Review: Battlefield V: PC graphics performance benchmarks analysis

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Nov 9, 2018.

  1. Robbo9999

    Robbo9999 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,451
    Likes Received:
    244
    GPU:
    GTX1070 @2050Mhz
    Sounds good, I'm interested in seeing the 9900K operating at 4 and 6 cores (hyperthreading on) - to imitate the 7700K and the 8700K. Or better yet, seperate real 7700K & 8700K testing, but disabling cores on 9900K is kinda valid still, although it does have a bigger cache. Thanks for including the 9900K & 2700X results already, now I'm looking forward to seeing the core disabling tests to get an idea of where my overclocked 6700K might stack up! So far the 9900K is proving it's worth for high refresh rate gaming, for my sake I hope this holds true still once 2 and 4 cores have been disabled!
     
  2. GREGIX

    GREGIX Master Guru

    Messages:
    579
    Likes Received:
    57
    GPU:
    MSI 1080 /AMD v7
    I don't know why this game runs so badly compared to BF1. I mean, visuals are the same, or I am just blind and cannot see those fancy effects while on both games have ultra, and main difference is -80FPS in BF5.
    Games looks little better with that film grain effect disabled, but whats freaks me out, that U HAVE to use TAA in BF5 you wont or not, and it sucks badly. There is no option to disable it. Only solution was to use ReShade and sharpen filter, which steals like 10-20FPS, so from 100FPS area I went down to 80.
    And as I said, visuals same, and BF1 runs with 150-200FPS...
     
    Robbo9999 likes this.
  3. Robbo9999

    Robbo9999 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,451
    Likes Received:
    244
    GPU:
    GTX1070 @2050Mhz
    TOTALLY! TAA was my major gripe with BF V and no option to disable it, makes textures look like crap, especially at distance, I even think BF 1 looks better while running faster. My BF V experience was from the beta.
     
  4. HARDRESET

    HARDRESET Master Guru

    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    189
    GPU:
    1080Ti G1 GAMING OC
    Thank you
    Yup its a Zalman CNPS9700 from my Opteron 160 and 180 and 7600gs SLI day's
    Also my 290x CFX did more like 275 watts each ,your card is superior to a reference card, and absolutely right the Windforce 3X are nice and quiet .
     
    BlackZero likes this.

  5. Fox2232

    Fox2232 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,950
    Likes Received:
    2,298
    GPU:
    5700XT+AW@240Hz
    Game is about to be released. And their changes to instancing, object handling and Draw Calls batching for sake of optimizing raytracing did this mess?
    Funny to see 1080p results where r9-290x is above 980Ti/Fury X this much. Apparently not due to VRAM as they are equal on 4K.
    Apparently not due to geometry discard/culling as that is practically linear thing with clock on GCN due to no changes between R9-290X and Fury X in that department. Improved clock on RX-580 improves discard/culling, yet it does not pull ahead of R9-290X.

    Same thing for huge difference in between RX-580 and GTX 1060 where RX-580 is 46% faster...
    Way too many performance anomalies here to call it finished AAA game. I could understand that from small indie studio.
     
    airbud7, Embra, Turanis and 2 others like this.
  6. HARDRESET

    HARDRESET Master Guru

    Messages:
    516
    Likes Received:
    189
    GPU:
    1080Ti G1 GAMING OC
    So proud to own a 290x and 1080ti, especially 290x✔
     
    BlackZero, Fox2232 and Rich_Guy like this.
  7. droopy_ro

    droopy_ro Active Member

    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    31
    GPU:
    GTX 1070 Ti MSI
    They didn't make it an on/off option since beta ?
     
  8. fr33k

    fr33k Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,981
    Likes Received:
    55
    GPU:
    ASUS STRIX RTX2080
    supposedly turning it off messes with the lighting. and no you can't disable it.
     
  9. Corrupt^

    Corrupt^ Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    6,913
    Likes Received:
    279
    GPU:
    ASUS 1080GTX STRIX
    Tried setting all aliasing options in the config file to 0, no dice, you can't turn it off. Though looking at the BFV battlelog forums, A LOT of people seem to dislike it.

    The high option seems a bit sharper.
     
  10. nizzen

    nizzen Master Guru

    Messages:
    907
    Likes Received:
    177
    GPU:
    3x2080ti/5700x/1060
    A lot of people

    "9"people :p
     

  11. martindaman

    martindaman New Member

    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    R9 Fury Nitro
    I litterally have a 30fps difference from dx11 to dx12 on my FURY.
    dx11 bench avg 75fps.
    dx 12 closer to 45 fps.
    Looks like dx11 is the way to go, just like bf1.
     
    Turanis likes this.
  12. DesGaizu

    DesGaizu Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,695
    Likes Received:
    58
    GPU:
    JetStream 980Ti
    a dx12 patch is coming this week, it sounds like they want dx12 to be the main renderer and they are expecting it to work the best once its running how they want it.
     
    Robbo9999 likes this.
  13. Singleton99

    Singleton99 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,027
    Likes Received:
    68
    GPU:
    Aorus-Extreme-1080TI
    Just want to say thanks HH for your hard work with this article/review , there's been plenty of interesting reading. :)
     
  14. slimmy427

    slimmy427 Active Member

    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    18
    GPU:
    EVGA Hybrid 1080ti
    I am having an issue with RAM usage and BF5. Really hoping someone has some insight.
    8700k@5ghz
    2x8gb gskill 3600 slot 2 and 4
    asus prime a MB
    AIO cooled vega 64

    Issue is...no matter how much resolution (ultra setting) I push at BF5, the system ram usage never goes above 7.9gb. It starts around 6.5gb and increases to 7.2 after a bit of map time. By end of a round its at 7.9gb. I have reinstalled EVERYTHING! I checked the ram is working and I can fill it up. What could be locking ram usage on BF5?
     
  15. Robbo9999

    Robbo9999 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,451
    Likes Received:
    244
    GPU:
    GTX1070 @2050Mhz
    Why are you concerned about the amount of RAM that's being used? Are you getting poorer than expected performance?
     

  16. slimmy427

    slimmy427 Active Member

    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    18
    GPU:
    EVGA Hybrid 1080ti
    Good question but, my concern is that it does not increase with higher resolutions or settings. Its seems to be a behavior that is abnormal and not a benefit. Only alternative is that my system is lying right to my face!
     
  17. Robbo9999

    Robbo9999 Maha Guru

    Messages:
    1,451
    Likes Received:
    244
    GPU:
    GTX1070 @2050Mhz
    Maybe your VRAM is the variable that is increasing, check if your VRAM usage is increasing. But, either way, I wouldn't worry about it - if it's performing as well as you can expect given the hardware you have, then you're winning anyway.
     
  18. slimmy427

    slimmy427 Active Member

    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    18
    GPU:
    EVGA Hybrid 1080ti
    I do see about 1.5gb of vram increase from 1080p to 4k. I wish I could accept this as a benefit but, there has to be some sort of reason. Maybe its AMD better utilizing the HBM2 over ram? Either way, there's a reason out there and I need to find it :confused:
     
  19. Dragam1337

    Dragam1337 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,519
    Likes Received:
    708
    GPU:
    1080 Gaming X SLI
    In one thread... there are many.
     
  20. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    37,317
    Likes Received:
    6,374
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    I've given the article a final update. The CPU core scaling results should be interesting. Disabling hyper-threading might be the solve for the DX12 stutters and performance issues.
     

Share This Page