Sandy and Ivy bridge owners 24/7 clocks?

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards Intel' started by kens30, Apr 5, 2013.

  1. Pill Monster

    Pill Monster Banned

    Messages:
    25,214
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    7950 Vapor-X 1100/1500
    Seems relevant....

    [​IMG][​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 25, 2013
  2. PNeV

    PNeV Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,069
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1070 Armor
    I have a poorer 3570k that does 4.4 1.28v.
     
  3. Violentum

    Violentum Banned

    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    ASUS GTX760 OC
    i5 2500K running 4GHz with 1.33v. Right now temp is 50C under normal web surfin, facebook crap. Gaming it goes to around 75C
     
  4. yasamoka

    yasamoka Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,857
    Likes Received:
    246
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080Ti SC
    1.33V is too high for 4GHz. What are your max temps stress testing?
     

  5. sykozis

    sykozis Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,012
    Likes Received:
    1,201
    GPU:
    MSI RX5700
    50C browsing the web? You got some issues there....
     
  6. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,110
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    sounds right if SS is disabled and on the stock cooler. 1.33v is likely far to much voltage for 4ghz
     
  7. Koniakki

    Koniakki Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,843
    Likes Received:
    443
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GTX 1080Ti FE
    A little update on my 5Ghz quest. This CPU can do x51@97Mhz bclk. And also x50@99 bclk. I'm at the latter now.

    But as SOON as I set a 4.99Ghz freq, all hell breaks loose.

    Something doesn't like 5Ghz. The CPU can take it right? Since it did x51 multi. Or that doesnt matter? I mean even if it did x55@90 blck, it got nothing to do with booting at 5Ghz?

    I think it might be either the Mobo or my Windows. Because I boot fine at 5+Ghz but its freezes usually, not bsod's, but freezes at the windows start up with the 4 colors.
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2013
  8. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,128
    Likes Received:
    1,517
    GPU:
    Aorus 3090 Xtreme
    That means the multiplier setting isnt restricting you.

    If Windows works ok at other speeds, there is no problem with Windows.
    The problem is that your hardware is stable up to the edge of 5GHz with your current cooling if you dont go nuts with voltage and temp.
    If you want faster, you either need better power stability somehow (probably not possible) or better cooling.
    Try blowing a housefan at your PCs internals.
    If that helps, you know there is something you can do easily.


    Many others that break 5GHz do so with stupid temps/volts.
    Its not common without.
     
  9. Koniakki

    Koniakki Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,843
    Likes Received:
    443
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GTX 1080Ti FE
    I tried lowering and incrasing the bclk, while upping the multi or lowering it accordingly to bclk,
    I tried 1.55V??!!(just once to see if it boots) and was a no go, I boot at 4.9Ghz with 1.37V and I'm stable at least in all the benchmarks at 1.38-1.39V.
    I tried upping the VTT and IMC voltages,
    I tied lower Ram freq from 2400(if bclk at 100) to lower values/multi's
    I tried various 1.60-1.8 PLL and PLL overvoltage always on disable all times, Shoud I enable it?
    I tried with Offset voltage,
    I tried with LLC extreme and lower values,

    I think i tried every corresponding bios settings available. It's beyond me.. I must be doing something wrong. I must be... Some setting I have wrong.

    What bugs me is that it works for x50@99Bclk for 4.95Ghz but not 4.99Ghz! :bang:


    I want my 50Mhz dammit!! :p
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2013
  10. milamber

    milamber Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,259
    Likes Received:
    50
    GPU:
    MSI 1080 Gaming X
    Best I can do is 4.6ghz (120x39) @ 1.384v. Temps are fine but if try to hit 4.8ghz I have put the voltage over 1.4v which I'd rather not do. Still, the 3820 is a decent overclocker and the Sabertooth mobo makes it so easy even an OC noob like me can do it.
     

  11. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,110
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    you need pll overvoltage enable on once you get to a certain frequency
     
  12. flow

    flow Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,011
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    Asus TUF RTX3080 oc
    Yep, above 48x for most. Some may need it sooner.
    As for the 5Ghz faillure, that cpu appears to go down when reaching that speed.
    The multi and bclk are simply tools to reach a certain clockspeed.
    In the past they were relevant because of system ram that went along with the fsb, thus one needed to fiddle with fsb and multi+strap to boot at a certain speed, stable.

    Whether you use 49x100 or 54x90, the outcome is the same. Unless ofcourse you reach the mobo multiplier limit. But that is nowadays close to 60 or even beyond that.
    Crashing at 5Ghz means the cpu isn't stable at those speeds.

    You could try with cpu current 140%, pll overvoltage ENABLED, LLC extreme or the highest value possible ( isn't LLC in numbers on gigabyte boards? ) and so forth.
    Offset voltage isn't usefull from 4800Mhz and up, a fixed voltage is much better and more stable if vdroop isn't an issue on your board.

    ps. don't start with 1.55v, those settings are intended to give more voltage on load, better start low and work your way up.
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2013
  13. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,128
    Likes Received:
    1,517
    GPU:
    Aorus 3090 Xtreme
    oops double post
     
  14. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,128
    Likes Received:
    1,517
    GPU:
    Aorus 3090 Xtreme
    Careful of high LLC levels, they boost the core voltage way above what you set in the BIOS.
    I damaged my chip by accident when I stability tested with LLC on highest setting, with just 1.38V on Vcore in the BIOS.
    This is with a water cooled chip that didnt hit high temps.
     
  15. Francko1979

    Francko1979 Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980Ti SC SLI´ed
    My Core I7 2600K ES D1 does 5Ghz@ 1.48V. Got it like that 24/7.
    I throw at it 200 passes of IBT @Maximum stress level from time to time to see if it still holds up, and it does it everytime. Of course, when I stress it, got my AC running at 17° C!
    :D
    And of course 12 hours of prime95 in the mix, to be 100% sure.
     

  16. Koniakki

    Koniakki Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,843
    Likes Received:
    443
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GTX 1080Ti FE
    M****** F*****!! I enabled the PLL Overvoltage. (excuse the language)

    I swear to you guys, if the PLL Overvoltage was causing me not too boot and wasted HALF WEEK, I will... I will... I don't know what I will do....

    5Ghz even if its 1 core! Does this count? For validation as a 5Ghz member or do I have to boot with all 4c/8t?

    http://valid.canardpc.com/2815129

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2013
  17. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,462
    Likes Received:
    963
    GPU:
    3080Ti Strix H20
    Enable pll over voltage. My CPU with multiplier 52x won't boot into windows unless I enable pll
     
  18. Koniakki

    Koniakki Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,843
    Likes Received:
    443
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GTX 1080Ti FE
    /\/\/\ Previous post! 5Ghz! Come on guys! Help me out here! :p

    1c/1t so far.

    LLC=Turbo. I think it counts as 2 or Very High. It the setting that does NOT Vdroop. Its the same voltage in bios/CPU-Z.
    IMC= 1V
    VTT=1.15
    PLL=AUTO

    I'm worried about the PLL voltages. What values should I use guys? e.g 1.55 / 1.65 / 1.70 / 1.80 etc?

    Edit: Will try for lower voltage now. If it boots I will go for 4c/4t.

    5200MHZ!!

    http://valid.canardpc.com/2815136


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: May 27, 2013
  19. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,128
    Likes Received:
    1,517
    GPU:
    Aorus 3090 Xtreme
    lol cool !
     
  20. kens30

    kens30 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    75
    GPU:
    Asus GTX 1070 oc
    Great overclock Koniakki i see you have 1.5v for that overclock that's way too high
    for a quick cpu-z validation it's okay just don't stress test it at that much volts you might end up frying your cpu or degrading it.
     

Share This Page