1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RX Vega Owners Thread, Tests, Mods, BIOS & Tweaks !

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by OnnA, Aug 15, 2017.

  1. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,807
    Likes Received:
    489
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    ATI/AMD RX Vega Owners Thread, Tests, Mods, BIOS & Tweaks !

    Vega64 Chip size in numbers:

    GPU only (Vega64 in the 'flesh') is ~366mm²
    HBM2 Dies at ~120mm²
    GPU with gRAM the HBM2 is 486mm²

    [​IMG]

    *** ========== ***
    My UnderVolt (aka UV):

    120tW + 24tW (Average tW in test ~39!! tW)
    So Vega XTX is the Most efficient GPU on the market, Scoring easy 7.5k in TimeSpy consuming only 144tW in the process.

    OverdriveN Tool 2.0.7 beta4 (Hellm SoftPowerPlayTable key Import is possible)
    Download:
    -> https://www.dropbox.com/s/equ297p3otqu28n/OverdriveNTool 0.2.7beta4.7z?dl=1

    Hellm has created SoftPowerPlayTable key files. This PowerPlay in registry the driver will give priority over firmware PowerPlay. This is the same as on past cards where we used 'Extend Official Overclocking Limits' in MSI AB. It is a known workaround which does not cause issues to OS/driver. The registry PowerPlay can be modified like we would the VBIOS one, I will add guide soon, for now reference Linux VEGA PP linked above, info below and Hellm's post here and here.
    (It's something like BIOS Mod but Injected into WinX)
    -> https://www.overclock.net/attachments/49572

    Here Easy 1560MHz 122tW + 25tW HBM at "only" 7500 Marks
    It shows us celarly that Vega is very Power Eficient in Right Hands.

    [​IMG]

    My Best so far 28k (not Cranked Up to the Max, More PSU needed)
    -> http://hwbot.org/submission/3916844_


    [​IMG]

    ====
    Usefull links:

    1. ATIFlash is used to flash the graphics card BIOS on AMD Radeon 480, 470, 460 and older cards.

    -> New ATI Flash (working with new WinX build)
    -> ATI_flash 277

    2. BIOS Editor

    -> not yet avaible
    (guys from: http://www.overclock.net/t/1633446/preliminary-view-of-amd-vega-frontier-edition-bios/0_50 working on it )

    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    HBM_2 in the SpotLight

    HBM_2 Good Performance Gains (My Own experience, lot of testing)
    HBM_2 works similar to HBM_1 [ in 5MHz Clocks Steps e.g. 950,955,960 etc. ]

    For Vega 64 & 56 as well i suppose :)

    950-1000MHz Great "first" Gains
    1000-1050MHz Some additional UpLift noted
    1050-1100MHz Another Great Bump (Noticable, Best All around, not too Hot)

    Finally some Creazy OC:
    1150, 1175, 1185 & 1200MHz Nice for 3DMark or Heavy Games like AC: O (Yes the gain is here, it affects Lows 0.1% & 0.01% -> Best for Chill and FRC)

    1150 needs *962-968mV (Depends on Game & Chip OC 1717-1732MHz)
    1175 needs *981mV
    1180 needs *993mV
    1200 needs *1000mV and more.

    On my Vega is pointless to cross 1230MHz (Not stable enough, too much V needed for stabilize)
    Max (OC) for anything is 1210MHz to 1225MHz @ 1000-1025mV

    Note 1:
    It is for the Best to have normalized OC, you don't need more than 1702MHz for any game (in non XTX Vega)
    But you can have some really good results when combined GPU+HBM OC

    Make 1585-1647MHz /1100MHz HBM_2 or
    1575-1632MHz / 1150MHz HBM_2
    in Another words try to find some Golden Spot for your GPU (Mine is 1707/1717/1732 GPU with 1150-1175 HBM for Heavy Games)

    Note 2:
    Remember to check MHz in HWiNFO64 Just to be sure tou don't give too much of juice.
    E.g. Forza MS7 have OC profile of 1702MHz but Game don't use more than 1568MHz ! so you don't need those mV & MHz at all for this game to play smooth.

    Note 3:
    Remember to check actual MHz in Adrenalin WattMan, just to be sure you get clocks as it should be.
    e.g. 1700/1702/1707 Yes there is non 1701, 1703, 1704, 1705 !! -> It is important for OC to work FlawLess.

    Note 4:
    Make sure your Big Daddy is cooled properly (I mean DIY)
    With an little effort you can end up with some better OC with no throtling.
    Addtional Fan for the Back and maby one more for the Cooler Air for GPU to suck-in.

    * -> It is Infinity Fabric Planar Voltage Floor (Interconector mV)
    Actual HBM_2 Voltage for Vega 64 is 1.356mV (Similar to my HBM_1v-Mod for Fury)

    In theory we can Hit up to 1300MHz OC :eek: (When Cooled properly, i will conduct some testing in Winter Time ;) )
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    Vega i in a nutshell:

    • Higher clocks
    • Double rate FP16 math (Rapid Packed Math)
    • HBM2
    • New memory page management for the high-bandwidth cache controller
    • Tiled rasterization (Draw Stream Binning Rasterizer)**
    • Increased ROP efficiency via L2 (48MB) cache
    • Improved geometry engine
    • Primitive shading for even faster triangle culling
    • Direct3D feature level 12.1 graphics features (11.0/ 11.1/ 11.2/ 11.3/ 12.0/ 12.1 and is 12.2 Ready*)
    • Improved display controllers

    * 12.2 will Feature DX Raytrace addtion to DX features.

    **We will have A.I. managed - Draw Stream Binning Rasterizer in December Driver Big update >18.12.1<
    I think it will uplift Vega uArch performance by additional 20-30% (conservative prognosis)

    Thats why it's so difficult to Proper implement this Feature.
    It is implemented & enabled even now, but it needs Dev to write code by Hand ;)
    (DOOM Eternal will be good example)

    That's why ATI working on A.I. sort of managment -> How to & When + Where A.I. Tasks
    Then you can just have it everywhere (even in DX9/OGL games lol)

    This particular Feature can Give us even >50% Uplift for DeusEx MkD
    Today i've meansured Deus and end up with 65FPS Average (Ti have 67FPS)
    so add to this 32FPS and we have 97FPS average in 1440p playing DeusEx MkD !

    [​IMG]
    ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++
    RadeonPRO for Vega/Polaris and maby older GCN uArch
    3dsMAX, Maya, Blender, Unreal Engine etc.
    -> https://pro.radeon.com/en/software/prorender/download/
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2018 at 9:11 AM
  2. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,807
    Likes Received:
    489
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Some Tips for Lower POW:

    We need some Powah Tweaks for this baby for sure.
    Best is to use BIOS Mod (like in Fiji) or Balanced/Saver PowaH Profiler.

    UnderVolting Potential:


    When undervolting, we managed to stabilize at 1025mv (allegedly -- software is untrustworthy, and we haven’t probed during undervolting yet) with DPM states 6 & 7 set to a sort of fake “1652MHz.”
    Note that this creates a clock output of about 1524MHz, because AMD now has a dynamic clock, so 1652 becomes 1524 in reality. Anyway, we’ve dropped from 1200mv to 1025mv, increased the power target, and increased the clock speed overall.
    The result is here:

    [​IMG]

    We’re at a higher clock than just the 50% offset – 1524MHz, steady as a sniper, versus 1475MHz. The stock card reports “1300MHz” here, resulting in a 224MHz boost for 30W more power – not a bad trade at all, and there’s plenty more room to play if getting serious about it.
    The result is here:

    Keep monster in check:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2018 at 9:01 AM
  3. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,807
    Likes Received:
    489
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
  4. Shadowxaero

    Shadowxaero Member Guru

    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    R9 Fury Crossfire
    Gamers Nexus tried bios flashing. Seems AMD implemented security that prevents the card from booting once the stock bios is altered. Gonna be up to someone to get around that.
     

  5. Evildead666

    Evildead666 Master Guru

    Messages:
    848
    Likes Received:
    83
    GPU:
    Vega64EKWB 240PP12V
    Have they tried flashing an aircooled to liquid cooled bios with no other mods ?

    edit : Ah, its a Vega 56, so prob no.
     
  6. NvidiaFreak650

    NvidiaFreak650 Master Guru

    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    106
    GPU:
    RX Vega 64 8GB HBM2
    Not even going to flash my Vega 64 unless it's from AMD but lucky there a second bios for in case.

    Also I do not like Enhanced Sync, it's not smooth as FreeSync but Frame Rate is high but I don't feel anything at that high Frame Rate. in other words 75hz with Freesync destroy Enhanced Sync over 120fps.

    Yes I know people going to get mad, why you using 2560x1080 @ 75hz lock on a Vega 64, well it use less power with FreeSync at 75hz & it feel super smooth.
     
  7. Shadowxaero

    Shadowxaero Member Guru

    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    R9 Fury Crossfire
    A lot of us were hoping Vega 56 was unlockable just like Fiji Pro was.

    Vega 56 is a more attractive card and if Bios flashing were/is made possible, it can be unlocked to match the performance of Vega 64 and probably at a lower wattage.

    But it seems all the retailers starting selling Vega 64 at 599 (not the bundle, just the card by itself).
     
  8. NvidiaFreak650

    NvidiaFreak650 Master Guru

    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    106
    GPU:
    RX Vega 64 8GB HBM2
    One day with RX Vega 64, I see Image Quality is better then RX 480.

    What I mean by that is the game picture quality on max setting look cleaner & more detail. AF 16x force in AMD Control Panel look more sharp & clean, Just Cause 3 look more detail in area like ground texture, grass, NPC & main character skin & his boots.
     
  9. Newbie2012

    Newbie2012 Active Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX Vega 64 8GB-CustomLoop
    Mine should arrive tomorrow , 64 air.
     
  10. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,880
    Likes Received:
    151
    GPU:
    Sapp. RX Vega 64 LC

  11. Ryu5uzaku

    Ryu5uzaku Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,693
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    980ti gaming 1490/7700
  12. pharma

    pharma Master Guru

    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    43
    GPU:
    Asus Strix GTX 1080
    Ryan of AnandTech asked AMD specifically and replied they are enabled.
    https://forum.beyond3d.com/posts/1995903/
     
  13. foxX

    foxX Member Guru

    Messages:
    112
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire Radeon 290 Tri-X
    I am quite certain this is douchebaggery on the AMD side tho. Circa 2011 I was upgrading from my Radeon 4850 to a Radeon 6950. Upon seeing the difference in image quality I was stunned and I said "WTF?!?!?" - it was DRAMATICALLY better. So I got really mad, reinstalled the Radeon 4850 and started "going back" in time with Driver Cleaner (I think that's what it was called back then?) and ever older drivers. Lo and behold, I eventually found some older drivers that were both working with Diablo 3 and showcasing good image quality, some stuff from 2008-2009.

    I am convinced AMD have stuff in their driver like

    Code:
    if (latestCardGeneration - usersCardGeneration > 1)
        image = Shiettify(image);
    
    ShowOnScreen(image);
     
  14. Ryu5uzaku

    Ryu5uzaku Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,693
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    980ti gaming 1490/7700
    Sounds like it does nothing then vs Fiji and Polaris. At least according to tests done towards culling.
     
  15. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,807
    Likes Received:
    489
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Because it's enabled like ;)
    P_Shader=1 #but not in use :D
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2017

  16. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,807
    Likes Received:
    489
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2017
  17. elijahk33

    elijahk33 Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 380X
    are the 3 power profiles changed in the Radeon Settings or via hardware switch?
     
  18. pharma

    pharma Master Guru

    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    43
    GPU:
    Asus Strix GTX 1080
  19. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    15,299
    Likes Received:
    820
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX980Ti OC
    ^

    Looks like avg max oc, 1750mhz and stock vram, other with both OCed.

    I expected more though, I get 21k gpu on my at 1420mhz, not that far behind either, 5-10fps difference :nerd:
     
  20. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,807
    Likes Received:
    489
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    Stock Air + OC
     

Share This Page