Samsung Magician Software for PC vx.x

Discussion in 'SSD and HDD storage' started by BadDriver, Nov 12, 2015.

  1. BadDriver

    BadDriver Master Guru

    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    STRIX-GTX1070-8G
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2019
  2. BadDriver

    BadDriver Master Guru

    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    STRIX-GTX1070-8G
    Software-update: Samsung Magician 5.3.1

    New Samsung Magician features a number of improvements over version 5.3:

    - Revision for EU GDPR (European General Data Protection Regulation) Privacy Notice
    • The data controller/collector is changed from 'Samsung Electronics United Kingdom Ltd.' to 'Samsung Electronics Co., Ltd.'.

    Samsung_Magician_5_3_1_Installation_Guide_v2.6.pdf
     
    Last edited: Sep 23, 2019
  3. BadDriver

    BadDriver Master Guru

    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    STRIX-GTX1070-8G
    Software-update: Samsung Magician 6.0.0

    New Features

    New Samsung Magician features a number of improvements over the previous versions.

    - New features include:

    • A completely new GUI to provide a wide range of information more friendly and intuitively.
    • PSID Revert – easy to initialize the drive without visiting the service center.
    • Diagnostic Scan to identify the detailed state of the drive.
    • Help function to solve user’s curiosity and increase convenience.
    • And many other improvements...


    https://www.samsung.com/semiconduct...ng_Magician_6_0_0_Installation Guide_v1.0.pdf
    https://www.samsung.com/semiconductor/minisite/ssd/download/tools/
     
    Last edited: Oct 1, 2019
    Undying likes this.
  4. Chastity

    Chastity Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,764
    Likes Received:
    954
    GPU:
    Nitro 5700 XT
    Undying likes this.

  5. BadDriver

    BadDriver Master Guru

    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    STRIX-GTX1070-8G
  6. BadDriver

    BadDriver Master Guru

    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    STRIX-GTX1070-8G
    Software-update: Samsung Magician 6.2.0

    New Features

    New Samsung Magician features a number of improvements over the previous versions.

    - New featuresinclude:
    • Full Scan in Diagnostic Scan –pause and resume added.
    • SMART Self-test in Diagnostic Scan –more precise feature for device diagnostic.
    • Help contents and GUI –reformed for more convenience.
    • Settings -easier to use with fine-tuning.

    https://www.samsung.com/semiconduct...ng_Magician_6_2_0_Installation_Guide_v1.2.pdf
    https://www.samsung.com/semiconductor/minisite/ssd/download/tools/
     
  7. testcy

    testcy Master Guru

    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    -----
    I can't enable RAPID mode in 6.2.0, while in previous versions I could enable it. Is this a known problem?
     
    Last edited: Oct 7, 2020
  8. BadDriver

    BadDriver Master Guru

    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    STRIX-GTX1070-8G
  9. BadDriver

    BadDriver Master Guru

    Messages:
    285
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    STRIX-GTX1070-8G
  10. Mufflore

    Mufflore Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,864
    Likes Received:
    1,379
    GPU:
    Aorus 3090 Xtreme

  11. Chastity

    Chastity Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,764
    Likes Received:
    954
    GPU:
    Nitro 5700 XT
    The version number increased. :)

    </Capt Obvious>
     
  12. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,455
    Likes Received:
    3,369
    GPU:
    ASUS RX 470 Strix
    I installed the new version out of curiosity and then saw rapid mode... after looking into what it is, from what I understand it uses system ram to speed up ssd performance, is that correct?

    *edit*

    What the heck..... what.. how does it do that..

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2021
  13. zipper

    zipper Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,111
    Likes Received:
    132
    GPU:
    GTX 680M
    IRL it gives mostly fine numbers, speed is affected just a little if at all.
     
  14. KissSh0t

    KissSh0t Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,455
    Likes Received:
    3,369
    GPU:
    ASUS RX 470 Strix
    Does it degrade health of drive faster than without rapid mode enabled?
     
  15. Chastity

    Chastity Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,764
    Likes Received:
    954
    GPU:
    Nitro 5700 XT
    It sets up a RAM cache. The cache is harmless to your SSD. I use a 8GB cache on my system, mostly to help my HDD from being hammered by torrents. <3 32GB...
     
    KissSh0t and 386SX like this.

  16. 386SX

    386SX Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,138
    Likes Received:
    1,158
    GPU:
    AMD Vega64 RedDevil
    No. If at all it will have a positive impact on health because writes go through the buffer and some writes may be altered or deleted shortly after (temp files).
    But think of power outages, they could lead to data loss because the buffer will be gone instantly.
     
    Last edited: Mar 19, 2021
    KissSh0t likes this.
  17. Chastity

    Chastity Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,764
    Likes Received:
    954
    GPU:
    Nitro 5700 XT
    laptop users, not a problem. desktop users should have a UPS. if not, you deserve data loss
     
  18. mikeysg

    mikeysg Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,799
    Likes Received:
    384
    GPU:
    Nitro+ RX 6900 XT
    I get no love with Samsung Magician, I hadn't used it in a while but it was working flawlessly previously, so imagine my surprise when it crashed on me. I figured with all the Windows updates I'd installed, perhaps there was a compatibility issue.

    I saw that 6.3.0 was available (my previous installation was 6.2.x I think), so I uninstalled it and installed the new one, still no love, it crashed. Thing is, I would love to have it working again as I have four Samsung SSD's installed in my rig and would love some way of monitoring them.
     
  19. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,012
    Likes Received:
    4,075
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    clear the applications settings from appdata.
     

Share This Page