Resizeable BAR support issues

Discussion in 'Videocards - AMD Radeon Drivers Section' started by Espionage724, Nov 26, 2020.

Tags:
  1. Wault

    Wault Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Vega64 LC 1722-1125
    Hello,

    My 2 cents.

    My config :
    - ROG STRIX X570-E Gaming with BIOS 3405 (AGESA V2 PI 1.2.0.0)
    - Ryzen 2 : 3800XT
    - Vega 64 LC
    - Windows 10 20H2
    - Adrenalin 21.2.2

    Evidently, I only have a good motherboard but not the right graphic card nor the CPU.
    I decided to test nonetheless, so I clicked in the "ReSize BAR" BIOS menu entry.
    It is like in this screenshot from PhazDelta.

    I then booted to Windows and like Espionage724, I have the entry "large memory range" appeared in the graphic card Windows properties window.
    But in GPU-Z 2.65, only 256Mb on memory 3 and memory 7, like the OFF screenshot of reslore.
     
    DanielRX likes this.
  2. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,471
    Likes Received:
    5,414
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    Any games testing you've done?
     
  3. HD64G

    HD64G Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    SapphirePulseRX5700
    After MSI published the BIOS in December 2020 for Tomahawk B450 Max enabling the SAM feature, I thought I should test it even having a 2600X with an RX5700. And a few days ago I did so finding the results below:

    Rome2TW SAM on: 175FPS maximum, 96FPS average, 65FPS minimum
    Rome2TW SAM off: 149FPS maximum, 94FPS average, 64FPS minimum

    DirtRally SAM on: 178FPS maximum, 150FPS average, 110FPS minimum
    DirtRally SAM off: 175FPS maximum, 142FPS average, 89FPS minimum

    Games as Ghost Recon Wildlands and the (vulkanised through the DXVK) AC Odyssey didn't show any performance differences.

    Another change from enabling this feature is that the loading screeens when getting in the gameplay take significantly less time.
     
    Stormyandcold and Undying like this.
  4. imid

    imid New Member

    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    GPU:
    RTX 2060 6GB
    Not to be accusatory, but could I ask for a source please?
     

  5. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,380
    Likes Received:
    4,273
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    You can, but you'll need to sign an nda to read it.
     
  6. Wault

    Wault Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Vega64 LC 1722-1125
    Only Hitman 2 and Cyberpunk 2077, and I didn't notice any difference.
     
    Undying likes this.
  7. DanielRX

    DanielRX Member Guru

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    68
    GPU:
    RX Vega56/GTX1070
  8. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,380
    Likes Received:
    4,273
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    There is nothing specific in the pcie device that is missing to do it.
     
    HD64G likes this.
  9. Alessio1989

    Alessio1989 Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    2,100
    Likes Received:
    627
    GPU:
    .
    just imagine the huge advantage of being bound to current upload heap limitation from NVME devices..

    [​IMG]

    Throw away those limits are the start point for getting any advantage from direct storage.
     
    Krteq and Kevin Mauro like this.
  10. lamiska

    lamiska New Member

    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    12
    GPU:
    AMD RX5700
    Quick test with my X470 Gaming Plus MAX which got new BIOS yestarday with my Ryzen 5 3600 + RX 5700:

    RDR2 with REBAR ON:

    Avarage FPS: 28.7
    Min FPS: 25.1
    Max FPS: 34.6


    RDR2 with REBAR OFF:

    Avarage FPS: 28.2
    Min FPS: 12.3
    Max FPS: 36.1

    I have also tried Dirt Rally and Forza Horizon 4, however results there were same for rebar on/off. I have rebooted between each try and have done several same benchmarks to make sure numbers are not fluctuating too much.
     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2021
    Stormyandcold, HD64G and DanielRX like this.

  11. DanielRX

    DanielRX Member Guru

    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    68
    GPU:
    RX Vega56/GTX1070
    ResizeBAR Enabled status on GPU-z with Ryzen5 1600(AE) + RX VEGA56 (adrenalin 21.2.3)
    upload_2021-3-12_21-12-25.png
     
    HD64G and Espionage724 like this.
  12. Truder

    Truder Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    1,576
    Likes Received:
    538
    GPU:
    RX 6700XT Nitro+
    Resizeable BAR showing enabled on my Fury.... Not that it'll be of any use of course, hopefully, next week it'll be enabled for a different GPU altogether....
    GPU-Z_ujx3CKUOa7.png
     
    HD64G, DanielRX and Undying like this.
  13. MerolaC

    MerolaC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,627
    Likes Received:
    480
    GPU:
    MSI 5600XT G. MX
    How the hell a 5600 XT won't have it enabled but a Fury does?

    Damn it, AMD.
     
  14. cap5lock

    cap5lock Member

    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    14
    GPU:
    Red Devil RX480 8GB
    Is resizeable BAR enabled on my RX 480 ?
    cpuz.png windows.png gpuz.png
     
  15. Undying

    Undying Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    16,471
    Likes Received:
    5,414
    GPU:
    Aorus RX580 XTR 8GB
    intel 10/11gen or amd zen2/3 cpus and nvidia rtx3000 or amd rx6000 gpus only. Depending on your board and bios you can enable resize bar even on older hardware but i dont think its any beneficial.
     

  16. HD64G

    HD64G Member

    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    20
    GPU:
    SapphirePulseRX5700
  17. MerolaC

    MerolaC Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    3,627
    Likes Received:
    480
    GPU:
    MSI 5600XT G. MX
    Yes, I know that.
    I am on a ROG Strix B550-F and a 5800X.
    But, what I mean is that, not even have it "Enabled" on GPUZ unlike other people with older cards. Obviously, I have ReBar ON in the BIOS.
     
  18. sidi0us

    sidi0us Member

    Messages:
    48
    Likes Received:
    7
    GPU:
    Intel HD4000
    I'm getting a dxgkrnl.sys BSOD every time I enable Resizeable BAR, x470 Crosshair VII Hero (Wi-Fi), Ryzen 3600, AGESA 1.2.0.0 (4204 bios), 5700 XT Red Devil, Win 10 20H2.867. It happens randomly, even firefox can cause it. :))))
     
    Last edited: Mar 14, 2021
  19. Wault

    Wault Member

    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    10
    GPU:
    Vega64 LC 1722-1125
    I didn't enabled it recently, but when I was doing some tests last time, even with my X570 motherboard and the BIOS with AGESA 1.2.0.0, I had random BSOD as well. :-(

    Thus, I disabled it and will test when I'll flash with AGESA 1.2.0.1 but with a 3800X and a Vega64, I have absolutely no hope it would bring any improvement whatsoever (not that I complain, my Vega64LC's performances don't bother me in 1440p).
     
  20. Astyanax

    Astyanax Ancient Guru

    Messages:
    11,380
    Likes Received:
    4,273
    GPU:
    GTX 1080ti
    People are already analyzing the changes to z390 bios's to see if support for rebar can be ported back to x99 and 79
     

Share This Page