RT RC15.2 Softmod

Discussion in 'RivaTuner Advanced Discussion forum' started by gafa, Oct 4, 2004.

?

RT RC15.2 Softmod success

  1. Yes, 16 pipelines and 6vp ON and working :D

    139 vote(s)
    57.2%
  2. Yes, 16 pipelines and 5vp

    8 vote(s)
    3.3%
  3. Yes, 12 pipelines and 6vp

    69 vote(s)
    28.4%
  4. No :(

    27 vote(s)
    11.1%
  1. Subtestube

    Subtestube Member Guru

    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GV-N68128DH 6800 NU
    Hang on... are you already at 1.4v? It's HIGHLY unlikely to be a voltage issue. What info can you give us regarding your PSU? You could also try downclocking a little - temps aren't everything when it comes to overclocking..
     
  2. dude666

    dude666 Guest

    Success!!

    :D
    Asus 6800GE here.
    [​IMG]
     
  3. nicks

    nicks New Member

    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward 6800U@450/1200
    My MSI 6800 LE works fine @ 16x1,5; @16x1,5 I get massiv artifacts (vertical + horizontal white lines + other things)

    When I run the X² rollingdemo @ 340 Mhz core and 870 ram the monitor turns of and the fan of my MSI runs at max. :mad:
    I think I will flash the vga bios to 1.2 V, or has someone another idea?
     
  4. StealthBomber

    StealthBomber Member Guru

    Messages:
    109
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Fully modded X1950GT
    Increase the voltage to 1.4v for the GPU then try again.
     

  5. auggie dog

    auggie dog Member Guru

    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2x Evga GTX 670 FTW
    eVGA 6800 no running 16X16vp

    This was a surprize i hadnt been online for about a month due to some problems with my PC and when i got online yesterday i see a thread about the new rivatuner.Unwinder i have to say this tool is great l.I went from 9003 in3dmark03 to 10052 at default speeds and slight OCing i got 10364.You are the man .On the frist build i think i was unlocked even though it wasnt showing in the bios.Because i was messing around with it oneday and tried to enable the pipes and it said they were but the bio's didnt show it but i did see a gain when i enabled them.But with this build i know it works.You the man.I had 1 and 3 masked. Now should i flash the bios?or just raise the voltage for some better OC's
     
    Last edited: Oct 24, 2004
  6. theos0

    theos0 Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga 6800 128 16x1 6vp
    I currently own a Evga 128mb 6800nu. Now with all pipelines and the vertex shader unmasker w/o artifacts. =D
     
  7. Scief

    Scief Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,603
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gainward 6800GT @Ultra
    Seems that eVGA is a good brand:)
     
  8. theos0

    theos0 Member

    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Evga 6800 128 16x1 6vp
    Not only that but so far I have done an overclock as well from 325/700 to 426/840. No artiftacting yet and idle temp is 47 and the load temp is 58. Not too bad for stock hsf. Still have room to go higher. =D
     
  9. Why do I get artifacts in CS:Source, but only in that game?
     
  10. Subtestube

    Subtestube Member Guru

    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GV-N68128DH 6800 NU
    Because CS:Source is doing something that nothing else is. Artifacts are unpredictable things - it's very hard to figure out what's causing them without knowing the hardware problem involved.

    Matter of interest, what sort of artifacts? Are they lines between textures?
     
    Last edited: Oct 26, 2004

  11. digibrat

    digibrat Guest

    SoftMod worked here too :D

    using a MSI NX6800 TD128

    No artifacts so far . tested about 10 games now.

    3dmark 2005 before (any tweaking or OC) 3097

    3dmark 2005 After softmod and OC'ing 4228

    A measly 1228 increase.

    Thanks everyone.
     
  12. Burnt_Ram

    Burnt_Ram Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,926
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1050 Ti
    thats not measly. thats a good increase considering we're talking about 3d mark *05* all i score with my GT with (61.77) is 4200'ish
     
  13. digibrat

    digibrat Guest

    Im using the WHQL 66.81 drivers, maybe that ll help
     
  14. Burnt_Ram

    Burnt_Ram Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    5,926
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX 1050 Ti
    yes they do boost the 05 mark scores, but thats all they boost ! no gaming increase. just 3dmark05 ;)
     
  15. Line between textures (I think this is from the vertex processor, because they still are there after deactivating the pipelines) and strange flickering on models and normalmapping surfaces.
     

  16. Subtestube

    Subtestube Member Guru

    Messages:
    138
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GV-N68128DH 6800 NU
    Nup, the Lines between the textures are a known bug with nV/CS:Source at the moment. That has nothing to do with the card... well, aside from the fact that it's an nVidia 6800. In other words, it isn't related to your 6800. As for the flickering, that does sound like genuine artifacting.

    EDIT: I should note that as I can't actually see these lines, I can't confirm whether they're the same as those others have been getting, so I guess they *could* still be artifacts.
     
    Last edited: Oct 27, 2004
  17. Mav3r1cK

    Mav3r1cK Active Member

    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Nvidia 8800GTX
    Well, I had a crack with RivaTuner and my Galaxy Glacier 6800 last night. Im using 66.81 drivers at the moment,

    3DMark03 Tests

    6800 12x1 5v Stock - 8502 (Out of the Box)
    6800 12x1 5v oc'd 380/900 - 9352 (Out of the Box, overclocked)

    6800 16x1 6v Stock - 9240 (16 Pipes, 6 Vertex shaders enabled)
    6800 16x1 6v Oc'd 370/900 - 10209 (16 Pipes, 6 Vertex shaders enabled and overclocked)

    3DMark05 Tests

    6800 12x1 5v oc'd 380/900 - 3250 (Out of the Box, overclocked)

    6800 16x1 6v oc'd 370/900 - 3862 (16 Pipes, 6 Vertex shaders enabled and overclocked)
     
  18. MonsterSound

    MonsterSound New Member

    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    XFX 7970 BEDD
    MSI NX6800-TD128

    Pixel unit 3 was hw masked and
    Vertex unit 3 was hw masked.
    Now 16p,6v

    3DMark03
    12p,5v 325/700 - 8700
    16p,6v 325/700 - 9550
    16p,6v 355/777 - 10,200

    16p,6v 385/814 - 11,128 - 5847.4 MTexels *

    Runs without problems or artifacts so far. Strange, but now it's running cooler -4 (at full load for several hours). This might be related to the curing of the thermal paste I put on a week ago when installing my AC NV5 HSF?.

    *(changed arperature to 128mb and using 66.81)
    still cool (55c max) without artifacts

    BTW - THANK YOU!
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2004
  19. LordColdfire

    LordColdfire Guest

    Well, I have to say, this is a sweet program!! First time using it and it was easy as pie... I currently have, at stock voltage, a BFG 6800OC running with 16x1;6vp and a 399/857 overclock running... This card is seriously badass.... one of these days I'm going to pop the cooler off and apply some real thermalpaste... :) well, keep up the good work!!

    PS: I got a 3993 3dmark05 score with older overclock... going to run 3dmark 05 later to see what I get... w00t!
     
  20. Antigen

    Antigen Master Guru

    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    eVGA e-GeForce 6800 128MB DDR AGP; 16x1,6vp@400MHz
    Everything is all good 4 pixel quads and 6 vertex units up from 12p/5v

    I ran 3Dmark05 and Had results very close to the best run that I had never been able to repeat since with my "old" (funny I say this) 6800 overclocked to 407MHz core. now at just 325 core I am about 150 points less!!

    The Nalu Demo seemed slightly smoother, and the Timbury Demo is completely not choppy.

    I would guess that if I would do the whole preperation for a good benchmark run I could actually hit that run of 3850 without overclocking, but it's late and I'll do that tommorrow.

    And for Unwinder's stats:

    Pixel Unit 3 was HW masked - Now Active and working!
    Vertex Unit 3 was HW masked - Active and working!

    I own an eVGA e-GeForce 6800 Standard

    And Unwinder, your RivaTuner it is a gift from the gods, thank you for you hard work and efforts keepin riva' going stong!
     

Share This Page