1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Running and Marathons etc

Discussion in 'The Guru's Pub' started by Li4m79, Jan 9, 2012.

1. Li4m79

Li4m79 Ancient Guru

GPU:
    2xPalit GTX770 Jetstream
    OK, as a new years resolution i decided I was gonna start running, and today, my trackies and running shoes arrived, and tonight i set out on my first of many daily runs...

I'm pretty unfit, but i'm not overweight, 5ft 11" and about 12 stone.

I have no running experience, but am aiming to enter some marathons from around June onwards!!

Any runners here? Any tips, diets etc???

I'm just starting off with some casual runs to get limbered up and a feel for it before I start properly....

I'm running with a good friend of mine, and he seems pretty clued up, but was looking for other advice any peeps may have...

2. Veteran

Veteran Ancient Guru

GPU:
    2xTitan XM@1590Mhz-CH20
    Its all about building up,dont push yourself to far as you will do damage to yourself,increase your distance slowly per week if thats what you aim to do,you can also do some cycling to take the strain off the knees if your thinking of running alot,although with cycling you have to go alot further for the same benefit,they both compliment each other.

3. anticupidon

anticupidon Ancient Guru

GPU:
    integrated
    well, i salute you in your initiative !
    i really wish you good luck .
    if i may, i will share my part.
    i started with a small distance,and even in my first 500 m i felt like dying.
    i am soo embarassed,i used to run 5-6 km without breaking a sweat.
    i have to crawl my way back to my former shape.

4. Tat3

Tat3 Ancient Guru

GPU:
    HIS R9 380 4gb
    Running shoes are overrated. You should have got some combat boots. :)

Aku Laitinen did run Stockholm marathon with HAIX Airpower P3 in under 5h. No visible damage cause by those. Story in Finnish here.

And something more related to this topic: