RX Vega Owners Thread, Tests, Mods, BIOS & Tweaks ! (cont.)

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon' started by Glidefan, Mar 31, 2019.

  1. The_Amazing_X

    The_Amazing_X Master Guru

    Messages:
    385
    Likes Received:
    135
    GPU:
    Red Devil V64
    SOme seasonic have problems with vegas. All of the pulse ones have problems.
     
  2. Synoxia

    Synoxia Member Guru

    Messages:
    146
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    Rog Vega 64
    I am actually sad because i expected it do be a 20-30% performance bump at best, not an overall quality of life improvements + some specific apps (CEMU,VR Pimax, Ubisoft games, too many) where i got 50-60+% perf bump.
    I suggest everyone of you if they can, to try g-sync compatible on their freesync monitor.
    Notice if gsync solution look smoother on the same monitor (do this at sub 40fps so it's more obvious) > proceed to do a mass report to AMD driver division. I really hope it was just my vega to be fault.
    Anyway let's hope big navi powers PS5 so we get quality PC games D:
     
    OnnA likes this.
  3. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,125
    Likes Received:
    2,187
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
  4. bernek

    bernek Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,520
    Likes Received:
    47
    GPU:
    2080TI/1080TI/VEGA
    The cables have nothing to do with it I'm pretty sure even the lousiest PSU manufacturer puts cables that can handle the amps. The problem is the PSU itselff it trips overcurrent protection OCP and thats the reason why you need cold restart !

    IMHO just change it ... I've bought a 950W PSU 80%+ certified for my Vega64 never had any problems. The spikes actually trip it ... the PSU can handle constant load of Vega64 hell most 500-600W could but the spikes aren't covered hence it goes in OCP.
     
    OnnA likes this.

  5. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,125
    Likes Received:
    2,187
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
  6. geronimo666

    geronimo666 Member Guru

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    MSI RX Vega 56 AB
    I can't ditch this PSU. just bought it a few months ago. and to go and buy 950W PSU. never. Thac cost like a kidney in my parts lol.
    I will rather sell vega, as much as I like it, and get some other GPU than to throw so much money on a 950W PSU.

    @OnnA, I've read the whole 1st part of this thread. very enlightening. I'm now seriously thinking of flashing vega64 bios on my vega.
    I just want to double check, when I switch to power save bios, and flash the card, if something goes wrong I can always switch back to normal bios with a switch right? flashing of the power save one cannot affect the other one somehow? I know about all the stories about dead DP or HDMI output etc.
    thanks
     
    OnnA likes this.
  7. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,125
    Likes Received:
    2,187
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    If You have 2-BIOS Vega then Yes it is fairly Safe to Flash & do some Tweaking.
    Remember that You can baypass those PSU bugs by UV ;) (avoid spikes).

    Find some sweet spot & play with it some more, do not be a hot head -> remeber that in summer (or earlier) we will have Biger Navi :p
    Better change then than now, in the mean time save €$....
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2019
  8. geronimo666

    geronimo666 Member Guru

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    MSI RX Vega 56 AB
    If I start thinking about water cooling again, hope not :confused:, wich kits/blocks/other to look for.
    I see that EKWB is in Slovenia, country next to me.
    thx

    edit: any good guide how to flash the bios (what switches to use etc.)? thanks
     
    Last edited: Dec 10, 2019
  9. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    4,407
    Likes Received:
    1,277
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    its the cables.
     
  10. bernek

    bernek Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,520
    Likes Received:
    47
    GPU:
    2080TI/1080TI/VEGA
    Did you test ? are you sure ? or you just want to agree to disagree ?
     

  11. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,125
    Likes Received:
    2,187
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Dec 12, 2019
  12. geronimo666

    geronimo666 Member Guru

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    MSI RX Vega 56 AB
  13. MerolaC

    MerolaC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,193
    Likes Received:
    182
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 56
    You have to use the BIOS switch and set it at the left side (where your ports are) to be able to flash the card with that bios.

    I have the same card.
     
    geronimo666 likes this.
  14. SpajdrEX

    SpajdrEX Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,135
    Likes Received:
    458
    GPU:
    -----
    OnnA : I think it would be better to show 4K results from Halo Reach then 1440P to see a real difference. :)
     
    OnnA likes this.
  15. OnnA

    OnnA Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    10,125
    Likes Received:
    2,187
    GPU:
    Vega 64 XTX LiQuiD
    [​IMG]
     
    SpajdrEX likes this.

  16. SpajdrEX

    SpajdrEX Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,135
    Likes Received:
    458
    GPU:
    -----
    OMG these Mechwarrior 5 fps ... for how the game looks, absolutely terrible performance :D
     
  17. geronimo666

    geronimo666 Member Guru

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    MSI RX Vega 56 AB
    this is what's confusing to me. everyone says to use left/ports position but that's the one that on my card shows 165w in gpu-z. the right one/away from ports shows 150w in gpu-z so I presumed that on my card the right one/away from ports is the power save bios and tried to flash that one. So you used the one saying 165w meaning the left/ports one?
    did you have any problems with flashing? you used atiwinflash not the CMD using switches?

    what exactly is the diff between power save and regular bios on this card if I'm using for example amd tweak mem and UV/OC and using upto +50% (don't need more that that)?
    thanks.
     
  18. MerolaC

    MerolaC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,193
    Likes Received:
    182
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 56
    It doesn't matter the wattage of each bios, since you will flash it anyway.
    The left bios is flashable, the right one is locked for flashing, as in Read Only.

    Using the V64 Bios will unlock Mem voltages.

    I used amdvbflash.exe CMD as admin, like this "amdvbflash.exe -p 0 V64.rom"
     
    geronimo666 likes this.
  19. geronimo666

    geronimo666 Member Guru

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    9
    GPU:
    MSI RX Vega 56 AB
    thanks for the quick reply mate.

    what version of flash tool did you use if you remember? I downloaded the latest one yesterday (v2.93) but only tried win version.
    did you get any hung system or something while using/after flash like it's shown on some videos of youtube?
     
  20. MerolaC

    MerolaC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,193
    Likes Received:
    182
    GPU:
    RX VEGA 56
    Latest before that one, but I also used 2.93 like last week, to force my Hardware ID to Sapphire instead of MSI.
    No, no hangs or anything like that.

    Do not use the Windows GUI version, use amdvbflash, which is CMD based. It's bundled with all the Atiwinflash versions.
    Close any 3rd party tool before flashing (msi afterburned, gpuz, hwinfo, etc)
     
    geronimo666 likes this.

Share This Page