Ryzen DRAM Calculator 1.5.1 release (overclocking DRAM on AM4)

Discussion in 'Processors and motherboards AMD' started by 1usmus, Jul 28, 2018.

  1. Clouseau

    Clouseau Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,443
    Likes Received:
    272
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX GTX 1080
    Great article. Thank for the work @1usmus.
     
  2. Dennis OShaughnessy

    Dennis OShaughnessy New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    DUAL-GTX1060-6G
    Very nice piece of work. Thanks for sharing your time and expertise
     
  3. Amaze

    Amaze Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,192
    Likes Received:
    599
    GPU:
    1070ti 2114/4350
    1usmus posted this on Overclock:

     
  4. Dazz

    Dazz Master Guru

    Messages:
    866
    Likes Received:
    89
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX RTX 2080
    A massive thank you @1usmus for your hard work. I used the tool with my T-force 8Pack 3200CL14 Samsung B-die and it worked great with the settings provided at 3600Mhz CL14-15-15. I think i have squeezed as much performance out of this processor i can get now lol.

    I couldn't use it on my Corsair Vengeance PLX cause i don't know what Hynix memory types Corsair used on them.
     

  5. Amaze

    Amaze Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,192
    Likes Received:
    599
    GPU:
    1070ti 2114/4350
    Thaiphoon Burner will tell you what type it is. I have Hynix AFR for example.
     
  6. Morax

    Morax Active Member

    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    Asus RX Vega 64
    Thank you for this great tool!

    I went from an Intel platform to an AMD Ryzen 2700X, but kept the quad memory kit.

    The memory didn't work at the advertised XMP-settings at all (16-16-16-36@2800MHz, 1.2V, no-QVL), but this tool saved my day!
    The modules now operate perfectly stable at 14-15-15-32@3066MHz with a voltage setting of 1.38V (higher speeds should be possible but timings would be a lot looser according to the tool).
     
  7. 386SX

    386SX Master Guru

    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    760
    GPU:
    AMD Vega64 RedDevil
    @1usmus : Did you change anything serious from v1.4 to v1.6.x? I see some values (TCKE for example) going from 1 to 8 again (got almost all your versions in my storage to compare since 1.x) in SAFE settings, Samsung B-die @ 3200MHz CL14, and some other values changing slightly.

    My current problem is I did a BIOS update and since then my system is unstable, regardless of what I choose (current @ SAFE w/ 3200MHz, 2 modules). I read my RAM's timings from XMP and TRFC is set to 560 in XMP, but SAFE profile lists it as 256 (regular, is set currently in my BIOS) or 252 (alt).
    I notice the unstable setting when playing games like Sniper Ghost Warrior 3 (quits straight to desktop without error message on desktop with APP HANG in error log) or other games, which quit suddenly and without errors, only in the log "APP HANG" is visible. Nothing is overclocked, settings SAFE like I said above and under ADVANCED I took the most stable settings for RAM (load line calibration and stuff).

    RAM is set to 1.36V currently with SAFE settings from 1.6.0.2. Do I need more juice on those or do I have to change other values? I already followed your block diagram as far as I could, but it made my system even more unstable so after hours of fiddling around I reset all the stuff and used the settings above.

    Any help is appreciated.
     
  8. zombienerd

    zombienerd New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Arez Strix Vega 64
    I'm running 32gb of Hynix CJB (16gb x2). Using the safe preset, I get one memory error every hour or so in memtest86. Do you have any recommendations on which timing to move, and in which direction? I already bumped voltage to 1.4 with same result.

    https://imgur.com/f5Zt4QH
     
    Last edited: Aug 12, 2019
  9. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,088
    Likes Received:
    626
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    More voltage 1.45v
     
  10. Evildead666

    Evildead666 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    265
    GPU:
    Vega64/EKWB/Noctua
    Using the latest Tool 16.0.0.3, I got my F4-3200C14D-16GVK to 3800C16-16-16-16 as indicated in the tool, using the timings provided by the tool.
    Only 1.4v so far though, instead of the recommended 1.45v.
    Not fully loaded yet to test. Coming later. Old Memtest works.

    Sweet timings, 63.1ns latency so far. :)
    Thanks :)
     

  11. Evildead666

    Evildead666 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    265
    GPU:
    Vega64/EKWB/Noctua
    1.41V, go up in increments. ;)
     
  12. anub1s18

    anub1s18 Member Guru

    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    nv GTX 980 TI @ 1.4 WC
    so i just got some trident Z neo (32gb CL16-19-19-i wanna say 39?) am i correct in assuming hynix MFR is not supported by the tool currently or did i do something wrong? thought i was getting samsung b-die got hynix MFR instead...apparently
     
  13. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,088
    Likes Received:
    626
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    Download Latest on this site.Comes with DRAM Calculator and thaiphoon burner with memory benchmark built in.
    https://www.guru3d.com/files-details/download-ryzen-dram-calculator.html

    In thaiphoon burner export your XMP profile with complete HTML Report and scroll down to save delays in nanoseconds to desktop or somewhere you would remember.
    Then import the XMP complete HTML Report to DRAM Calculator for Ryzen

    Then in the DRAM Calculator for Ryzen pick the settings you want and try them,they are meant as a guide and if you have a couple of errors give more voltage.
    If games crash/stop/hitch/stutter then your RAM timings are incorrect and you need to set them properly.This is why the DRAM Calculator for Ryzen is perfect guide for someone/anyone out there.

    https://i.**********/ht6TKMpn/Desktop-Screenshot-2019-09-11-13-30-07-60-2.png
     
  14. Evildead666

    Evildead666 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,281
    Likes Received:
    265
    GPU:
    Vega64/EKWB/Noctua
    I'm getting wicked timings from my B-die using the Dram calculator.
    I used the Fast settings, and didn't use quite as much voltage as set.
    It said 1.45V I tried 1.4 and settled on 1.42V.

    edit : (So far)
     
  15. anub1s18

    anub1s18 Member Guru

    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    nv GTX 980 TI @ 1.4 WC
    tried it that way and it is indeed in the dropdown but when i try to calculate safe it just comes up with a little box saying not supported :(
     

  16. liviut

    liviut Active Member

    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    Sapphire TRI-X R9 290
    If it says unsupported i would say you are trying to calculate a very high speed like 3800 or so try lower and see if it does the same.
     
  17. anub1s18

    anub1s18 Member Guru

    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    nv GTX 980 TI @ 1.4 WC
    i am trying to calculate for 3600mhz (it's a 3600mhz kit so...seemed appropriate). setting it to 3200 indeed seems to work :eek:

    hmmmm 3200 cl 14-15-16-16 or 3600 cl16-19-19-19

    3466 seems to be the highest i can calculate atm at which point it's requiring 0.1v more then stock but still aiming for cl14-17-17-17

    i am getting the distinct impression for 3600mhz this kit's overclocking headroom is gone be pretty slim, most of the things i found about this type of ram is talking much lower speeds (and generally not talking about it in a positive maner)

    but it already chopped 10ns? off my latency compared to my previous temporary cause all good ram was out of stock kingston hyper-x (micron-E) so at least yay for that :p
     
    Last edited: Sep 12, 2019
  18. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,088
    Likes Received:
    626
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    Just sounds like the tool is not updated completely and I can understand that,so many different RAM kits out there.Try out these settings below.Good luck
    I have no clue on what you are trying to do or want or motherboard LOL.I assume you would like some faster timing at 3600Mhz on your RAM you have.
    I am also assuming you have at least at minimum Ryzen 3600,otherwise not a chance of these setting would work.

    Disable-PBO for now,can re-enable anytime
    Set DRAM voltage to 1.5v for now ,can lower later and use recommended setting from DRAM Calculator for Ryzen Screen Shot Below
    cLDO VDDG - 0.950v You can adjust to Max voltage,use recommended setting from DRAM Calculator for Ryzen Screen Shot Below
    cLDO VDDP - 0.900v You can adjust to Max voltage,use recommended setting from DRAM Calculator for Ryzen Screen Shot Below
    SOC - 1.12v -Set to max from DRAM Calculator for Ryzen Screen Shot Below for now.You can use higher than max on your system for stability up to 1.20v
    DDR4-Set to 3600Mhz DRAM Calculator for Ryzen Screen Shot Below.If it does not boot at DRAM Voltage 1.5v change tCL to 16 and try again

    The memory clock (mclk), the memory controller clock (uclk), and the infinity fabric clock (fclk) all need to be synced and set to ratio1:1:1 for best results.
    So in BIOS set fclk-1800Mhz or half of DRAM Calculator for Ryzen Screen Shot Below
    So in BIOS set mclk=uclk I have no idea what motherboard you have.Motherboard should set automatically to sync


    https://i.**********/ZRkpDN8c/Untitled.png
     
  19. anub1s18

    anub1s18 Member Guru

    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    nv GTX 980 TI @ 1.4 WC
    just looking to optimize my rig really not chasing any world records :p

    had this ryzen thing for 2 month's now and it seems to appreciate ram quite a lot and personal oc time not so much so i'm just trying to find if my ram mainly the subtimings can be tightened more without going crazy :p

    just for info my rig is :
    amd 3900X (currently still boxed cooler, gooing custom liquid next week barring unforeseen circomstances/ should make the ram temperature's a lot nicer)
    mobo : Asus X570 Strix-E
    ram : G.skill trident Z neo 32gb 3600Mhz (F4-3600C16D-32GTZNC) i got cheap cause this upgrade was getting way more expensive then initially planned but probably shoulda sprang for the cl16-16-16 kit feel like the hynix MFR's could not possibly achieve that at 1.35v but was under the impression all g.skill trident Z neo was samsung b-die >.<

    thanks for the settings i'll give those a try see how it responds (probably after i switch my cooling, blasting 50-70 degree air towards the motherboard/ram probably isn't gone make things better
     
  20. gerardfraser

    gerardfraser Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,088
    Likes Received:
    626
    GPU:
    R9 290 Crossfire
    Nice rig,you know what I have never tried my RAM at default 1.35v settings DDR4 4000Mhz kit.Any time your going to adjust timings I would assume you need some more voltage for stability.So depending on how much your changing your timings,you may not need to adjust voltage very much.Best part it is fun testing but if you have no time,then that is not so fun.Anyway good luck.

    EDIT:
    I think you would be better off trying to run your RAM

    Default Tested Latency 16-16-16-36
    DDR4-Set to 3800Mhz
    DRAM Voltage 1.45v Lower anytime ,only for testing
    BIOS set fclk-1900Mhz
    Sub-timings from the Dram screenshot I provided and that should work for what you want.
     
    Last edited: Sep 13, 2019

Share This Page