your clock on your 7900GT 500/1500 same as me..?
    fps with FRAPS..?
     
  14. Brian the King

    Brian the King Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,300
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 SC
    Ok, I just ran the CSS stress test, all settings max:

    1600*1200 4xAA 16xAF: 95.55
    1280*960 0xAA trilinear filtering: 132.25

    If I had a CPU bottleneck, the difference of fps would not be so great, don't you think?

    I'm off the computer for the night, which is why I won't be defending myself anymore ;p
     
  15. r0k0

    r0k0 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 780 H20
    CSS aint a GPU demanding game..! Run FEAR Strees test
     

  16. r0k0

    r0k0 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 780 H20
  17. Spectacle

    Spectacle Banned

    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    X1950XTX Crossfired 780/2280
    Yes :) OK I'll dissable SLI and clock the card to 500/1500.

    Be right back.....

    my I'll run it @ 1440x900, but you should turn v-sync off or it puts a cap on your fps ;)
     
  18. r0k0

    r0k0 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 780 H20
    i know but vSync is better ... put it at same resolution please i want equal scores
     
  19. VadymS

    VadymS Member Guru

    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire X1900XT 256mb

    That proves nothing on subject of processor bottlenecking genius, you have 500/1500 OC 7800GT, he has 475/1225 vcard, that difference between his 1600/1700 score and your 2000/2000 scores is only the difference in your video cards clock speeds.


    As on a major note of this whole bottlenecking issue. If you're stating he should getting another vcard cuz of bottlenecking, then you should take your computer right now, and put it in the closet and not play another game again.

    Yes there will be a bottle neck. Yes he will get better performance in games with SLI even with the bottleneck.
     
  20. r0k0

    r0k0 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 780 H20
    my card is all stock and also putting SLI in a bottlenecking rig would get more performance... its already trying to process the first GPu trew the CPu adding another wont help or increase performance
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page