[Review] Mortal Kombat

Discussion in 'Consoles & console games' started by MrH, May 2, 2011.

1. MrH

MrH Ancient Guru

GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 Armour
    Warning: May contain spoilers.

I started playing Mortal Kombat at the beginning with MK1, back then I didn't care about combos or even learning most of the moves, as long as I could pull off the Fatalities I was a happy button masher. Back then Mortal Kombat impressed me with it's gore and adult theme, but things have changed with MK9 and I now find myself impressed with how solid the fighting engine is, the blood and gore are just a nice bonus.

A new and very important addition to the fighting engine is the "super meter", this increases when you're hit, when you do damage and when your attacks are blocked. The super meter is split into three bars, having one bar will allow you to enhance one of your fighters special moves, having two bars will allow you to perform a "breaker", this lets you break out of a deadly combo, a breaker can only be used after your opponents first hit has landed on you. Finally we have the most devastating move in MK9, the X-Ray attack. X-Ray attacks can be performed when you have three bars of meter, depending on the fighter and how you execute them an X-Ray attack can do huge damage that can easily turn a certain loss into a win.

[​IMG]
    Your meter is drained after using an X-Ray attack.