1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ryzen Zen 2 Procs Incompatible With some Older 300-Series due to BIOS limitation?

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Apr 16, 2019.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    35,678
    Likes Received:
    4,808
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    chispy likes this.
  2. Fox2232

    Fox2232 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,469
    Likes Received:
    2,082
    GPU:
    5700XT+AW@240Hz
    Well, many older boards predating APU releases were not exactly best choices for them due to VRMs not being sufficient for iGPU.
    One should consider it from technological perspective and then assess if it is reasonable or not.

    Last thing company wants is to enable upgrade which will prove to cause issues.

    Edit: On other hand, MSI lately makes boards which are not up to standard in their price range. And one is more often than not better off buying board from other manufacturer. Therefore there is chance that it may be just some or all MSI's boards.
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2019
    DeskStar likes this.
  3. Clawedge

    Clawedge Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,429
    Likes Received:
    623
    GPU:
    Radeon 570
    Well crap. Not cool. But still better than you know who.

    At least AMD supported 1000 and 2000 chips on the 300 series chipset
     
    386SX likes this.
  4. Kaarme

    Kaarme Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,557
    Likes Received:
    436
    GPU:
    Sapphire 390
    If it truly is universal and not only a strong excuse for the mobo makers to boost their sales, I don't see it being hugely different from the scumbag move Intel did with Coffee Lake. In some sense it would be even worse because Intel never promises future compatibility and everybody more or less expects incompatibility from Intel these days. That's so even when Intel is being especially nasty like how they were by releasing the incompatible Coffee Lake so soon after the "we have perfect trust in" Kaby Lake. Intel doesn't even pretend to be customer friendly, but AMD did.

    That's why I think it would be interesting if one manufacturer made some of their models compatible, creating a PR headache for the others.
     
    Keitosha and TalentX like this.

  5. asturur

    asturur Master Guru

    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    55
    GPU:
    Geforce Gtx 1080TI
    For bios chip are we talking about the chip that contains the UEFI OS layer?
    I believe they can cut on corners and made the code fit? Like a bios for people that wants to install it and will remove some functionality to save space. ( like checking from the internet if a new bios is available or this kind of things )
     
    Keitosha likes this.
  6. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,555
    Likes Received:
    2,775
    GPU:
    1080Ti @h2o
    Honestly, even with AMD this had to happen at some point. I did not expect them to support their new releases on older mainboard forever.
    What they should do is to offer a BIOS which you can flash under your own discretion (and under no warranty) that removes Ryzen 1000 compatability in favour of adding Ryzen 3000 BIOS. Would be a simple BIOS flash, if they offered such a version anyway.
     
  7. Deckard

    Deckard Master Guru

    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    MSI GeForce 980Ti 6GB SLI
    The Asus Crosshair VI Hero & Extreme x370 Motherboard have 128 Mb Flash ROM. so as far as I am reading it my x370 CHVIE should be OK
     
  8. BuildeR2

    BuildeR2 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,827
    Likes Received:
    121
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080 Ti FTW3
    If this ends up being true for some motherboards, won't some enterprising modders take a whack at it?
     
  9. TalentX

    TalentX Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 / 8GB
    Not like you need a +100 bucks mainboard for a gaming-rig anyway...
     
  10. HardwareCaps

    HardwareCaps Master Guru

    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    154
    GPU:
    x
    AMD lied basically claiming AM4 support up to 2020? That's pretty lame....
     
    gx-x, typhon6657 and dunadan101 like this.

  11. Deckard

    Deckard Master Guru

    Messages:
    419
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    MSI GeForce 980Ti 6GB SLI
    Not sure what you mean, elaborate please on your pearl of wisdom
     
    typhon6657 likes this.
  12. dunadan101

    dunadan101 Member

    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    GeForce GTX 1070
    This tbqh... Bought a 1600x with a quite expensive kit of Ryzen compatible 3200Mhz Cl14 FlareX because my already very good DDR4 Corsair 3Ghz ram wouldn't work on the AM4 platform but I thought down the line I'ld save money anyway. Like many people only reason I bought a Ryzen rather than a faster Intel cpu was that I was promised 7nm Ryzen2 compatibility down the line. Looking at the comments people are jumping to make excuses for them already, Oh.. guess it's okay when AMD does it huh? If true, this really sucks. I'll keep my fingers crossed.
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2019
    gx-x and typhon6657 like this.
  13. las

    las Master Guru

    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    30
    GPU:
    1080 Ti @ 2+ GHz
    Oh, you mean, just like Intel does on consumer line?

    I have never understood why people want to use an old and outdated motherboard with a new CPU anyway. Motherboards are not expensive (unless you're stupid and buy the expensive ones) and it's easier to sell an old CPU with a motherboard.

    I always buy a new board when I buy a new CPU. I want the latest features.
     
  14. fantaskarsef

    fantaskarsef Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,555
    Likes Received:
    2,775
    GPU:
    1080Ti @h2o
    Not everybody has the money, and in theory, this could have been a way for AMD to bind people to their brand / socket for more than two or three years.
    But in general I buy a new MB myself with every iteration of a CPU.
     
    typhon6657 and airbud7 like this.
  15. Clawedge

    Clawedge Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,429
    Likes Received:
    623
    GPU:
    Radeon 570
    @las
    Always helpful if you have say an old mobo and new CPU and want to make a useable system.

    Came across multiple instances where an Ivy bridge chip would not work on a Sandy bridge mobo (socket 1155). Was a major inconvenience.
     

  16. chispy

    chispy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    8,758
    Likes Received:
    890
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti - RX 580
    @Hilbert Hagedoorn , Asus have already released 2 new Bios updates for the new upcoming cpus for all of their motherboards x370 , B350 , A320 hence i do not think there will be major problems if Asus can deliver new Bios for the old x370s , B350s also including the basic A320 chipset line of motherboards , meaning all Asus motherboards AM4 do support the new upcoming processors. If Asus have already released this Bios updates for all the AM4 motherboards up to and including older x370 , B350 , A320 , x470 ,B450 , i would think every manufacturer will release Bios updates too supporting the new upcoming processors. Let us hope and let's cross our fingers that every manufacturer release new Bios supporting the new upcoming cpus. AMD promise support of AM4 until year 2020 :)

    Examples and pictures from Asus website support page ( source ) :

    Asus ROG Crossahir 6 Hero " x370 " : https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/ROG-CROSSHAIR-VI-HERO/HelpDesk_BIOS/


    [​IMG]

    Asus Strix B350-F Gaming " B350 " : https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/ROG-STRIX-B350-F-GAMING/HelpDesk_BIOS/

    [​IMG]


    Asus Prime A320M-A ( the most basic and old motherboard from Asus line up supports the new upcomming cpus :) " A320 " chipset. : https://www.asus.com/Motherboards/PRIME-A320M-A/HelpDesk_BIOS/


    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Apr 16, 2019
    Kool64, typhon6657, Killian38 and 5 others like this.
  17. 386SX

    386SX Master Guru

    Messages:
    396
    Likes Received:
    416
    GPU:
    AMD Vega64 RedDevil
    Sry but no. 128Mb are 128 megabit (lowercase "b"), not megabyte. 8 bit equals 1 byte. So 128 : 8 = 16 (megabyte). 32 megabytes are needed.
     
    Evildead666 likes this.
  18. Aniboom

    Aniboom Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    RX 480 TwinTurbo
    Fancy thing is that I have a MSI B450M Bazooka V2 and it has a 128Mb Flash too with a 4+2 VRM design but somehow mine supports 3000 series according to these details.

    I may be a dreamer but I'll hold on AMD's words for general AM4 support until 2020.

    Hope the future won't prove me wrong. :D
     
    Jagman and Evildead666 like this.
  19. Turnet

    Turnet New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    RTX 2080 8GB
    No, they didn't. Don't blame AMD if it's obviously not true. ASUS already supports 300-series Motherboards with newer BIOS and AGESA which includes support for the upcoming Zen2-CPUs.

    So assuming MSI won't support 300-series because of BIOS limitation is just wrong. Zen2-support for the 300-series is possible for ASUS but not for MSI? Come on.
     
    Aura89, Jagman, Keitosha and 2 others like this.
  20. TalentX

    TalentX Member

    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 / 8GB
    For the mere purpose of gaming the mainboards you've mentioned are overpriced. Considering the bummer, if upgrade incompatibility remains, it would've hurt less if you have to change a cheaper mainboard instead one that costs twice as much or even more.
     

Share This Page