Review: G.Skill TridentZ 3200 MHz 32GB Quad Channel DDR4

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Oct 13, 2016.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    38,961
    Likes Received:
    7,631
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
  2. NiscoRacing

    NiscoRacing Member

    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 680 4GB (WC)
    Small tip for everyone, buy your DDR4 memory sticks this week! So you ask why, well DDR4 prices are rising each single day and they are expecting this to keep going until Q1 2017.

    So if you want to have $50 to $200 cheaper DDR4 memory, buy them this week.

    And because of the big fiasco whit the Note 7, samsung needs to get there profit from some where! I guess they gonna keep these prices high for a long time.

    Some articles that talks about this Trendforce - Anandtech


    G.Skill TridentZ Series 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR4-4000 +$5

    G.Skill TridentZ Series 32GB (2 x 16GB) DDR4-3200 +$20

    G.Skill TridentZ Series 64GB (8 x 8GB) DDR4-3000 +$50

    GSKILL ICs 3200+
     
  3. weasel

    weasel Master Guru

    Messages:
    672
    Likes Received:
    2
    GPU:
    2080ti&1080Ti
    Thx for this review Hilbert i'm still happy with my Kingston kit but these Gskill sticks do look awesome and great performance.
     
  4. Koniakki

    Koniakki Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,843
    Likes Received:
    443
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GTX 1080Ti FE
    I like RAM so much. Always have been fascinated with it.

    Thank you the review HH! :thumbup:
     
    Last edited: Oct 17, 2016

  5. akbaar

    akbaar Master Guru

    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    ASUS 2080 STRIX
    I have that DDR4 Rams, But am not getting same results as Hilberts, why is that?

    here is my benchmark:

    [​IMG]
     
  6. holystarlight

    holystarlight Master Guru

    Messages:
    792
    Likes Received:
    62
    GPU:
    Nvidia 2080 TI SLI
    His using a Quad channel kit, on a x99 not a dual channel kit that you are using on the z170 platform. thats why the speeds are far different.
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2016
  7. Koniakki

    Koniakki Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,843
    Likes Received:
    443
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GTX 1080Ti FE
    Because HH is using a different platform with a different processor and above all, he's running quad-channel mode.

    Iirc your bandwidth at those timings and speed and cpu OC looks correct.

    Btw that sweet Impact mobo with that RAM, you could easily pull 4000+ I would guess! :thumbup:
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2016
  8. akbaar

    akbaar Master Guru

    Messages:
    314
    Likes Received:
    16
    GPU:
    ASUS 2080 STRIX
    haha, thanks!! am so proud of it. am still noob in RAM Overclock, but you're totally right, seen people with 4000mhz OC on ram on Impact. would love to do it
     
  9. FranciscoCL

    FranciscoCL Master Guru

    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    19
    GPU:
    GTX 1080 Ti
    Thanks for the review, I am always interested in these memory reviews to see the impact (or not) in the gaming experience.
    Some tests and reviews indicate that better speed RAM can increase performance of Fallout 4.
    It would be great if Fallout 4 could be added to the review to see the difference in high resolutions.
     
  10. Koniakki

    Koniakki Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,843
    Likes Received:
    443
    GPU:
    ZOTAC GTX 1080Ti FE
    I tried up to 4000 CL 17-17-17 2T on my ASUS 8 Hero but I didn't even bother to make it stable.

    3866 17-17-17-450 2T 1.35-1.37V was stable if I recall but I have settled for 3733CL16 for now.

    And btw this is the 3000 CL14 kit(F4-3000C14Q-32GTZ). You gotta love "free" performance. :p

    Now at least I can rest assured it will help when that fast RAM is needed at some those specific scenarios or even help with those minimum FPS in games. :thumbup:
     
    Last edited: Oct 14, 2016

  11. Matt26LFC

    Matt26LFC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,079
    Likes Received:
    34
    GPU:
    RTX 2080Ti
    Just picked a similar kit to these, got the G.Skill Ripsaws V 3200MHz CL14 32GB quad kit. It'll be paired with a X99 SOC Champ and a 5960X.

    Looking forward to playing with it all!
     
  12. Margalus

    Margalus Master Guru

    Messages:
    293
    Likes Received:
    49
    GPU:
    EVGA GTX 980 Ti FTW
    I have this ram in my system with an Asus x-99 deluxe mobo. But I have a major problem with xmp. Every time I try to enable xmp it overclocks my cpu also. This new bios is a pain. Why does the cpu overclock just by enabling xmp? I would like to the overclock of the cpu to be completely separate from the xmp profile of the ram.

    Am I doing something wrong?
     
  13. Agent-A01

    Agent-A01 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,364
    Likes Received:
    902
    GPU:
    1080Ti H20
    Is it using 125 strap?

    If you have a 3200 kit, all you need to do is set it manually.
    Set ram to 3200mhz, bclk @ 100mhz, set ram voltage, and set the main timings.
     
  14. bigfutus

    bigfutus Master Guru

    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    56
    GPU:
    MSI GTX 1080 Ti
    Me two, because of these F4 tests i picked the 2666 instead of 2133. Well and beacuse the prices droped back then.
     

Share This Page