RX Vega Owners Thread, Tests, Mods, BIOS & Tweaks !

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by OnnA, Aug 15, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. slicer

    slicer Member Guru

    Messages:
    128
    Likes Received:
    41
    GPU:
    Sapphire Vega 64
    For some reasons, I can't get custom fan curve working when using SoftPPT. Any ideas?
     
  2. darce2

    darce2 New Member

    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Vega 64
    Do you playBFV?
     
  3. Strijker

    Strijker Member

    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Sapphire Vega 56
    Yep .Mostly it's the memory that's getting too hot then.
     
  4. jimpsar

    jimpsar Active Member

    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Asus 2080ti
    No I don't my friend
     

  5. Kaerar

    Kaerar Master Guru

    Messages:
    356
    Likes Received:
    43
    GPU:
    RX Vega 64
    I was getting that crash in Ark, turns out it was an issue with textures in the game causing the crash. Downclocking didn't prevent it. I haven't had that crash outside of Ark though.
     
    jimpsar likes this.
  6. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,285
    Likes Received:
    2,522
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Just remeber that every game (UE3/4, CryEngine, FrostBite etc.) need different OC.
    I have disovered that UE4 games like less HBM2 OC.
    FrostBite -> easy 1150/975mV (BF V 3-4h NP)
    UE4 -> 1135/975

    And of course Games are somewhat buggy in their 'nature' ;) sometimes De-OC helps, and sometimes not.
     
    darce2 and jimpsar like this.
  7. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,285
    Likes Received:
    2,522
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    AMD/ATI High Bandwidth Cache HBCC for Vega GPU (Tech in glance):

    The best side-tech (i mean support Tech) is HBCC
    High Bandwidth Cache Size: 8192 MB (Yes it shows 16GB VRAM in all games)

    Yes you can add (in AMD StoreMI Technology, Primo Cache or other cache soft.) RAM into SSD/HDD for games to be more responsive.
    But HBCC is on another Level of that 'story' :D

    Here is example (HBCC at default +2GB or 4GB)
    Yes less RAM cuz' game has Cache (HBM2 is as 1st Lev. cache :p)

    RAM consumption is much larger in GPUs without HBCC
    Good example is FuryX or GTX980, but it's also 1GB less than 11GB 1080Ti...

    Still better example is AC: Origins... Yes it runs really good (as for DX11 HOG that's starving for Draw Calls all the time lol)
    We need more DX12/VLK games.

    [​IMG]


    And here my Settings (16GB of HBCC) for Vega is only HBCC now not VRAM, it's HBCC VRAM as a whole.
    [​IMG]

    Summarizing:
    I don't have any lag/pop-ups or similar things in Games (now with 32GB RAM)
    HBCC is one of the best VEGA Tech along with other advancements we can find in this uArch.

    Side Note:
    Even if you have 16GB is good to add HBCC until 12GB (yes further with this slider 'a notch' more, not default)
    It will not substract right away from Your RAM pool ;) only when needed.

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2018
  8. Synoxia

    Synoxia Member Guru

    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    Rog Vega 64
    I have one question.
    Why Tesselation on AMD optimized? We don't need to force X16 tesselation anymore? I'm skeptical. NVIDIA CrapWorks are scary to fps

    Btw chill + RTSS + freesync = dream smooth gameplay plus card doesn't get as hot so you can give extra OC juice for when you need it...
     
  9. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,285
    Likes Received:
    2,522
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    You can use Optimised or x8 (i prefer x8 for most of my Games)
    x6 is good for RX580 or FuryX
    For Vega You can go and leave it alone, or give (like me) x8
    For 3Dmark we need Optimised or Default (up to x64)
     
  10. JonasBeckman

    JonasBeckman Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,703
    Likes Received:
    2,309
    GPU:
    AMD S. 5700XT Pulse
    Optimized varies, for Vega I think it's actually still 64x possibly Polaris too. Fiji and lower well probably 16x though the visual difference is pretty slim so for a possibly small performance yield (Not so small on Fiji and earlier depending on how much tessellation these use.) lowering it back to 32x or even 16x might not be a bad idea. :)

    EDIT: No it seems the actual setting might be 64x unless AMD has a profile for the game and then that takes precedence over the default value. Need to re-check again if there's any further details on the setting now. :)

    EDIT: Seems like it, 64x if AMD doesn't have override for a specific game.
    (Technically up to and capping at 64x, depending on games some might vary tessellation multipliers on more distant objects compared to objects closer to the player or camera and then it's basically a toggle for max allowed.)

    EDIT: But it also seems to heavily depend on polygon count and such, Crysis 2 for example.
    https://imgur.com/a/VorPz

    from:
    https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/3y2cdk/is_there_a_knowledge_base_of_what_amd_optimized/

    And then this:
    https://www.reddit.com/r/Amd/comments/8hx43l/what_does_amd_optimized_stand_for_in_the_radeon/

    Though Crysis 2 is often misunderstood from the wireframe view used which makes it seem like it's constantly tessellating everything and to a absurd level which wouldn't be visible by the player but that's only because wireframe makes it visible by having everything being see-through or transparent. :)

    It's a early implementation of D3D11 tessellation but it's not as bad as it often gets cited or criticized as being absolutely terrible in how it's implemented in the game.
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2018

  11. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,285
    Likes Received:
    2,522
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
     
    mikeysg and BlackZero like this.
  12. Synoxia

    Synoxia Member Guru

    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    Rog Vega 64
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2018
  13. mikeysg

    mikeysg Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    191
    GPU:
    PC VEGA64 Red Devil
    When I sold off my RTX 2080 Ti and was queried as to why, I said that a CF RX VEGA 64 system performs about the same as an RTX 2080 Ti (when CF actually works in the game), so I saw no point in keeping the RTX 2080 Ti. Also factoring into my decision was the fact that both my monitors are Freesync, I refused to pay extra for Gsync monitors. Anyway, with my Red Devil off on RMA, each of my rigs has only one VEGA 64, but I'm quite pleasantly surprised to see that the cards handle 3440x1440 and 3840x1080 gaming quite easily......most of time at max or near max setting as well.
     
    jimpsar and OnnA like this.
  14. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,285
    Likes Received:
    2,522
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    If compatibile then 100% YES
    New BIOS is always better for HW.
    For my Vega i have last one, and it's working fine (some say it has better OC potential)

    Greets :cool: Mr. @Synoxia
     
    Synoxia likes this.
  15. Synoxia

    Synoxia Member Guru

    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    Rog Vega 64
    Versione 1.8.9.0 2018/11/1589.01 MBytesGPUTweak2
    1. New Function: OC Scanner for auto overclocking. (Support RTX series only)
    2. GPU-Z now support RTX 2070 cards
    3. Enhance OSD in-game stability.
    4. New Function: Add anchor in OSD position setting section for easier position setting.

    i am using this bios from asus. Rox strix 64. Would Nitro 64 bios be compatible with my strix?
     

  16. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,285
    Likes Received:
    2,522
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Strix is ASUS
    Nitro is Sapphire
    Not compatibile for sure bro ;)

    -> https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios...X+Vega+64&interface=&memType=&memSize=&since=

    Also if You have someminor issues, just try 18.12.1 or 18.11.2 WHQL (Click Clean Install when instaling)
    -> https://www.amd.com/en/support/prev...eries/radeon-rx-vega-series/radeon-rx-vega-64

    then (if You have RyZEN) download Mainboard drivers:
    -> https://www.amd.com/en/support/chipsets/amd-socket-am4/x370

    PS. You should be fine then, and You can wait for Big One later this month :D
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2018
  17. Synoxia

    Synoxia Member Guru

    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    Rog Vega 64
    I've just checked via atiflash, seems like i am already on the latest bios. I am on 18.11.2 drivers, 18.12.1 was giving me problems.
    Wait, so DDU isn't required anymore?
    Yes i have ryzen and they are already updated. I also used Intel patcher this time before installing. (what, AMD drivers made with intel compiler? lol)
    Anyway seems like i fixed it somehow. MAYBE...
     
  18. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,285
    Likes Received:
    2,522
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    ^^ Im sometimes doing this that way (Clean Install) so i don't have Driver clutter (~1GB each lol)
    So i don't use DDU, installer doing this great (I have DDU on my PC BTW)

    Best way to OC Vega is by OverdriveN Tool + WattMan on Custom with Auto Fan and Manual Voltage control.
    Rest in WM (WattMan) on default.
     
    Last edited: Dec 11, 2018
  19. Flanker35M

    Flanker35M Active Member

    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    18
    GPU:
    MSI SeaHawk 2080Ti
  20. Synoxia

    Synoxia Member Guru

    Messages:
    147
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    Rog Vega 64
    No guys. I still have this issue on newest driver. VEGA 64 GPU CRASHES EVEN AT STOCK SETTINGS WHILE PLAYING LEAGUE OF LEGENDS.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page