RTX 3090 - MSI afterburner trouble

Discussion in 'Videocards - NVIDIA GeForce' started by Krystoh, Oct 28, 2020.

  1. Krystoh

    Krystoh New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 / 24G
    Hello everyone,

    I've buy an rtx 3090 gaming x trio from MSI.
    I want to use afterburner, however the scan for auto overclock and settings is not working. The scan don't go on, and seems to crash.

    --> Do someone know why ?

    Thanks a lot :)
     
  2. anxious_f0x

    anxious_f0x Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,685
    Likes Received:
    388
    GPU:
    Nvidia RTX 3090
    fantaskarsef and Krystoh like this.
  3. Krystoh

    Krystoh New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 / 24G
    Thanks a lot ! I think voltage control is the problem then :)
    I have the last stable version actually, should i use the beta version ??
     
  4. anxious_f0x

    anxious_f0x Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,685
    Likes Received:
    388
    GPU:
    Nvidia RTX 3090
    Yeah use the Beta version, it adds support for Ampere GPUs.
     
    Maddness, fantaskarsef and Krystoh like this.

  5. Krystoh

    Krystoh New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 / 24G
    Alright thanks a lot @anxious_f0x it's working :)

    However :
    - My GPU fans stayed completly OFF during the process, is this normal ?
    - I got +77 gpu clock and +200 mem clock BUT i got this message --> "results are considered unstable"

    Is this two things normal ?

    Thanks for help :)
     
  6. anxious_f0x

    anxious_f0x Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,685
    Likes Received:
    388
    GPU:
    Nvidia RTX 3090
    The fans should come on really, but it all depends what temperature the fans are designed to turn on at with that particular card.

    I’d recommend restarting your system to see if that helps.

    EDIT: You also need to max out the voltage slider in MSI Afterburner.
     
    Last edited: Oct 28, 2020
    fantaskarsef likes this.
  7. Krystoh

    Krystoh New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 / 24G
    Thanks for your time !!!
    I've made a new installation, restart computer etc..
    And i've got this (same the first time) :
    "14:33:30 Connected to MSI Afterburner control interface v2.3
    14:33:59 GPU1 : VEN_10DE&DEV_2204&SUBSYS_38841462&REV_A1&BUS_9&DEV_0&FN_0
    14:33:59 Start scanning, please wait a few minutes
    14:33:59 Scan failed with code 22h
    14:34:04 GPU1 : VEN_10DE&DEV_2204&SUBSYS_38841462&REV_A1&BUS_9&DEV_0&FN_0
    14:34:04 Start scanning, please wait a few minutes"

    --> First it fail, then it runs, so now it's still runing and i will see

    Regarding the voltage slider, do you mean i should set to maximum the slider at the left (red) ? And/or should i max the power limit ?
    Sans titre.png
     
    anxious_f0x likes this.
  8. jura11

    jura11 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,290
    Likes Received:
    459
    GPU:
    GTX1080 Ti 1080 FE
    Hi there

    I think Auto OC or OC scanner is broken, hopefully MSI Afterburner dev will be able reply to this thread

    I still prefer to OC manually, try offset first like 50MHz and go up by 15MHz till you crash in benchmarks or games

    Hope this helps

    Thanks, Jura
     
    anxious_f0x likes this.
  9. Krystoh

    Krystoh New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 / 24G
    Hello @jura11

    Thanks a lot for your answer, i think i will give a try to auto OC with voltage up (juste waiting answer from anxious_f0x :) )
    But then if it don't work, i will do like you said !

    @anxious_f0x
    --> This are my results (WITHOUT max voltage or power limit for now, waiting for your confirmation)
    "14:51:23 Scan succeeded, average core overclock is 103MHz, memory overclock is 200MHz
    14:51:23 Dominant limiter
    14:51:23 No load
    14:51:23 Results are considered unstable
    14:51:23 Overclocked curve exported to MSI Afterburner"
     
    anxious_f0x likes this.
  10. anxious_f0x

    anxious_f0x Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,685
    Likes Received:
    388
    GPU:
    Nvidia RTX 3090
    Both the power limit and voltage should be set to there maximum values.

    This video should help get you setup :)

     

  11. Krystoh

    Krystoh New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    RTX 3090 / 24G
    Thanks a lot @anxious_f0x :)

    However i don't have test buton in overclock, but "revert" & "scan" ^^
    Also, in this video core voltage and power limit of fans are set to default, i will give a try like you said at max :)
     
    anxious_f0x likes this.
  12. asryan

    asryan Member

    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    3
    GPU:
    Asus strix 3090
    I've tried it with my 3090 but seems the video driver crashed, is it a common issue?
     

Share This Page