Ryzen 3700x help

Discussion in 'General Hardware' started by emperorsfist, Oct 22, 2019.

1. emperorsfist

emperorsfist Master Guru

GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 1080 8Gb
    Hello.

I'm preparing a new CPU/MOBO/RAM combo for my PC, and am eyeing the new Ryzen 3700x (Intel has old stuff at this point in time, and is too pricey if I want to keep hyperthreading). Thing is, I have little experience with AMD CPUs, so I'd like to ask for some help. What MB and RAM would you recommend? For RAM, I've can get Kingston's HyperX Predator 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 3200 or 3333 at a cheaper price (~105$, but can't dawdle) - I've been purchasing RAM from Kingston for a long time and had mostly positive experience with them. What about the MB? Some people referred me to Gigabyte's X570 Aorus Elite or MSI's B450 Gaming Pro Carbon. This is also the price range that I'd like to not cross (you can always go up when it comes to components, but the wallet always gives limits...)

2. anticupidon

anticupidon Ancient Guru

GPU:
    integrated
    Lots of answers, and all of them can be or not relevant.
    First, you need to set a budget and/or a specific purpose of this build.
    Then we can pinpoint some advice.
    But keep in mind that for Ryzen RAM is important.
    Choose Samsung's B-Die (you have cash to burn) Micron E-die( affordable) of go dirt cheap with Hynix.

3. emperorsfist

emperorsfist Master Guru

GPU:
    NVIDIA GTX 1080 8Gb