Review: ASUS PRIME X570 Pro

Discussion in 'Frontpage news' started by Hilbert Hagedoorn, Nov 13, 2019.

  1. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    36,476
    Likes Received:
    5,505
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA
    We check out the ASUS PRIME X570 Pro motherboard with a Ryzen 7 3700X processor, AMD prepped the X570 chipset, that offers a refined experience for your Ryzen Generation 3 processor. Read the review...

    Review: ASUS PRIME X570 Pro
     
    DeskStar likes this.
  2. wavetrex

    wavetrex Master Guru

    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    372
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX1080 AMP!
    @Hilbert Hagedoorn Please start pairing Ryzen 3000 with faster memory, it has quite a significant effect in many applications, and especially games !
    DDR4-3200 just doesn't cut it anymore for these CPU's !

    Example:
    Your Time Spy CPU score: 10046
    My Time Spy CPU score: 10719 ( https://www.3dmark.com/3dm/40959663? )

    That is 7%, not insignificant !
    In games it has quite an impact on minimum framerate, and a few percent too on maximum.
    ( I don't have the same games as the ones used for testing, but in those that I do there were measurable differences between 3200-CL14 and 3600-CL16, the latter winning all the time ! )

    For Zen 2, higher MClock (in sync with higher FClock - Infinity Fabric) is MUCH better than that tiny "2" difference in Cas Latency !

    Please use DDR4-3600 CL16 memory for any future tests of these CPU's, or ideally overclock it to 3733-CL16.

    Check out memory bandwidth results by using DDR4-3800 CL16, yours vs mine:

    [​IMG]
    |
    |
    |
    V
    [​IMG]
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2019
    Oversemper and DeskStar like this.
  3. Hilbert Hagedoorn

    Hilbert Hagedoorn Don Vito Corleone Staff Member

    Messages:
    36,476
    Likes Received:
    5,505
    GPU:
    AMD | NVIDIA

    That 7% is definitely not coming from a memory frequency increase. We test 3200 MHz as it is the current price/performance sweet spot. We do that for both AMD and Intel to create an equal and fair test environment.
     
  4. DeskStar

    DeskStar Master Guru

    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    63
    GPU:
    4 eVGA GTX TITAN SC
    Whoa..... The memory performance is just down right abysmal. Just like Wavetrex has stated there needs to be a standard speed to hit these CPU's with because 3200mhz is sorely sad.

    I'll post a pic after getting the little ones on the bus, but my memory throughput makes everyone's on here look dated and sad as hell..... 3800mhz with an infinity fabric of 1900 makes the world of difference.

    65gb screaming along with T1 timings 16-19-19-19-(32)...…"WHOOPS its 39 actually"
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2019
    Oversemper likes this.

  5. wavetrex

    wavetrex Master Guru

    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    372
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX1080 AMP!
    Where else would it come from ? It's just a 3700X running on Auto everything (It might be the motherboard is allowing more TDP headroom, but I didn't do anything special). There is no manual overclock.

    That might be, but these CPUs are being held back by slower memory+ IF clocks.
    The cores can access everything faster when IF is faster ! The speed doesn't come straight up from memory's extra bandwidth, but the fact that with faster IF, the latency goes down quite significantly ! Observe the AIDA64 screenshots... yours = 73, mine = 67 (It's 69 for Fclock = 1800, goes to 67 for Fclock = 1900).
    CCX to CCX also gets visibly faster due to the same reason, so threads jumping between cores have less of an impact.

    On Intel chips it doesn't really matter, 3200-3600 are "margin of error" close, but not on Ryzen.

    Using ye olde car comparison... it's like having 400 HP engine on a luxury car and putting an electronic limiter to top speed due to regulations so the car never uses its full potential, barely reaching 250 HP.

    So NO, on Zen 2, 3200 is just not good enough ! It's not sweet-spot at all.

    [​IMG]

    Coming straight from AMD:

    "Recommended Price/Perf Config"

    I rest my case your Honor.
     
    DeskStar and Oversemper like this.
  6. Oversemper

    Oversemper Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    Radeon 7
    Thanks for review!

    I'd appreciate if somebody could enlighten me regarding the following. I've just bought pretty much the same board: ASUS STRIX X570-F GAMING and pair it with 3800x. Further I have two m.2 nvme 4-lanes each: SAMSUNG 970 EVO Plus MZ-V7S500BW 500GB, M.2 2280, PCI-E x4, NVMe - installed right under the CPU, used for windows, and INTEL 660P SSDPEKNW020T8X1 2Tb, M.2 2280, PCI-E x4, NVMe - installed at the board's lower part, used for games. So the question is: do I have any PCI lanes left for other peripherals? I mean, if I install a sound card to the slot near the battery called (in manual) "PCIe 4.0 x1 slot (PCIE_X1_1/2)", is it going to steal any lanes from GPU or one of the M.2 NVMe devices, thereby crippling their performance?

    BTW, none of the sata ports is/will be used, if it matters.
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2019
  7. TestDriver

    TestDriver Member Guru

    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    1080 Ti, C49HG90
    I agree that on AMD zen2 that faster memory can have some nice bumps in performance, as I have read on other sites.
    But one must also think about the price, it's a big jump from 3200 to 3600, not to mention 3800.
    So I think if you think about the price difference, 3200 is the sweet spot for many as 3600 is twice the price.

    But just in the processof bying myself, so quite sure what I will get. Have bought a 3900x, and think I will go for 3600 memory at CL16, and overclock them to 3800.
    Thinking about the G.Skill Ripjaws V Black DDR4 3600MHz (F4-3600C16D-16GVK), any one have any experience with those?
     
  8. DeskStar

    DeskStar Master Guru

    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    63
    GPU:
    4 eVGA GTX TITAN SC
    [​IMG] [​IMG] Here are the scores I have on my first run of Aida64 after a fresh reboot. Only thing I changed on my boot up is that I turned off my Gigabyte software before running this...
    [​IMG]

    oh and these sets of 32gb only ran me $174.99 each... Did I need both......NO, but I wanted them and couldn't be happier that they're playing nice together at these speeds and my Infinity Fabric also.

    Oh and as per BuildZoid on his Gigabyte X570 videos he was saying to have all four DIMMs populated with higher density sticks they would have to run at 500 or more on a particular setting. Can't remember off hand which one it is, but this system is allowing for a 318-330 or something in that particular memory setting. TFrCD maybe? I'll need to check it out and grab a picture.

    [​IMG]

    Memory voltage reads 1.376 through the trusty Volt-O-meter. Couldn't be happier with a setup this go'round. And being that I have switched up brands all around on every bit of hardware it was a tough bite to take that was for sure.

    It all worked out in the end. Now to get it all under water...… Six Radiators await this hardware....
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2019
  9. wavetrex

    wavetrex Master Guru

    Messages:
    690
    Likes Received:
    372
    GPU:
    Zotac GTX1080 AMP!
    @DeskStar the different CPU kinda invalidates any results you post on this thread.
    The ASUS motherboard in the article was tested with a 3700X, and I pointed out that the results are lower than what they should be, as my older X370 board beats Hilbert's results easy.... because Memory.
    Anyway, grats on your system, you have quite a powerhouse there !

    ---
    Something else... board traces quality doesn't show up in tests of multiple boards, as pretty much any AM4 board can run memory at 3200.
    That is not the case with 3733-3800, a lot of cheaper/older AM4 boards even fail to boot with anything faster than 3400...

    I think maximum attainable memory speed should be part of the basic tests for motherboards !
    (Or at least test if they are capable of sustaining that sweet-spot 3733 stable !)

    Paying 200+ Euro on an X570 board and 350 Euro on a CPU then cheaping out at memory for 20-40 Euro just doesn't make sense.

    3600 is NOT double of 3200, far from it !
    Check out this list:
    https://tweakers.net/categorie/545/...kJ1vSx7i301ygxSC_6TeqHPzTmgKkr_7XSK86YckHP-AA

    Prices start at 72 Euro for G-Skill Sniper X ( 2x8 - DDR4-3600 CL19 )

    Compare that to 3200:
    https://tweakers.net/categorie/545/...UTX9jLvLWavlBikEvwn9UI11TmhKJ3622kbzqtyQkrpAw

    68 euro for Corsair Vengeance 3200-CL16

    If you go CL14, it's much worse !

    https://tweakers.net/categorie/545/...IkwAdG_0iyoSnmCpl0Q7XTNpQWcoVERF8B0VYTvYQY4xc

    128-135 Euro for 3200-CL14 !??!

    I'd take the 72 euro 3600-CL19 any day of the week for a Ryzen CPU !
    (And it's very likely capable of CL16 with a bit of overvolting)

    At current prices it seriously makes no sense at all to continue testing with 3200 !
     
    MonstroMart and DeskStar like this.
  10. Loophole35

    Loophole35 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    9,416
    Likes Received:
    894
    GPU:
    EVGA 1080ti SC
    Please note that CL makes a bigger impact than raw Mhz of the RAM. AMD recomends 3600Mhz CL16. Please find CL16 3600Mhz RAM. It's enthusiast lever sticks. 3200Mhz CL16 is common. Also Intel does benefit from tighter timings and higher speeds as well just watch Jayz Two Cents latest video on RAM speed using a 9900k.

    This is not a conspiracy against AMD. Some of Hilbert's Intel numbers are bottlenecked by the 3200Mhz RAM too.
     

  11. MonstroMart

    MonstroMart Master Guru

    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    190
    GPU:
    GB 5700 XT GOC 8G
    In Canada there's not that much difference between 3200 and 3600 ram there days. You can buy 16GB of TridentZ 3600 for 125$ which is actually significantly less than the 16GB of TridentZ 3200 i bought two years ago ... the price difference is definitely worth it if you are getting better performance. You'll have better timing on the 3200 but it remains to be seen if better timing > mhz on Ryzen 2.
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2019
  12. DARKSF

    DARKSF Active Member

    Messages:
    50
    Likes Received:
    10
    Funny last night I setupped a machine with this mobo and the 3900x. :) Today I saw there is 1.0.0.4B already for it from ASUS so tonight I'm gonna check it out.

    About the memory I took 2 sets of Corsair CMK16GX4M2Z3200C16 for 75euro the pair for total 150euro for all the 32Gigs and the cheapest 3600 CL16 I can see around here are G.SKILL Trident Z 16GB (2x8GB) DDR4 3600MHz F4-3600C16D-16GTZKW runing for 175euro the pair of 16Gigs or it will cost me grand total of 350 euro for 32Gigs. Sorry but investing this 200 euros difference in a GPU will have much much bigger impact than random 7% here and there. 3600 CL16 is not mainstream it is enthusiast level given more than double the price. Soo thank you, but you can keep your Ferrari I'll go for the Porsche.
     
  13. TestDriver

    TestDriver Member Guru

    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    11
    GPU:
    1080 Ti, C49HG90
    When I compared prices between 3200 and 3600 choose latency of 16 for both, as 16 is recomended for 3600 by AMD.
    If you go up to 19 for the 3600, then the price isn't much different.
    Atleast here in Norway there is quite the difference when you want low latency ram
     
  14. rl66

    rl66 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    150
    GPU:
    quadro K6000+Tesla M2090
    It was the 1st ripjaws to be compatible with AMD (aegis and ripjaw IV are not compatible with Ryzen) they are just so/so on intel and tend to be unable to reach the right frequency on some Ryzen motherboard...
    I think it is the reason why they are so cheap in the Gskill line. for the price you can have in GSkill catalog: low latency 3200 that are more profitable or with more money more compatible and reliable 3600... all other GSkill are good.

    *edit* About the bump of performance with fast memory:
    -yes it is still exist
    -with Ryzen 3XX0 it really have a limited effect
    -3200 is enough to limit even more the effect
    -it's better to succeed OC the ram than buy high frequency ram and not be able to be stable at that speed.

    You can always go higher but how much money will be spended?
     
    Last edited: Nov 13, 2019
  15. jdc2389

    jdc2389 Member Guru

    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    980ti 1408/3650
    Not enough money to make it not worth it, I'm getting a pair of 16gb b-die 3600 cl16 g. skill for 115 to pair with my buddies new rig I'm building this month. https://pcpartpicker.com/list/KZzDx6 and yes I could've gone with the tomahawk max mobo but the cpu is gonna be upgraded to a high end ryzen 4000 or anything else juicy that hits am4.
     

  16. DeskStar

    DeskStar Master Guru

    Messages:
    634
    Likes Received:
    63
    GPU:
    4 eVGA GTX TITAN SC
    Your manual for your motherboard should address any and all of these questions. it should easily explain what PCI Express slot and or m.2 drive will be available to what.

    PCI-e lane bi-furififcation (if that's how you spell it) is highly dependent on the motherboard and motherboard manufacturer. It's also something you should look into for your motherboard.
     
  17. jdc2389

    jdc2389 Member Guru

    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    13
    GPU:
    980ti 1408/3650
    OverSemper you should refund that x570-f and get the x570-e the f version shouldn't exist or be cheaper than it is.
     
  18. semantics

    semantics Member

    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    1
    GPU:
    N/A
    AMD memory specification for Matisse is 3200,
     
  19. rl66

    rl66 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,208
    Likes Received:
    150
    GPU:
    quadro K6000+Tesla M2090
    This is the worse comparison you could have found:
    The power of the engine have no impact on the speed at all, the speed limiter limit the speed not the HP of the vehicule, in your case you cannot pass the constructor limit, but you have your 400 HP all long.
    In race you have limiter, as an exemple my engine do around 300+ HP but as turbocharged i would be out of the spec of my cat, so i have a diameter limit that limit the impact of the turbo and so a 275 something HP. but this time it doesn't limit the speed.

    For your different with Hilbert about memory gain, even if both are in auto, the reason could be the maker and the bios of the motherboard, in the MSI line with same chipset (B450 and X570), and same design of the motherboard (VRM and everything), i have found great difference with gaming serie vs pro serie.
    Prime line is not gaming motherboard it's every day use motherboard, the target is "being compatible with everything".

    Not saying that you are right but i have for my HTPC a B450 board, and a friend a gaming B350 both with same CPU and Mem, i OC as crap he seem to have no limit, same with mem, i have 3000's mem on it and i can reach only CPU limit (2400 but i don't care mem were free :) ) and he can OC until 3200.
    As you see there is the AMD part in bios but also a part from the maker of the board.

    The only way to see if it has an impact would be testing 3800's mem on this Asus board.
     
  20. Oversemper

    Oversemper Member

    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    5
    GPU:
    Radeon 7
    If you are talking about ASUS ROG Strix X570-E, then this one is actually more expensive than -F version. I was deciding between non-strix x570-pro and the cheapest asus x570 board with usb flash back, which I liked very much when using my asus p8z77v-pro for 6 years already. So the cheapest asus x570 usb flash back available in the store was strix x570-f.

    I checked manual, but it is silent regarding small PCIe slots.
    Here is it.
    Slots available as listed in the manual (page 1-6):
    PCIe 4.0/3.0 x16_ 1 slot
    PCIe 4.0 x1 _ 1 slot
    PCIe 4.0/3.0 x16_2 slot
    PCIe 4.0 x1 _2 slot
    PCIe 4.0 x16_3 slot

    Ryzen 3rd gen config (page 1-7):
    [​IMG]
    It says nothing more about PCIe 4.0 x1_1 and PCIe 4.0 x1_2 slots anywhere in the manual.
     
    Last edited: Nov 14, 2019

Share This Page