Review: TeamGroup Delta RGB DDR5 6000 MHz CL40

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Feb 22, 2022.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    44,027
    Likes Received:
    11,071
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    Today, we are checking the TeamGroup T-Force Delta RGB 6000 MHz CL40. This is the first DDR5 kit that I had a hands-on with, and overall it’s already from the upper range of the new type of memory (...

    Review: TeamGroup Delta RGB DDR5 6000 MHz CL40
     
  2. maize1951

    maize1951 Master Guru

    Messages:
    249
    Likes Received:
    8
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 1080 8GB
    Very expensive though, OUCH!
     
  3. kakiharaFRS

    kakiharaFRS Master Guru

    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    283
    GPU:
    KFA2 RTX 3090
    TG still the only 6200 6400 memory QVL (and for once you really want to follow it or it will not work properly) for Asus Z690 Extreme
    not sold in my country...hoping Corsair gets their act together because they are currently selling 6200 memory that I have not found a motherboard QVLed for (checked most high end ones) and I personnally had to return a 2x 5600 kit that was garbage minutes to boot and unstable compared to a plug and play 6000 g.skill

    as usual I remind you that Z690 ONLY supports 2 sticks don't believe the BS you are sold with motherboards and prtomo pictures that have 4 slots..Buildzoid announced it and sure enough it happened
    I tried to boot with 4 didn't work had to return
    technically it works but at very slow clocks like 4400 which is below the base spec for DDR5 >< and as you can see in all the DDR5 reviews speed matters..a LOT for it, if you cannot run it at 5600+ don't bother with ddr5 you will lose perfs vs ddr4

    p.s.
    when I see ultra high end custom loops builds with 4 sticks I instantly know that person doesn't use the computer because no one would destroy it's perf that badly
     
  4. Ojref

    Ojref Active Member

    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    31
    GPU:
    AMD Radeon RX6900XT
    I went from apprehensively trying TeamGroup ram out of desperation a few years ago to being more and more a connoisseur. So I've used their DDR4 stuff with Ryzen/Threadripper and Intel 12th gen with no issues. I don't know what's up with Corsair lately, used to be my go-to vendor but they've fell out of favor with me. I will say Corsair's RMA dept has been responsive on the times that I've needed them, though.
     

  5. nizzen

    nizzen Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    699
    GPU:
    3x3090/3060ti/2080t
    A few people on OCN is running 4x 5600, but that's pretty much the maximum speed with 4 sticks :)

    I agree with your statement. Running slow DDR5 isn't wort it, unless you are running VERY tight timings.

    If someone have have coustom loop and ddr5 with no watercooling on it or direct airflow, you know they are running slow ddr5 LoL
     
  6. nizzen

    nizzen Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    699
    GPU:
    3x3090/3060ti/2080t
    "Max" potensial with watercooled g.skill 6400c32 hynix DDR5
    16456048748503143456483018667645.jpg

    Ps: 7200c30 is the new standard for 24/7 stable ddr5 if you have good enough imc on the cpu :)
     
  7. Danny_G13

    Danny_G13 Master Guru

    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    141
    GPU:
    KF2 3090 SG
    This is the RAM (6400 edition) I have. It looks lovely, it seems to perform well, but end of the day DDR5 and Alderlake are new tech that only the early adopters have and it'll take time for the true pace and strength of it to flourish.
     
  8. Danny_G13

    Danny_G13 Master Guru

    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    141
    GPU:
    KF2 3090 SG
    I run mine at the stock 6400 but 32GB is all I ever wanted and 2x16 is fairly standard size at DDR5 level.
     
  9. Danny_G13

    Danny_G13 Master Guru

    Messages:
    788
    Likes Received:
    141
    GPU:
    KF2 3090 SG
    Yeah it's not the cheapest - it was double the price of my old G.skill DDR4 @ 4000. But new tech always costs more. Price will come down in 6 months to a year. Well, I say that, the 3090 barely ever did and it's about a year and a half it's been on the market.
     
  10. ruthan

    ruthan Master Guru

    Messages:
    560
    Likes Received:
    104
    GPU:
    G1070 MSI Gaming
    Only performance big win is in Handbrake so for some video conversion and maybe for video editing it make sense, otherwise not, unless someone would be able to find other good use cases..
     

  11. kakiharaFRS

    kakiharaFRS Master Guru

    Messages:
    849
    Likes Received:
    283
    GPU:
    KFA2 RTX 3090
    here's one a heavily modded skyrim I'm running something like 2000 more scripts than the original game, at this stage when you are not at the limit of a game engine but way past it (with external dlls and such) fast memory and core clock matter
    on z690 in rough spots I get 70-80fps when an oc 5950x had 45-50 which changes things a lot, my previous 9900k @5.1ghz also had around 50-55 I don't know if the difference come from cpu design or the ddr5 but it's not the +100Mhz all core on the cpu that explain this gap (5.2 vs 5.1 all cores)
     
  12. nizzen

    nizzen Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    699
    GPU:
    3x3090/3060ti/2080t
    The biggest win with tweaked DDR5 is in games. Cyberpunk is maybe the most win with DDR5. The key is to tweak it to sub 50ns. Battlefield 2042 also love DDR5. ATM I'm running this for gaming:
    Desktop Screenshot 2022.02.25 - 23.33.08.97.png

    Fps is pretty good in Battlefield 2042 too:


    [​IMG][​IMG][​IMG]
     
  13. GREGIX

    GREGIX Master Guru

    Messages:
    785
    Likes Received:
    172
    GPU:
    6800XT Merc
    Nice nizzen.
    I just wonder if I would gain same/similar gains with mere 6800xt, coming from 9900k@5ghz with 4200c16 ram tuned to 35ns.
    Problem is don't play cb2077 any more, and would not bf2042 ;) and now mostly I playing whtw3 or old dx9 game AAPG
     
  14. Venix

    Venix Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,463
    Likes Received:
    1,204
    GPU:
    Palit 1060 6gb
    Gaming wise I think you will be GPU limited before the 9900k runs out of juice or your monitor will be out of Hz ! I do not personally see a point on paying so much to get an alderlake CPU +mb+ddr5 just for few more fps if even that , granted we are talking pure gaming. If there are other tasks you do and need that's another thing.
     
  15. nizzen

    nizzen Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    699
    GPU:
    3x3090/3060ti/2080t
    Even stock 5950x is cpubound in 3440x1440.
    Better performance in the game with overclocked cpu and tweaked memory. This means that the game is cpu and memory performance bound even in 3440x1440 :)
     

  16. Venix

    Venix Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,463
    Likes Received:
    1,204
    GPU:
    Palit 1060 6gb
    If you are getting over 120 fps does it even matter ? Except if you do it for a hobby I see it rather pointless.
     

Share This Page