1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SEAGATE FIRMWARE UPDATE for ST3500320AS, ST3640330AS, ST3750330AS, ST31000340AS

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Pill Monster, Jan 19, 2009.

  1. The Chosen 1

    The Chosen 1 Master Guru

    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x 6870 MSI TwinFrozer II
    The users said that they didn't have SMART warnings before the update and after the update some value changes and reports the drive as "failing" or something... this might be isolated incidents but just want to make sure...

    Eclap... I do not understand the values myself but if on the right (Status) it says that certain thing is OK then you shouldn't have any problem... if there is a problem it says "failing" or whatever...
     
  2. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,501
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    So am I only looking for OK in those status values? If that's the case, then I'm fine I guess... I thought there was more to it... Cool.
     
  3. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Yeah when you get one that says "Failure Imminent" then there's a problem. One sure way to tell a dying hdd is the "relocated sector count". I had an old ide drive that had a figure of about 5000 or so.

    Funny thing though - I have the exact same drive as you - my smart stats look about the same as yours yet my drive is only a week old - I think that's a bit unusual for a week old hdd to have those error counts.

    My new 500GB drive Seek Error count is 253 which is a bit disturbing seeing as my 3 year old Seagate 250 has a seek error count of 60
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2009
  4. Luvabud

    Luvabud Master Guru

    Messages:
    918
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    1060 6GB
    Keep an eye on HD Tune 2.55, the seek error rate continues to grow even when the hard drive is idle. I have a seagate at 5000 hours that is near 1 billion, my seagate 1 TB is 6575316 and is only 2 months old. It can be ignored, as the value as it's known issue with seagate's.

    The new firmware works fine on my ST31000340AS, seem to get better burst speed.
     
    Last edited: Jan 23, 2009

  5. MetalFox

    MetalFox Master Guru

    Messages:
    907
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX670 DCII
    If I remember right S.M.A.R.T info can just give you a bit of information how your drive is doing. And the values different manufacturer's drives report differ a bit making getting accurate values for software quite hard. Software x might show different stuff than software y.

    The best bet is to use the manufacturer's own utility to check the values if possible.
     
  6. Phalkon30

    Phalkon30 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,529
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Leadtek 6800 GT @ 420x1175 /water
    I bought 2 1.5TB drives last week, after a few long DST's on Seatoools one of them has caught the clicking death. Spin click click, spin click click.

    I have SD17's, which are the old revision (pre december drives I think), the CCxx drives are the newer ones.

    Doesn't look like there is firmware out for the 1.5's yet, but I don't think it will fix my dead drive if it's clicking anyway. What a mess.
     
  7. The Chosen 1

    The Chosen 1 Master Guru

    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x 6870 MSI TwinFrozer II
    Well... i finally did the update and it went very well (500GB 32MB firmware SD15 to SD1A)... SMART values seem to be the same ... and performance is pretty much the same too...

    So... recommend it for now...
     
  8. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,501
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    I've only had my drive since tuesday dude... ,.-)
     
  9. W@w@Y

    W@w@Y Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,069
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    Asus Strix 1080ti
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2009
  10. frankenberrie

    frankenberrie Member

    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ATi PC 5870 1GB 875/1225

  11. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
  12. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,501
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    Oh... but apparently this is very common for seagates... to have these sort of values. The reading is either incorrect or something....
     
  13. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
  14. HonoredShadow

    HonoredShadow Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,265
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    MSI 980Ti+KS800 TV
    I have 2X Seagate ST3500320AS in my machine. One being the boot drive. After the new flash all is well and working great. Just to let people know...
     
  15. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Last edited: Jan 24, 2009

  16. NeoElNino

    NeoElNino Master Guru

    Messages:
    978
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX1080 8GB Soon
    Just received my 1TB WD and backed up my stuff using a SATA to USB2.0 converter. It took me 9 hours to back up more than 800GB of data LOL:

    [​IMG]

    Flashing my 1TB Seagate was successful: :banana:

    [​IMG]

    The SMART results of the Seagate still didnt change.. most probably its giving faulty results.. anyways, anyone wanna buy a Seagate 1TB for cheap? :p
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2009
  17. John

    John Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,763
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    GTX 970
    Flashed my ST31500341AS SD17 with the new SD1B firmware. Apparently my drive was affected as it has P/N ending with 300. Backed up all my data and flashed it. Seems to work fine, so I guess it's ok. Hopefully this will bring an end to the thoughts of having a full 1.5TB drive that may potentially just stop working.
     
  18. Spongebong

    Spongebong Member Guru

    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GeForce GTX980 SC
    Well after flashing my ST3500320AS with new firmware,was still getting errors with Seatool app.
    Final straw was when I booted up and some winXp files for op system were lost.
    Sent the drive back Friday.
     
  19. MetalFox

    MetalFox Master Guru

    Messages:
    907
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX670 DCII
    Same for me, I already patched to SD1A while ago, but heck I love flashing my darn HDD every week. I hope this was the last time.
     
  20. dcx_badass

    dcx_badass Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,983
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Palit GTX 1060 6GB
    FFS I have a ST31000340AS.

    Can't find out what firmware is on it I don't think? The only program that could tell me what drive was in it was everest, nothing else could tell me, not even SeaTools, so don't think I can check the firmware.
     
    Last edited: Jan 25, 2009

Share This Page