1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

RTSS 6.7.0 beta 1

Discussion in 'MSI AfterBurner Overclock Application Discussion' started by Unwinder, Feb 20, 2017.

  1. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,267
    Likes Received:
    1,326
    Thanks, one more dump captured under load and PX1 temperature screenshot captured at the same time would be helpful too.

    All

    More dumps captured on different ICX2 cards are needed.
     
  2. aj_hix36

    aj_hix36 Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
  3. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,267
    Likes Received:
    1,326
    Excellent, that's all I need to map temperatures to MCU registers, thanks.
     
  4. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,267
    Likes Received:
    1,326
    Anno 1800 was released yesterday and currently there is known issue with it: the game will crash in DX12 mode if you alter display resolution or toggle windowed/fullscreen mode in game settings while both Uplay and RTSS overlays are active. The problem is not RTSS specific or game engine specific, it is Uplay overlay issue and it is also happening if you use Uplay overlay in conjunction with other third party overlays. The same issue plagued Division 2 after launch, but it was eventually fixed by Ubisoft, so there is a hope to see similar fix for Anno 1800 soon from their side.
    For now just keep it in mind if you use RTSS with this game. Currently you may avoid the issue by avoiding toggling the settings mentioned above while multiple overlays are active. Or alternately disable Uplay overlay or RTSS overlay.
     

  5. slayer6288

    slayer6288 Active Member

    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    24
    GPU:
    2080 TI
    So Unwinder you may want to kill me for asking this but I am going to ask it anyways I love afterburner. So I just ran NV OC Scanner and have the curve it made. IF I wanted to add +5 to every point it plotted since you usually have some breathing room after using the oc scanner how would I do that? Holding cntrl whil doing it makes the curve alter weirdly and not just a flat +5 or +10. I am a newb and tried every combo I could think of now I want to pick the brain of the legends on here. Thanks in advanced please dont hurt me I come in peace.
     
  6. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,267
    Likes Received:
    1,326
    Curve editing principles and tricks are demonstrated on the previous page in this post. Holding <Ctrl> is anchor editing mode (i.e. offset in right/left edge is getting fixed and the rest offsets are linearly interpolated). What you need is achieved with <Alt> + drag.
     
  7. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,267
    Likes Received:
    1,326
    4.6.1 Beta 3 is available for download with the following changes:

    o The progress of saving multiple graphs’ settings is now displayed in the caption of the application’s property sheet
    o Optimized handling of “dirty” flag for settings decreases saving time for multiple graph’s settings when using multiple subsequent group operations
    o Added new “Hide attached monitoring panel” command to the context menu of hardware monitoring window. You may use it to toggle visibility of monitoring window when it is attached to the main application window
    o Now you may press <Ctrl> + <M> hotkeys to toggle monitoring window attachment
    o Updated third party hardware database:
    o Added new third party voltage control capable graphics cards to the database
    o Added new third party graphics cards with multichannel GPU, memory and VRM temperature sensors to the database

    https://www.guru3d.com/files-details/msi-afterburner-beta-download.html

    @aj_hix36

    This build contains experimental ICX2 temperature sensors monitoring support. Please give it a try. Similar to the fist ICX generation, support is provided via third party hardware database so you need to select "third party" mode next to "Enable voltage control" in "General" tab.
     
  8. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,267
    Likes Received:
    1,326
    Please keep in mind one thing about ICX2. On the first generation of ICX their MCU monitored just 9 additional temperatures, the primary GPU temperature was still monitored by native NVIDIA sensor and driver. ICX2 MCU seem to be able to read all 10 sensors including main GPU temperature, I guess it is done to let MCU to control fan speed depending on it as well. EPX1 is reading their own GPU temperature sensor as GPU1 temperature. I've configured hardware database to use native NVIDIA GPU temperature sensor as GPU1 temperature instead, so GPU1 temperature can be slightly different comparing to value displayed by EPX1. The rest ICX2 temperature sensors should match. For testing purposes, database can be easily modified to display MCU GPU1 temperature instead of NVIDIA's one. To do it you can edit MSIAfterburner.oem2 (it is third party hardware database in plain text format) and add the following lines to [ICX2] section:

    TGPU1_ICX2_Detection = 2Bh
    TGPU1_ICX2_Formula = TemperatureRemote1
     
  9. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,241
    Likes Received:
    172
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    The Touch of Modern skin got updated, fixing the priority arrow placement.
    The Hiding monitoring window is a nice feature for users that want a small footprint.
    You just have to remember ctrl+M keys, to bad there no easy way to add a hide/unhide button, but that would need reworking all skins I guess.

    Anyway, all seems good on my end, but that is only GTX-970.
     
  10. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,267
    Likes Received:
    1,326
    Yep, updated skin with fixed thermal prioritize button is included, I forgot to reflect it in changes list.
     
    OleMortenF likes this.

  11. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,267
    Likes Received:
    1,326
    Forgot to mention that skin cross-compatibility layer was altered a bit in beta 3 to improve compatibility with XOC skins. Now memory/VRM temperatures and temperature color zones are displayed on ICX capable cards when using XOC skins.
     
    OleMortenF likes this.
  12. aj_hix36

    aj_hix36 Member

    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi Unwinder, Beta 3 is going great, all the new temperature sensors are perfect on my RTX 2080 Ti, they perfectly agree between what Precision X1 says and Afterburner says.
    I know you have said there will be zero support for asynchronous fan control for these proprietary fan controls, and that is totally fine, but is it possible to force all fans to run at same speed, or is this more of a case that its just impossible to communicate with fans 2 and 3 at all?
    Thank you for all the work and support you have put into this product over the years. I've been using this software for what must be 10 years by now!
     
  13. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,267
    Likes Received:
    1,326
    Thanks for trying. In addition to your card the following ICX2 capable hardware was added to third party hardware database and should get readings from 9 additional temperature sensors when third party mode is enabled:

    ; EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra
    ; EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti FTW3
    ; EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti XC2 Ultra
    ; EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 Ti XC2
    ; EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 FTW3 Ultra
    ; EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 FTW3
    ; EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 XC2 Ultra
    ; EVGA GeForce RTX 2080 XC2
    ; EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 FTW3 Ultra
    ; EVGA GeForce RTX 2070 FTW3

    There is no way to sync them as is, sorry. The only way to get them "synchronized" is to run EVGA software in background and to let it to adjust the second/third fans on the fly to match the primary fan speed. And yes, it is impossible to communicate fans 2 and 3 without accessing the MCU directly.
     
  14. khanmein

    khanmein Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,649
    Likes Received:
    71
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1070 SC
    @Unwinder Can you add NVIDIA LED Visualizer into the MSI:AB? Thanks & cheers.
     
  15. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,267
    Likes Received:
    1,326
    No, it is not planned, sorry.
     

  16. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,267
    Likes Received:
    1,326
    Final 4.6.1 is compiled, it will be available for downloading soon. Once MSI put it in downloads on their side, we'll also make it visible to application update servers so users will start getting new version notifications.

    Stay tuned!
     
  17. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,241
    Likes Received:
    172
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
  18. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,267
    Likes Received:
    1,326
    That's a bit of offtopic, but I've noticed that Battle(non)sense recently released quite a useful video covering different questions including VRR, framepacing and RTSS usage for framerate limiting.
    Demonstration of bad framepacing with Octavia definitively made me smile.

     
    eGGroLLiO likes this.
  19. EdKiefer

    EdKiefer Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,241
    Likes Received:
    172
    GPU:
    MSI 970 Gaming 4G
    Hmm, I always used AB monitoring frame time options which work fine on all options (text, graph, etc).
    I tried as in that vid to use RTSS frame-time but I get the same text, min, max, etc with both options (graph or diagram). I can't get the graph to show that way, will mess around more but not sure what I am doing wrong, either way, don't want to spam this post/thread.
     
  20. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,267
    Likes Received:
    1,326
    That option is RTSS is intended for those who use RTSS as standalone framerate monitoring solution without MSI AB. Both framerate counter and frametime history graph in RTSS are disabled if you enable those options through MSI AB.
     

Share This Page