RT RC15.2 Softmod

Discussion in 'RivaTuner Advanced Discussion forum' started by gafa, Oct 4, 2004.

?

RT RC15.2 Softmod success

  1. Yes, 16 pipelines and 6vp ON and working :D

    139 vote(s)
    57.2%
  2. Yes, 16 pipelines and 5vp

    8 vote(s)
    3.3%
  3. Yes, 12 pipelines and 6vp

    69 vote(s)
    28.4%
  4. No :(

    27 vote(s)
    11.1%
  1. gafa

    gafa Member Guru

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sparkle 6800NU
    i'm opening this thread just for the sake of having some statistics of the success of this softmod, although from i've read of the other thread, it's quite up there :D
    just some tests i did in 3dmark2001 when activating the extra pipes/vp:
    12 pipes , 5 vp
    Multi fillrate - 3766
    vertex shader - 191.7

    16 pipes, 6vp
    Multi fillrate - 5019.6
    vertex shader - 222.6

    i've also run the 3dmark03 and no artifacts whatsoever showed up. still, i'll run a lot of benchmarks later and post the results.
     
  2. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,468
    Likes Received:
    1,480
    Guys, please post some additional details on your hardware masked units (for example, pixel unit 1 and vertex unit 0 were disabled, pixel unit 1 is enabled succesfully). It will help me to understand NVIDIA's unit masking logic (for example, we'll see how do they choose vertex unit to disable if the board have damaged pixel unit). Currently I assume that they simply choose unit with the same index, but I've not confirmation of this idea yet.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2004
  3. gafa

    gafa Member Guru

    Messages:
    105
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    Sparkle 6800NU
    ok Unwinder, here's my stats:
    pixel unit 1 was hw masked
    vertex unit 5 was hw masked
    both working now :D
     
  4. Mummins

    Mummins Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 7800GT
    Pixel unit 3 was hw masked and vertex unit 3 was hw masked. Both are working perfectly after enabling them.
    Before enabling i could overclock the card until 410MHz GPU after only 390MHz is running stable.
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2004

  5. BFG 6800 NU

    Pixel unit 2 was hw masked and
    Vertex unit 3 was hw masked

    Ran 3dmark 03 and no problems or artifacts so far.

    Overclocking is not as good as it was before though. My graphics card overheats and starts making artifacts a a lot easier now when i overlclock.

    hopes htis helps you
     
  6. downloading now at 1.7kB/s on 56k :(
    10 minutes to go :(
    my hands are even sweating of the tension :(
    grr:p
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 4, 2004
  7. neolight911

    neolight911 Guest

    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 4, 2004
  8. Sjah

    Sjah Member

    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    xfx 6800LE here, 16,5vp succesfull. Overclock went down from 350 to 325. I monitored the temp. on my second monitor of 3Dmark'05, 3 degrees increase going from 8,5vp to 16,5vp with stock (little) cooler, it was about 68 to 71 degrees C. Thanks alot, and cheers.
     
  9. OFelino

    OFelino Guest

    Thanks a lot, Unwinder! My MSI NX6800 has all the 16 pipes and the 6 vertex now! Thank's a LOT AGAIN! You are the KING!;)
     
  10. Mummins

    Mummins Member

    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    MSI 7800GT
    1,2V@default.
    I think you should increase voltage via bios hack. Your card is running only at 1,2V default. That´s the reason why your card can´t overclock as high as before. 16P need more voltage than 8.
    The tool you need can be downloaded at *******
    http://www.*******.net/index.php?option=com_remository&Itemid=26&func=selectfolder&filecatid=92
     
    Last edited: Oct 4, 2004

  11. RBEJ

    RBEJ Member Guru

    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pixel unit 3 was hw masked and vertex unit 3 was hw masked.

    Only vertex unit working.Damn!!.
     
  12. Uziel

    Uziel Guest

    Awesome Unwinder thank you so much for this, my XFX 6800 is working at 16 pipes, 6vp :cool:

    Two full passes of 3DMark05 Pro with no problems and FarCry has no sign of artifacts either.

    Pixel Unit 3 was hardware masked. [Working]

    Vertex Unit 3 was hardware masked. [Working]
     
  13. Funsite

    Funsite Member

    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    2900XT
    Leadtek A400 doing fine on 16x1,6vp. Both HW masked Pixel/Vertex 3 Unit.
    Respect ;]
     
  14. ihiktacos

    ihiktacos Guest

    Works great, thanks Unwinder!

    My card:
    BFG 6800 OC now @ 16, 6vp,

    Pixel unit 0 and Vertex unit 3 were HW masked.

    I had to tone down my OC a bit, but nonetheless the 3dmark03 score went up:

    12,5vp @ 400/800: 9675
    16,6vp @ 380/790: 10601

    No artifacts in 3dmark03 and Doom3, I'll try and see what the max OC is now.

    Question: would it help now, if it was flashed with a GT bios to get the core voltage up to 1.3 instead of 1.2?
     
  15. Unwinder

    Unwinder Moderator Staff Member

    Messages:
    14,468
    Likes Received:
    1,480
    ihiktacos

    > Question: would it help now, if it was flashed with a GT bios to get the core voltage up to 1.3 instead of 1.2?

    Yes sure. But I'd reccommend you to boost voltage in your own BIOS instead of flashing GT's one.
     

  16. HitMaker

    HitMaker Member

    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    HIS HD2900XT 512MB
    Pixel unit 2 and vertex shader 3 mask.

    Only vertex shader working :(
     
  17. 1khz

    1khz Guest

    3/3 masked, both working, gainwardNu Gs, thx again.

    [
     
  18. FallenAngel

    FallenAngel Active Member

    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    Gigabyte GTX 1050Ti OC
    Leadtek 6800

    Pixel unit 1 HW masked (not working... gives artefacts when enabled)
    Vertex unit 3 HW masked (works fine)

    390/880 12x1, 6vp:

    3DMark03 9377 -> 9523
    3DMark05 3723 -> 3831
     
  19. ihiktacos

    ihiktacos Guest

    Thanks Unwinder for your quick reply :)

    Just for clarification (sorry to mess up this thread a bit), by upping the voltage, do you mean just upping the AGP voltage from 1.5 to 1.6/1.7?

    Also, excuse me for being a bit of an overclock newbie, but how do these AGP voltages relate to the ones as reported by Riva (voltage lvl 1 and 2)?

    Thanks again!
     
  20. espent

    espent Guest

    MSI 6800NU: 16x1, 5vp

    Pixel Unit 1 HW masked: enabled
    Vertex Unit 5 HW masked: disabled (artifacts in 3DMark)

    At stock speed:

    3DMark01: 20134 -> 20357
    3DMark03: 8997 -> 9745
    3DMark05: 3178 -> 3470
    AquaMark3: 54460 -> 56984
    Doom 3 (1280*1024, High, 2xAA): 55,1 -> 59,8

    Great work Unwinder!!! You're a geeks hero!
     

Share This Page