RTSS not working on old game (LotR - BfME)

Discussion in 'Rivatuner Statistics Server (RTSS) Forum' started by Triko, May 4, 2021.

1. Triko

Triko New Member

GPU:
    Intel HD 4000
    Hello, I have been using RTSS (with MSI Afterburner) for like 3 years and so far it worked for every game I ran. It's a super useful tool for gaming, especially with scanline sync, so thank you very much to the creator and all contributors!

Now for the first time I have found an older game where RTSS is not working: Lord of the Rings - Battle for Middle Earth

I have tried various settings in RTSS with no success:
    - Application detection level high/med/low
    - stealth mode on/off
    - custom Direct3D support on/off
    - Setup > Compatibility properties > Enable dedicated encoder server service = 32-bit

According to the pcgamingwiki entry, the game runs via Direct3D 9.0c:
    https://www.pcgamingwiki.com/wiki/The_Lord_of_the_Rings:_The_Battle_for_Middle-earth

The game's shortcut launches "lotrbfme.exe" though this exe is not under load. When I check task manager the strange thing is that the actual game process seems to be "game.dat" as that's the only process under load (25% cpu usage).

Does anyone have a solution on how to make RTSS work with this specific game?

2. Unwinder

Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

The game is not purchasable now and I don't own it. So the changes that I look into it are equal to zero.

3. Triko

Triko New Member

GPU:
    Intel HD 4000
  4. Astyanax

Astyanax Ancient Guru

GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    the DAT process is using D3DWRAP functions, might be why its not working,

I checked all my other games and none of them make use of this, so its the only thing i can think of.

it also isn't using a pure D3D9 Hardware set

BFME
    Code:
    info:  D3D9DeviceEx: Using extended constant set for software vertex processing.
    info:  D3D9DeviceEx::ResetSwapChain:
    info:    Requested Presentation Parameters
    info:      - Width:              2560