RX Vega Owners Thread, Tests, Mods, BIOS & Tweaks !

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by OnnA, Aug 15, 2017.

  1. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,692
    Likes Received:
    136
    GPU:
    Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2017
  2. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,692
    Likes Received:
    136
    GPU:
    Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
    Some Tips for Lower POW:

    We need some Powah Tweaks for this baby for sure.
    Best is to use BIOS Mod (like in Fiji) or Balanced/Saver PowaH Profiler.

    UnderVolting Potential:

    When undervolting, we managed to stabilize at 1025mv (allegedly -- software is untrustworthy, and we haven’t probed during undervolting yet) with DPM states 6 & 7 set to a sort of fake “1652MHz.”
    Note that this creates a clock output of about 1524MHz, because AMD now has a dynamic clock, so 1652 becomes 1524 in reality. Anyway, we’ve dropped from 1200mv to 1025mv, increased the power target, and increased the clock speed overall.
    The result is here:

    [​IMG]

    We’re at a higher clock than just the 50% offset – 1524MHz, steady as a sniper, versus 1475MHz. The stock card reports “1300MHz” here, resulting in a 224MHz boost for 30W more power – not a bad trade at all, and there’s plenty more room to play if getting serious about it.
    The result is here:

    [​IMG]




    Keep monster in check:

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2017
  3. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,692
    Likes Received:
    136
    GPU:
    Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
    #2 Reserved for Tweaks etc.
     
  4. Shadowxaero

    Shadowxaero Member Guru

    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    R9 Fury Crossfire
    Gamers Nexus tried bios flashing. Seems AMD implemented security that prevents the card from booting once the stock bios is altered. Gonna be up to someone to get around that.
     

  5. Evildead666

    Evildead666 Master Guru

    Messages:
    671
    Likes Received:
    39
    GPU:
    Vega64EKWB 240PP12V
    Have they tried flashing an aircooled to liquid cooled bios with no other mods ?

    edit : Ah, its a Vega 56, so prob no.
     
  6. NvidiaFreak650

    NvidiaFreak650 Master Guru

    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    RX Vega 64 8GB HBM2
    Not even going to flash my Vega 64 unless it's from AMD but lucky there a second bios for in case.

    Also I do not like Enhanced Sync, it's not smooth as FreeSync but Frame Rate is high but I don't feel anything at that high Frame Rate. in other words 75hz with Freesync destroy Enhanced Sync over 120fps.

    Yes I know people going to get mad, why you using 2560x1080 @ 75hz lock on a Vega 64, well it use less power with FreeSync at 75hz & it feel super smooth.
     
  7. Shadowxaero

    Shadowxaero Member Guru

    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    R9 Fury Crossfire
    A lot of us were hoping Vega 56 was unlockable just like Fiji Pro was.

    Vega 56 is a more attractive card and if Bios flashing were/is made possible, it can be unlocked to match the performance of Vega 64 and probably at a lower wattage.

    But it seems all the retailers starting selling Vega 64 at 599 (not the bundle, just the card by itself).
     
  8. NvidiaFreak650

    NvidiaFreak650 Master Guru

    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    27
    GPU:
    RX Vega 64 8GB HBM2
    One day with RX Vega 64, I see Image Quality is better then RX 480.

    What I mean by that is the game picture quality on max setting look cleaner & more detail. AF 16x force in AMD Control Panel look more sharp & clean, Just Cause 3 look more detail in area like ground texture, grass, NPC & main character skin & his boots.
     
  9. Newbie2012

    Newbie2012 Active Member

    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    RX Vega 64 8GB-CustomLoop
    Mine should arrive tomorrow , 64 air.
     
  10. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,629
    Likes Received:
    45
    GPU:
    Sapp. RX Vega 64 LC

  11. Ryu5uzaku

    Ryu5uzaku Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,671
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    980ti gaming 1490/7700
  12. pharma

    pharma Master Guru

    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Asus Strix GTX 1080
    Ryan of AnandTech asked AMD specifically and replied they are enabled.
    https://forum.beyond3d.com/posts/1995903/
     
  13. foxX

    foxX Member Guru

    Messages:
    111
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire Radeon 290 Tri-X
    I am quite certain this is douchebaggery on the AMD side tho. Circa 2011 I was upgrading from my Radeon 4850 to a Radeon 6950. Upon seeing the difference in image quality I was stunned and I said "WTF?!?!?" - it was DRAMATICALLY better. So I got really mad, reinstalled the Radeon 4850 and started "going back" in time with Driver Cleaner (I think that's what it was called back then?) and ever older drivers. Lo and behold, I eventually found some older drivers that were both working with Diablo 3 and showcasing good image quality, some stuff from 2008-2009.

    I am convinced AMD have stuff in their driver like

    Code:
    if (latestCardGeneration - usersCardGeneration > 1)
        image = Shiettify(image);
    
    ShowOnScreen(image);
     
  14. Ryu5uzaku

    Ryu5uzaku Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,671
    Likes Received:
    6
    GPU:
    980ti gaming 1490/7700
    Sounds like it does nothing then vs Fiji and Polaris. At least according to tests done towards culling.
     
  15. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,692
    Likes Received:
    136
    GPU:
    Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
    Because it's enabled like ;)
    P_Shader=1 #but not in use :D
     
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2017

  16. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,692
    Likes Received:
    136
    GPU:
    Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
    Last edited: Aug 16, 2017
  17. elijahk33

    elijahk33 Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sapphire R9 380X
    are the 3 power profiles changed in the Radeon Settings or via hardware switch?
     
  18. pharma

    pharma Master Guru

    Messages:
    735
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Asus Strix GTX 1080
  19. -Tj-

    -Tj- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    14,111
    Likes Received:
    105
    GPU:
    ZOTAC 980Ti A!Omega
    ^

    Looks like avg max oc, 1750mhz and stock vram, other with both OCed.

    I expected more though, I get 21k gpu on my at 1420mhz, not that far behind either, 5-10fps difference :nerd:
     
  20. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,692
    Likes Received:
    136
    GPU:
    Nitro Fiji-X HBM 1150/570
    Stock Air + OC
     

Share This Page