Ryzen DRAM Calculator 1.5.1 release (overclocking DRAM on AM4)

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by 1usmus, Jul 28, 2018.

  1. anub1s18

    anub1s18 Member Guru

    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    Nvidia RTX2070S /WC
    was gone wait till i had the cooling sorted but decided to do some tinkering anyway.. so far this ram isn't treating me nearly as nicely as the micron-E but i wasn't really pushing that at all. first tried to drag down 1 of the timings to 16-16-19-19-39 at 1.35v (default which i later just kept is 16-19-19-19-39) was greeted by a need to clear cmos :p which on this fancy board involves a screwdriver (my cheap ancient Z97 board had a nice button at the back...miss it already) figured it'd go about as well but wanted to try it anyway.

    reset to default manually plugged in voltages/frequency/ docp timings (16-19-19-19-36 left the rest to auto for the time beeing mostly seems looser then specified so higher odd's of success?)
    set dram voltage to 1.45, upped dram frequency to 3800, FLCK to 1900 upped soc voltage to 1.125 (1.12 specifically was not selectable)

    posted got in to windows, ran the dram calculator memtest latency shot from ~71/75 to 168/175 which was extremely noticeable, dove back in to the bios undid what i did back to manual stock and it's fine again...not sure what happend there but i'll need to play a lot more with it later i feel :p

    probably also won't hurt to have a solid bios/AGESA version (still feel quite like a beta tester in that department >.< it works but pumping 1.45v in to the cpu in the bios doesn't feel like that's how things should be, that's the default out the box /loaded optimized defaults experience)

    did check in ryzen master ram was running at 3800Mhz and FLCK was 1900Mhz timings seemed to be normal no idea what caused it. did notice after the warning it took about 3x as long for the test to start it's threads which already raised a red flag for me :p
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2019
  2. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,343
    Likes Received:
    763
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    Well I agree you may need to play a little more when you get time.
    I can make suggestions all day but if your not comfortable with setting higher voltages ,that is OK and you should play around until you are satisfied.Good luck.
     
  3. alpha007org

    alpha007org Active Member

    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    Gigabyte 7950 Windforce 3
    I have 3600X and G Skill 3600 2x8GB 16-16-16-36, Samsung B-Die. This was supposed to be a good RAM kit. BUT. When I check AIDA Memory speed it is 50356 MB/s read, 28000 write, 47000 Copy. I have Asus TUF-X570 and in BIOS profile is set to run at 3600. BIOS us up to date.

    Those are some strange numbers, no?

    If I use DRAM Calc and use "Safe" numbers, system does not boot and goes into "light brick" - Have to take out the ram sticks, turn on, turn off, sticks back in and hope it would boot. Clear CMOS does not do anything. PC looks bricked...
     
  4. Kool64

    Kool64 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,114
    Likes Received:
    440
    GPU:
    Gigabyte RTX2070S
    C16 Bdie isn't quite as good as C14 Bdie.
     
    386SX likes this.

  5. 386SX

    386SX Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,170
    Likes Received:
    1,240
    GPU:
    AMD Vega64 RedDevil
    @alpha007org : Your numbers match my profile for 3200 MHz on 1st gen Ryzen. Except write, where I am at about 50k still.
    Your latency in AIDA64 mem bench?
     
  6. LyxisTR

    LyxisTR New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    GTX 1650 Super
    yo bro i have micron b-die and micron d-die modules im using my rams at 2800mhz 16-17-17-34-51 (default is 2400mhz 16-16-16-39-55) how should i overlock my rams for d-die or for b-die ?
     
  7. Ripcord

    Ripcord Active Member

    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    gtx1060 3GB
    typically you would want to use the worst timings for both sticks(the timing on the worse stick on both)
     

Share This Page