Ryse: Son of Rome

Discussion in 'Games, Gaming & Game-demos' started by jgomez7238, Mar 9, 2014.

  1. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,173
    Likes Received:
    1,921
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Try Intel TA driver, v1.7 is the latest.
    I uploaded it here..
    btw you can uninstall that extra security part.
     
  2. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,966
    Likes Received:
    1,982
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Armor
    Yea this game has broken Vsync AFAIK, but with my AMD card doing the borderless window and high resolution timer tweaks enabled completely locked 60 fps at all times.

    Doesn't work anymore it seems. Though I've also switched from Win 7 to Win 10 in the meantime so that could be another reason maybe.

    Thanks, will give it a try. How's your performance stutteringwise?

    (what an odd question... ;))
     
  3. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,173
    Likes Received:
    1,921
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    I played only 2 levels and it didn't stutter here now or with old 780GTX.

    If I didnt install this Intel Techology Access it would have fps drops and yeah stutter when turning around.. Win8.1 was fine, its only win10 specific and that ITA driver fixes it.
     
  4. Netherwind

    Netherwind Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,678
    Likes Received:
    1,544
    GPU:
    MSI 3080 Gaming X
    Intel Technology Driver helped me too with stuttering in a select few games.
     

  5. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,966
    Likes Received:
    1,982
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Armor
    Thanks guys, indeed the ITA driver fixed the stutters, now smooth sailing. Guru3D knowledge paying off once more!

    So what is this ITA driver exactly? I browsed through the installation logs and it seems to replace some default .infs at least.
     
  6. Memorian

    Memorian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    247
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    I have Intel TA 1.9.0.1021 installed, so i guess that's the latest.
     
  7. darrensimmons

    darrensimmons Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,627
    Likes Received:
    64
    GPU:
    GIGABYTE RTX3090 OC
    I don't seem to have this installed at all?
     
  8. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,173
    Likes Received:
    1,921
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    AsiJu

    is for cpu timing and other remote management settings.



    Link?
     
    Last edited: Apr 26, 2016
  9. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,413
    Likes Received:
    4,427
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    "Intel® Technology Access:
    Usage:
    Intel® Technology Access exposes the 2-in-1 sensor and display setting detection to the browser applications using web services. The 2-in-1 sensor determines the mode of a device (for example: tablet mode or clamshell mode). The Display settings detect and get the screen resolution and orientation values"

    What the hell that has to with game stuttering? Come on guys...
     
  10. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,173
    Likes Received:
    1,921
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    Well, win8.x doesn't need it, but win10 does for this game or it will have fps drops and stutters.. Maybe its also nv specific.
     

  11. Memorian

    Memorian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    247
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
  12. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,966
    Likes Received:
    1,982
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Armor
    Like -Tj- said apparently this driver tinkers with timer resolution, possibly resolving stuttering issues with certain games. So the benefit is a byproduct of having this driver installed.

    I can confirm first hand this driver eliminates stuttering in Ryse in Win 10 (with NV hardware).

    Before when I played with an AMD card in Win 7, adding the sys_highrestimer=1 to games system.cfg fixed stuttering (and r_fullscreenwindow=1 for borderless window to enable triple buffering/Vsync).
    That tweak however no longer works in W10.
     
    Last edited: Apr 27, 2016
  13. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    17,173
    Likes Received:
    1,921
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
  14. Memorian

    Memorian Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,098
    Likes Received:
    247
    GPU:
    RTX 3080
    If you install version 1.7, it auto-updates and adds 1.9.

    I have 2 ITA installed:

    [​IMG]
     
  15. Agonist

    Agonist Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,111
    Likes Received:
    383
    GPU:
    XFX 5700XT Raw II
    I have the exact same issue.

    Tried 1.7 and 1.9 downloads.

    Got the game today.

    It looks fantastic, but my god the fps drops are crazy.
    Its all over the place.
    Goes from 25 fps to 60 and back up and down.
    Some stuttering once and a while.

    3360x1440@60hz downsampling 16.4.2 driver. Fury X is stock clocks. Freesync monitor with 32-75fps hacked inf.

    Maybe I really need this intel driver.
     
    Last edited: Apr 28, 2016

  16. evilkiller650

    evilkiller650 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,804
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac 980ti AMP! Extreme
    I just got this today.
    A very, very fun and well made game. The combat is damn satisfying.
    4k, maximum settings (no super-sampling though, that drives the FPS down to 20-30) 50+FPS consistently. No slow downs.
    One of the best looking games I've seen.
    At 6 bucks, it's a STEAL.


    But.... I have reached the harbour and I am getting constant crashes. It was perfect before this area. It's unplayable. My GPU is at stock.
    I done a Google search and it seems this is common. I hope I can find a fix.
     
  17. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,966
    Likes Received:
    1,982
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Armor
    Try it, worked for me.

    You could also try adding sys_highrestimer=1 to system.cfg file in the game folder (.../steamapps/common/...) if you already haven't.
    That fixed stuttering on my previous AMD GPU for me.

    Also fullscreen Vsync may cause framedrops too, the ingame Vsync doesn't work properly triple buffered iirc.
     
  18. Anarion

    Anarion Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    13,604
    Likes Received:
    378
    GPU:
    GeForce RTX 3060 Ti
    That's when borderless windowed mode comes in handy.
     
  19. evilkiller650

    evilkiller650 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,804
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac 980ti AMP! Extreme
    I am still getting crashes.
    My GPU and CPU are all completely stock.
    But, I just verified the game cache and something was wrong with 3 files and I am fixing it now. The 3 corrupt/missing files are quite large as well. I am downloading at 20MBs+ and it's taking several minutes to fix it!!
    I really hope this was the cause!!
     
  20. AsiJu

    AsiJu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,966
    Likes Received:
    1,982
    GPU:
    MSI RTX 2070 Armor
    ^ could be if you kept crashing at the same spot. Good luck!
     

Share This Page