1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

SEAGATE FIRMWARE UPDATE for ST3500320AS, ST3640330AS, ST3750330AS, ST31000340AS

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Pill Monster, Jan 19, 2009.

  1. Marduk-

    Marduk- Master Guru

    Messages:
    677
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS 8800GT @ 680/1800
    Yeah I tried and got the same thing on my ST3500320AS SD16.

    Not december build but still I had one DOA and the one I have now has unhealthy stats and has had for months but it hasn't died.
     
  2. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Yeah I got the same as well. No word from Seagate yet...pretty piss poor Customer Service if you ask me...

    Maybe Hilbert or one of the admins with some weight could email Seagate and see if they can get an answer?
     
  3. maxfly

    maxfly Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,348
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x GTX 980 TI
    my guess is they are simply being overwhelmed with chat requests,email,phone calls. everywhere you look on the web there are people talking about this issue. the longer they take to deal with this the further their rep goes down the crapper. so they are likely throwing everything they have at it.
     
  4. king-dubs

    king-dubs Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,386
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    TITAN X (Pascal) + X34
    Unfortunately, I RMA'd my drive too early, so I don't get the benefit of free data recovery :(

    Currently I have two ST3500320AS in RAID 0 and RAID 1 (Matrix RAID). One drive I had since June, and the other is the RMA'd drive.

    I won't be able to attempt the firmware upgrade either, or I risk destroying the RAID arrays.
     
    Last edited: Jan 19, 2009

  5. Cybermancer

    Cybermancer Don Quixote

    Messages:
    13,795
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
    :wanker:

    Really great customer service... :3eyes:
     
  6. EvilM

    EvilM Member Guru

    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    XFX 280
    if u upgrade firware, do you lost all files on that hdd?
    because i have 2x Model: ST31000340AS, Serial: 9QJ1Y2L8, Firmware: SD15
    :/
     
  7. Cybermancer

    Cybermancer Don Quixote

    Messages:
    13,795
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
    No, you shouldn't. Seagate even offers a free data recovery service, should you lose any data:
    Source: http://techreport.com/discussions.x/16246
     
  8. Sieras

    Sieras Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,815
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 970 G1 4GB
    It seems like it just exits with an error of 'no specific model found' so there's probably no need to panic about it anyway :) (in terms of data loss due to that operation, as it probably checks it before actually doing anything specific).

    Yeah I have one of the models + firmwares which seems to be affected, BUT..I ran the online check with my serial and it said that everything is ok, so I guess that I'm fine.
     
  9. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    Right, what's the latest on this firmware? Anyone managed to update it at all? Because afaik nobody has managed to do that! My 500gb 7200.11 ST3500320AS is coming tomorow morning and I'm thinking about installing windows on it... And keep my precious photos, music etc on my 250gb Hitachi... Then if the Seagate bricks, I'll still have everything backed up...
     
  10. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    According to the seagate forums, the firmware file has been silently updated at 3:17pm and it should work now. Re-download it guys and try again and please report back.
     

  11. Monster_Marvin

    Monster_Marvin Member

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HD7970 @1.125Ghz
  12. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    Ta, so it should work now... great news... everyone, get downloading!!! Great, I'm not nervous about my drive anymore...

    Anyway, how do I go about burning a bootable iso image? do I just select bootable cd from nero menu and drag the iso in there and burn? Coz I don't think I've ever done it before...
     
  13. Cybermancer

    Cybermancer Don Quixote

    Messages:
    13,795
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
    Just for you: :p

    How to make bootable CD with NERO
    http://www.ehow.com/how_2000533_make-bootable-cd-nero.html
     
  14. volkov956

    volkov956 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,117
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 TI
    Updates went without errors till I booted the system and Hard Disk Error wooh!

    2 Drives down the shoot

    (Ediited to more proper understanding)
     
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2009
  15. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    They are idiots... they updated the firmware in the afternoon but nobody really knew... Anyway, sorry Cybermancer, I was no wiser using that guide... Can I just do this in nero???

    [​IMG]
     

  16. MetalFox

    MetalFox Master Guru

    Messages:
    907
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    GTX670 DCII
    Updated my drive ST31500341AS while ago already to SD1A updating went fine I've not been having any issues with the drive though after flashing it's a bit faster. Stuff like this happens, still it would be pretty annoying if the drive would fail but it's RMA time then. I'm glad that in finland customer is protected quite well.
     
  17. Cybermancer

    Cybermancer Don Quixote

    Messages:
    13,795
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    BFG GTX260OC (192 SP)
    I don't use Nero, but it certainly looks like it... :nerd:
     
  18. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    Cool, I did it...
     
  19. eclap

    eclap Banned

    Messages:
    31,497
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    Palit GR 1080 2000/11000
    Last edited: Jan 20, 2009
  20. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,216
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Too late for me.

    My drive is detected in the BIOS and in Everest but Windows doesn't see it.

    Time to go into fix-it mode :/.....FFS!!

    Guess I'll have to try reflash with the old fw.
     

Share This Page