1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

[RUMOUR] AMD Radeon R9 390X Arrives In 1H 2015

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Rich_Guy, Sep 24, 2014.

  1. Rich_Guy

    Rich_Guy Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,218
    Likes Received:
    411
    GPU:
    MSI 2070S X-Trio
    Source :- Wccf
     
  2. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,631
    Likes Received:
    480
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    20nm with HBM AND with liquid cooling

    yeah riiight... :rolleyes:


    this is from AMD's Lisa-Su:

    “20nm is an important node for us. We will be shipping products in 20nm next year and as we move forward"

    so yes, AMD will have 20nm GPUs in 2015, with Q2/Q3 being a safe prediction window
     
  3. CPC_RedDawn

    CPC_RedDawn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,643
    Likes Received:
    182
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX1080Ti AMP
    God I hope this is the rumoured Volcanic Islands GPU with 4096 shader units.....

    [​IMG]
     
  4. Alex13

    Alex13 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,296
    Likes Received:
    139
    GPU:
    Nvidia
    Sure, it's gonna be an exclusive - sold only in India.
     

  5. Denial

    Denial Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    12,217
    Likes Received:
    1,390
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080Ti
    Wait so why did you say "yeah riiight... :rolleyes:" if you agree with what they are saying?

    I think they can have this out closer to Q1, 20nm @ TSMC and GlobalF is functional now it's just expensive and the yields are low making it even more expensive.
     
  6. Noisiv

    Noisiv Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,631
    Likes Received:
    480
    GPU:
    2070 Super
    if they are going 20nm AND HBM that two alone should give them huge power savings,
    even without any arch. improvements

    so no, they won't be needing liquid cooling.
    unless ofc. the chip is that much of a royal screw-up that it eats 250+W, which I find hard to believe.
     
  7. orky87

    orky87 Member Guru

    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    R9_Nano
    I'm eyeing the 970 atm but I'm holding out till AMD drops some new tech. If it delivers or exceeds expectations it's a win, if it doesn't still a win as prices for 970/980 will drop by then...
     
  8. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,112
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    plenty of time for another original titan deal with no competition in sight. great for people who like buying at least $1,000 usd vga cards. great for us consumers
     
  9. SLI-756

    SLI-756 Banned

    Messages:
    7,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
    i'd still go for a titan black if the price was right, and it wouldn't have to be reduced by that much, just a reasonable amount, above 980 pricing though, however much they are i haven't even looked once, neither for 970. i'd love me a titan black, even now.
     
  10. ---TK---

    ---TK--- Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    22,112
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2x 980Ti Gaming 1430/7296
    Absolutely, buying a slower way more expensive video card than a 980 is on my do list the day after I die.
     

  11. SLI-756

    SLI-756 Banned

    Messages:
    7,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
    You're prolly right, i worry about 4gb going into 2015, i worry about it in that QTE roman game soon out. ryse.
     
  12. Loophole35

    Loophole35 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,271
    Likes Received:
    752
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080ti SC
    YOU CLAIM YOU DON'T USE AA AND ARE ONLY AT 1920x1080!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


    News flash, "YOU WILL NOT RUN OUT OF VRAM!"
     
  13. CPC_RedDawn

    CPC_RedDawn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,643
    Likes Received:
    182
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX1080Ti AMP
    Yep good idea, even if these do beat the GTX980 you can bet that Nvidia will have the GTX980Ti ready to launch around the same time to counteract AMD.

    I too worry about VRAM what with next gen consoles having unified memory its easy for them to just make a game that uses 5GB of textures then once they move over to the PC they are restricted because most people just don't have that much VRAM on their GPU's and all manor of weird performance issues happens as they never seem to focus on taking the time to properly rework the game to accommodate for the lack of VRAM on PC's at the moment. Watch Dogs and Dead Rising 3 prove this.

    I think all high end cards AT LEAST should come packed with 6GB VRAM minimum, then 4GB for the mid range and 3GB for the low end.

    Its 2014, GDDR5 has been used for years now it shouldn't be THAT expensive to include.
     
  14. SLI-756

    SLI-756 Banned

    Messages:
    7,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
    newsflash both watch dogs and wolfenstein use +3.5gb
    at 1080 no aa,
    do you know wolf can use 64 pages per texture, it looks fab, uncompressed vram goodness.
    bioshock was using 2.5gb eons ago.
     
  15. CPC_RedDawn

    CPC_RedDawn Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    7,643
    Likes Received:
    182
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX1080Ti AMP
    Strange.

    I maxed out Watch Dogs with SMAA @ 1080p and it never went over 2.6GB VRAM usage even with the worse E3 mod enabled.

    Also Wolf uses 8XAA by default its built into the engine. I ran that game at 1080p 32 PPF, everything else maxed out and never saw it go above 2.3GB

    And what Bioshock you talking about? Bioshock 1 used barely 1GB so did its sequel. Infinite used just over 2GB maxed out.
     

  16. Loophole35

    Loophole35 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,271
    Likes Received:
    752
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080ti SC
    BioShock ran on UE3 and used and allocation system with VRAM. Watch Doge was a BROKEN GAME and still is last I checked it did not matter if you had a titan or a 290x the only cards that seemed to play the game right were yours and VultureX's magic GK104's. Don't know the first thing about Wolf but I would assume it's and artificial requirement from what I have read on it.
     
  17. SLI-756

    SLI-756 Banned

    Messages:
    7,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
    amd vs NVidia vram usage differs in amounts used usually.
     
  18. SLI-756

    SLI-756 Banned

    Messages:
    7,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
    i couldn't care less about the vram debate, i do care about bottlenecks is all and usually its only a few dollars more for double the capacity.
    you're not forced to do this or that, the hell, was just talking with --TK--.
    do what you like, please yourself.
     
  19. Loophole35

    Loophole35 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,271
    Likes Received:
    752
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080ti SC
    Only now with the new compression Maxwell's using and with SLI vs CF in the past. AB just reports what is being allocated by the game.


    Another news flash for you both new consoles can only allocate 5GB max RAM for video so with Maxwell's new color compression 4GB should be plenty for most games all the way up to 4K just check the benches. Who would run AA at 4K anyways?
     
    Last edited: Sep 25, 2014
  20. SLI-756

    SLI-756 Banned

    Messages:
    7,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    760 SLI 4gb 1215/ 6800
    so i'll be the first to laugh when the games break 4gb, same as i was at 2gb and at 3gb.
    fine by me. though i really couldn't care less.
     

Share This Page