1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RX Vega Owners Thread, Tests, Mods, BIOS & Tweaks !

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by OnnA, Aug 15, 2017.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Goiur

    Goiur Master Guru

    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    101
    GPU:
    AMD RX Vega 56
    Last try i made, 1075mv, uped the core target to 1650, now i get around 1600MHz 66-67ºC.

    Passed a 3dmark stress test. 1075mv core target 1650.

    [​IMG]

    I dont get this, now with a Firestrike extreme test. Why cant clock stay at 1600? Same config as above. Started around 1400-1500, maxed at 1600 second test for some time, then back to the 1550.

    edit: Could be the power target? Got it at 25%... ill try with 50%.

    [​IMG]

    Yep, it was de power target.

    [​IMG]

    Dont know if its worth the 50% power. W tops at 250 for the first test.

    Where is the sweet spot? What would you do? :D
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2018
  2. INSTG8R

    INSTG8R Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,552
    Likes Received:
    58
    GPU:
    Nitro+ Vega 64
    It’s all about thermals not power it will always adjust to stay within its Temp Target. You can see it under Advanced in GPUZ. The BIOS is set for 70C mine will peak at 75C
     
  3. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,742
    Likes Received:
    1,472
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Goiur how does it compare with Fury X? Bring us some firestrike/timespy benchmarks :p
     
  4. Goiur

    Goiur Master Guru

    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    101
    GPU:
    AMD RX Vega 56
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2018
    Undying likes this.

  5. Only Intruder

    Only Intruder Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,104
    Likes Received:
    136
    GPU:
    Sapphire Fury Nitro
    If I remember rightly, with Polaris and Vega, in wattman you can set the minimum powerstate to P6 and/or P7 (by clicking on the powerstate itself) this should help minimise clocks jumping around so drastically, the car will still throttle back though if it's exceeding thermal or power limits
     
  6. Dekaohtoura

    Dekaohtoura Master Guru

    Messages:
    277
    Likes Received:
    28
    GPU:
    Sapphire V56 Pulse
    First things first...welcome to the club.

    Now, for the real questions:

    Running FS on my V56 Pulse:

    Graphics Score: 23462
    Physics Score: 18582
    Combined Score: 5987 (???)
    Gr. Test 1: 114.5fps
    Gr. Test 2: 91.98fps
    Ph. Test: 58.99fps
    Comb. Test: 27.85fps (???)
    Score: 17623

    Can anyone explain this to me? Every score higher, except combined...how?
     
  7. Goiur

    Goiur Master Guru

    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    101
    GPU:
    AMD RX Vega 56
    FuryX benchamark was made in a fresh restart, Vega's was not, so probably background programs had something to do with it :D
     
  8. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,742
    Likes Received:
    1,472
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    That Fury X still performans admirably. If i was closer i would snatch that thing from you at 150$. :D
     
  9. Goiur

    Goiur Master Guru

    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    101
    GPU:
    AMD RX Vega 56
    FuryX pump is almost dead, unless you plan to place it in a custom loop, the fix could be more expensive than expected lol
     
  10. majestynl

    majestynl New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Vega 64
    Are you seeing same behavior in all games ?
    And when the clocks are fluctuate what happenens with your FPS.? If clocks and FPS are going down simultaneously you are power limited. If not then it's normal. As Omna saying it's the AI doing his job ;)
     

  11. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,404
    Likes Received:
    1,910
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    OP Updated (Post no.2)

    ^^ Best Power target for me is +8% Up to +25% (Higher is for FireStrike runs, 28k was with +25%)
    All in all, it depends on Work-Load.
    For:
    HBM2 @ 925-1000MHz (If Samsung, then Mod/Tweak it to V64 to have HBM2 voltage at 1.356v)

    Good Optimised Games use 1560-1630MHz (P6-P7) 0%
    Normal Games use 1592-1650MHz (P6-P7) +8%
    Hardcore encumbered DX11 games (like AC: O) use 1592-1672 (P6-P7) +12%

    Also is good to Tweak some P-states in OverdriveN Tool
    For P0-P5 You can easily go way lower on MHz ;)

    Note:
    1. HBM2 can be OC'ed all't'time -> Free Performance
    2. In OverdriveN Tool P6 & P7 at 852MHz for Net Browsing, watching Movies etc. (Max read is less than 1tW on average with 0-Core)
     
    Last edited: Nov 21, 2018
    jimpsar likes this.
  12. Goiur

    Goiur Master Guru

    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    101
    GPU:
    AMD RX Vega 56
    FPS are good, Its just me, those numbers going up and down drive me crazy lol
     
  13. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,404
    Likes Received:
    1,910
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Do You guys know that FC5 uses DX12 ;)

    Patch v1.0.241.0 notes:

    Fixes for crashes and hangs that could occur when interacting with specific items.
    Improvements to MultiGPU stability.
    Improved usability of voice-chat feature (for co-op multiplayer).
    Fixes for stereoscopic 3D when using DX12.
    Fixes for crashes on startup we have seen reported by some players, on particular configurations.
    Restructuring of game-data to reduce disc space usage and to allow for a smaller download size for new players.
     
  14. majestynl

    majestynl New Member

    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Vega 64
    hehe i can understand :) Tip: just disable clocks view in overlay. Only show FPS :D j.
     
  15. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,404
    Likes Received:
    1,910
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Vega XTX LC (As i said +10FPS minimum)

    [​IMG]
     
    MaestroBayten likes this.

  16. Goiur

    Goiur Master Guru

    Messages:
    673
    Likes Received:
    101
    GPU:
    AMD RX Vega 56
    OverdriveNtools settings are reset after reboot? I think yesterday i left custom settings on my Vega and today Overdrive shows default settings.
     
  17. G13Homi

    G13Homi Active Member

    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    23
    GPU:
    Vega 64 2x xfx
    Sapphire vega 64 for 340 Usd

    Today only 11/21/2018 from 8AM to 8PM EST Ebay is offering a 15% off coupon (PICKFAST) at checkout using the mobile app making it $340. For those curious it’s still being sold by Newegg through their Ebay store. It’s not clear whether you still get to take advantage of the 3 Game Bundle, but you definitely get it over at the Newegg site.
     
  18. Titan29

    Titan29 Master Guru

    Messages:
    295
    Likes Received:
    4
    GPU:
    Ref Vega 64/1060 6G
    Yes just got myself one for CDN $600 at newegg.ca.

    Also got a morpheus II cooler to put on, instead of the reference one.

    So I see lots of information regarding uv/oc for vega. What should be starting point?

    In GPU-Z I see a max voltage of only 1.05v at load. Is that correct, as I think out of the box volts should be around 1.2? What is a reliable tool to monitor volts?

    Ran a few heaven loops and the frequency remains in 1570-1580 range. The cooler is loud though which I am going to be replacing anyway.

    Good to be back to AMD after all that NVidia bs lately. The radeon settings seems light years ahead of the nvidia control panel (which still has XP UI in some parts).

    Will be using the 1060 as a backup gpu. Cheers
     
    OnnA and G13Homi like this.
  19. G13Homi

    G13Homi Active Member

    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    23
    GPU:
    Vega 64 2x xfx
    @OnnA, another victim.... with the custom cooler you are allowed soooo much room for tweeking, i found my sweet spot at 1630
    others have found 1782+ it really depends on the luck of the draw on your bin. or does it? honestly i dont think we know the limits of these cards yet. every single week we get new drivers that seem to give + 2-3% performance across the board, im running BFv damn near ultra everything 4k 60 fps, freesync and chill 58-70.
     
  20. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,404
    Likes Received:
    1,910
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Battlefield™ V -> Ne01 OnnA Settings Guide

    For Vega, make sure You have HBCC On (HBM2 Cache), all Quality/Default in Adrenalin !
    Do not use Adrenalin FPS Cap (Turn it off for BF1/BFV), Tesselation at Optimized, Shader cache can be set to On.

    Here screen for my Settings (i do not like Low, I have skill ;) besides you'll miss all the GFX Beauty of the Game)

    [​IMG]

    In order to remove Blurrrrrr & add some FPS Cap (for FreeSync)
    Make this file User.cfg in Game dir with shown commands (adjust to Your PC, edit w/Notepad):

    PerfOverlay.DrawFps 0
    render.DrawScreeninfo 0
    GameTime.MaxVariableFPS 70
    RenderDevice.RenderAheadLimit 3
    WorldRender.MotionBlurEnable 0

    Note:
    Game runs stable w/Flat 70FPS all the time.
    Visibility is good, You can see opponents clearly.
    No noticeable input Lag.
     
    Last edited: Nov 22, 2018
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page