Screen goes black. Have to reset to get it back

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by Hootmon, Jun 26, 2014.

1. Hootmon

Hootmon Maha Guru

GPU:
    XFX THICC III Ultra
    Im kind of new to modern AMD cards. Since installing my current card Ive been having a problem where I find my screen in power-save mode that I cant return from. Apparantly my GPU just isnt putting out any signal. I have to reset my machine to get it back.

The computer isnt asleep. I can see the drive is still active, and I my G15 KB still shows activity on its LCD and my mouse still lights up. I just cant see anything on the screen.

Happens with 14.4 and the 14.6 beta drivers.
    Windows 8.1 Pro Update 1 64-bit

Any ideas?

2. Extraordinary

Extraordinary Ancient Guru

GPU:
    ROG Strix 1080 OC
    I think another member here has a similar issue with any drivers since 14.1

Give 13.12 WHQL a shot and see if it still does it, least you can eliminate hardware as the problem if it works with 13.12

Use DDU in safemode to remove the old drivers first
    http://www.wagnardmobile.com/DDU/

3. Hootmon

Hootmon Maha Guru

GPU:
    XFX THICC III Ultra
    Thanks. Ill give that a try when I get home.

4. AcidSnow

AcidSnow Master Guru

GPU:
    VisionTek R9 290X
    I had a similar black screen issue with a previous 290, I had to under-clock it a bit using MSI-afterburner (to stock settings). So if your card is factory OC'd then put it back to 947/1000. That might reduce your black screens. Also avoid putting the computer to sleep. You might want to try unplugging one of the PCIE power plugs from your 290, and swap it for a different PCIE power plug. Some power supplies might not be delivering adequate power though every power plug.